My proposal for Ministries in Jamaica.

• My proposal for Ministries in Jamaica.

For too long we have politicians chopping and changing the shape of the public service both after elections and also with several mid-term reshuffles. Could this be why our Public Service is so bloatea and innefficient?

I think we should have a more permanent setup, with deviation only for extreme demonstrated needs via a painful justification process. This will give some semblance of stability to the Civil Service and enhance performance monitoring, accountability AND independence from excessive political interference.

Here is my proposal: EIGHT Ministries (all Cabinet level, plus the AG) ably supported by Parliamentary secretaries (Do we really need Ministers of State? Are they just inflated positions to reward the political faithful? Do they deflate the importance of Parliamentary Sec'ys)

1) Finance and the Economy (Treasury, etc)
    2) Interior Minister -Labour, Urban Devt, Social Sec, Public Service, Youth, Culture, Sports
    3) Exterior Minister- Foreign Affairs and Trade, International relations,
    4) Industry Minister - Commerce, Tourism, Agriculture, Investment promo, Mining, Environment, Entertainment, Manufacturing
    5) Security Minister - Nat security, Defence, Emergency (disaster) planning and response, Justice
    6) Infrastructure - Water, Works, Housing, Roads, Transport, Land and ENERGY
    7) Health and Education
    8) Office of the PM - Info and Planning
    9) Attorney General (honourary Cabinet Minister)

Of course they can be cut up differently, but this is my stab at it.

All these have meat and will force the Ministers to delegate and concentrate on policy formulation, while staying out of the operational purview of the empowered Civil Service.

Willi get real, notice the long line in four? Six is a joke.

Seven has to be seperated. Try to understand PSM is setting up a transiton but at the same time one cannot throw young lions in these ministries that carries acertain internal politics. They have to learn the ropes. PSM is an experienced and season Jakan politican. It such a pity that she will die with all this knowledge (as UWI views her with scorn).

I really hope Lisa soaks up everything from Nanny P

Switzerland has only 7 cabinet ministers, is far wealthier and far older nearly 800 years of democratic traditions.

I guess dem fool fool.

Dont give me premature praises, tell me why not. Line too long is a joke!

The ministries I structured are just so in order to capture obvious synergies and to reflect commonly acknowledged priorities in Jamaica.

It is instructive to note that PSM cabinet is NOT much different from BG's cabinet (or even earlier ones) and there is no obvious reason to think its any better suited for ultimate success.

I rather see something radically new attempeted and we should pattern ourselves off successful outside enitities. Yuh love talk bout Corp. world, well, see some BENCHMARKING here!

Thanks for responding though...

mi like it

As a third world country I would think our needs are greater for health & education, and I am not opposed for a ministry for both. Don't think Ja's constitution specifies the number of ministries, hence the voluminous number.

All Minister will have the requisite support. Normally Health and Education ARE under the Interior Minister...I already conceded and carved them out!

To have one full Minister for each is too indulgent...

Willi, I'm disappointed. How many years of stability does the Swiss have? They were never involved in any of the wars in Europe. They pretty much had the same economy over many , many years.

It's sad to see you equating the Swiss with Ja.

willi, get real... how could you compare a developed and established country (800 years of democratic traditions, as you mentioned) with jamaica... its like apples to oranges... it appears in your quest to discredit psm cabinet decisions, and to support your disapproving argument, you are drawing fi de kitchen sink... come back to your senses willi...

Compare? Discredit? WTF???

I see if one does not fall in lockstep the knives come out!

I said we should follow valid role models and unno cant give any counterargument so unno attack. Hilarious.

In any case, I gave a general proposal for all GOJs going fwd, not just for today.

I am the one who is disappointed for the closed brain hogwash I see coming back at me. Unno reddy fi dis yet. Steeupps.
                  Last edited by Willi; January 11, 2012, 03:20 PM.

Swiss were in a depression early last century....

I was not equating, I am saying we can learn from people doing better than we are...or yuh disagree bout dat too.

Yuh tun Praetorian guard now? It seems switching off the brain is a prerequisite!

Interesting concept for Jamaica...super ministries all around...suited for an emergency such as is upon us now as coordination & quick responses would be facilitated..IF

...We have VERY strong Ministers & subsidiary managers and massive oversight from an engaged, informed and visionary maximum leader with an excellent support team in the OPM

Do you think that exists within today's PNP?

Cometh the hour...

haffi play with the team you have. Dem can draft in talent as needed, The game needs radical change.

Dem need to step up. Times require it.

Consider the alternative to success.

In any case, I put this out there as one way forward. If not this lot, then whoever follows may be brave and talented enough...

wtf?... no need to get all twisted and out of sorts... willi, how is what i said considered an attack... you are being too defensive...

nothing wrong with foollowing successful models... however, it was you who offered switzerland wih their 800 yrs traditional democracy and tried tweaked, improved and proven systems... isn't that a comparison...

the real question is, does jamaica in its infancy (49+ years) have any such conditions or efficiencies to leapfrog to the swiss model without chaos... i await an answer...

I agree we definitely need new paradigms for this crisis... doing things the same way will guarantee the same results... persistent poverty

Willi normally defensive yes. But I think you need to re-read your post to him. You think cause you put in "it appears" you message not going to be taken as an attack. LOL