IMF officials to arrive January 17 for talks

BTW, this is likely the year that the GOJ will finally have to level with the people and tell dem seh the country bankrupt.

How will the population react?

What is the responsibility of the sitting GOJ to prepare the populace adequately for this for this jolt to the consciousness?

tell dem seh the country bankrupt.

u think most Jamaicans nuh know that???...........u sound like MAUDIB and bruce(CHESS MOVES) and the res(like wignal) who a CUSS seh the Jamaican people the DUNCE(cuz them lose)..........the average jamaican smarter than u think WILLI

Oh, so even when all know and the country so smart (not reflected in the success of the country so far), then why are you advocating to focus on the symbolic?

Yuh fulla platitudes, but you cant deal wwith hard nosed reality. Nuh worry, reality cant be hidden forever. You haffi wake up one day.

then why are you advocating to focus on the symbolic?

I cant see why any normal Jamaican nuh want us to do away with the Queen as head of state

btw...this symbolic thing as u call it......on the TABLE form in the 1960s.............it is not new(as u think)

50 YEARS LATE?

I dont care one way or another bout nuh queen.

I care about improving Jamaica to the level where it needs to be and that is what I want the execs to focus on...capice?

No distractions. No waaan here nutten bout nuh buggery law, nuh constitutional crisis, no scandals, no elections, no excuses...Just wuk as hard as possible to finally more us in di karrek direction as fast as possible.

hypocrite

no scandals

why every time u see THWAITES name u ball out "posty" hahaha

No NEW scandals!!!!! That should have been clear to you.

Yuh cant tell me how fi style up my fellow georgian dem ! LoL

ok spin mastah....... dj WILLI

Anklespec... LoL

This was an increase over
                      the previous year. Table 1, confirms that the outputs from HEART Trust/NTA and other
                      programmes have been steadily increasing but estimates suggest that close to 70.0 per cent or
                      over 700,000 workers are in need of training. Just over 70 per cent of first time job seekers have
                      no vocational, technical or professional qualifications, close to 20 per cent of Jamaican adults are
                      illiterate and another 15.0 per cent possess only basic numeracy skills. Some 142,000 youth are
                      outside of the education system and the labour force, and 5.0 per cent did not go beyond Grade

A summary of the main issues and challenges is listed below.

1. While Jamaica applies international standards and skill competencies in its workforce
                      development and training, the capacity of learners to fully access the learning process is
                      often hampered by the quality of the education system. Additionally, while Jamaica
                      continues to boost workforce skills through vocational training, little consideration is

Fox, Kristin (2003) Mapping Unattached Youth in Jamaica (Draft) IADB

given to the interaction among basic educational attainment, training and lack of labour
                      market policies resulting in ineffectiveness in many of the training programmes offered.
                      2. Only 30 per cent of the labour force is certified (academic and skill training).
                      3. Labour market analyses are not effectively utilized by training and workforce
                      development agencies to direct decision-making in relation to training.
                      4. Insufficient funding exists to adequately upgrade, retool and provide skill training to
                      approximately 70 per cent of the labour force. (1.3m x70% = 910K)
                      (Only 390K trained, and not all of these are employed)
                      5. Government has not established a coherent and comprehensive HRD policy framework
                      consistent with its broader development and investment strategy, resulting in training
                      being insufficient, not being relevant to meet new demands, and in some cases, not able
                      to quickly address the changing needs in the workplace.
                      6. The training system does not sufficiently promote a culture of entrepreneurship. Small
                      enterprises are largely recognized as the main generators of new employment and in
                      2008, 37.3 per cent of the Jamaican Labour Force was self-employed
                      7. The challenge facing Jamaica is to develop the economy through positioning itself in the
                      global market so that it can increase productivity. This should be simultaneous with
                      forging a competitive advantage, producing high value, lower volume, highly
                      differentiated goods and services for niche markets, and developing the skills and
                      competencies of our human resources to ensure that the economy’s need for labour and
                      the labour force’s need for employment are both satisfied.
                      8. A culture of lifelong learning needs to be engendered across the society moving it from
                      the focus on adult or continuing education to a ‘cradle-to-the-grave’ approach.
                      9. The need to place more emphasis on training for job growth, especially in hospitality,
                      construction, information communication and technology.
                      10. Career education and guidance is limited in scope and needs to be integrated in the
                      education and training systems while carefully mapping out new and emerging careers,
                      and providing opportunities for new entrants to the labour market.
                      11. Partnerships with employers and other training providers need to be strengthened.

STATIN Labour Force Survey 2008

Describing education as the "number one priority of the Jamaican state" which makes all other goals possible, the veteran lawyer and Roman Catholic deacon called on ministry staff and stakeholders to work together to "do it right the first time" -- that is to provide quality education at the earliest stage.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1jAGg7ZV8

who in them right mind disagree with that............so u dont think within the next 3 yEars or so ....... we must do away with the QUEEN as head of state

is di Queen fvckup Jamaica ?

really!!! OMG

So now you slide it to 3 years. LoL

When we substantially fix our economic and social problems, come talk to me.

Mi nuh eat herreing, especially RED herring.