UK parliamentarian: The Queen understands

Oh really?

The fact that we can at any time shows we are (somewhat) independent.

The fact that we ah dig deeper debt hole fi tek care of the non-urgent means we are LESS independent. Bruk pockets are NEVER independent.

No wonder yuh easy fi fool up. Steeeeuuups.

If we want to help the poor man then we should try to get Uncle Sam to give us the same status as Puerto Rico. Half of population of Jamaica would move to the US mainland as soon as they can afford the airfare and 3/4 of our polictians would be not run for re-election.

LOL

Guyana became a Republic in 1970, Trinidad and Tobago in 1976. Why we waited this long I don't know but essentially the main reason for becoming a Republic is in some way symbolic, i.e. severing the final attachment to England as head of state.

At this point I don't know that it should be something we need to get hot and bothered about seeing that we have waited this long. And one area where we really need to demonstrate our independence is with respect to the final court of appeal... and even those republican Caribbean states still use the Privy Council (open to correction ).

We really should be striving to fully empower the CCJ to really sever the ties. Being a Republic and still going to England for final arbitration is somewhat ironic.

It will happen sooner or later as Willi said...maybe PSM sees this as part of her legacy...God knows both parties need any feather to put in their hat.

A much more lasting and meaningful legacy is to turn around the society, spiritually, economically, attitudinally, etc...

Much harder yes, but oh sooo much more satisfying, lasting and appreciated.