• UK parliamentarian: The Queen understands

Monique Grange, Gleaner Writer

UK Parliamentarian Diane Abbott has agreed with Prime Minister Portia Simpson-
    Miller that it is time, for the country to fully claim its independence, by relinquishing ties with the British Monarchy.

Abbott said moving away from the Queen as Head of Stat, will find favour with the younger generation, who will see Jamaica as a modern democracy.

The UK parliamentarian said the Queen and other Britons understand Jamaica’s need to seek its own local head of state.

Abbott said it would be an important step forward for Jamaica to become fully independent of Britain.

Abbott is the first black woman to be elected as an MP in the UK.

radio@gleanerjm.com

Jamaica is already fully independent of Britain.

The issue is detachment from Eliz 2, still queen of Jamaica! This nuh have nutten fi do with Britons! Dem cut wi long time. Ever try buy a visa and see that you haffi tek out morgridge fi afford one. LoL

What Abbott is giving is her opinion, which cant be more valid than that of Jamaicans in Jamaica.

BTW, serious question...how much it aggo cost and can that money be used for higher priorities? Just asking.

What it seems to me is that it cant happen before August as it seems more complicated than people think. Can we spare management attention for that when wuk is burning in the field?

its not a matter of cost only.............symbolic

this should be high on the priority list.......even you fellow laborite them know that

Me nuh kip fellows. LoL

So if it cost $500B is still a priority to you?? I see.

Symbolism can eat, eddicate people, create job and heal di sick, mek people safer. More three card tricks.

I see yuh...gwaan duh yuh ting.

u claim u love Jamaica.....then a support some "remnants" from SLAVERY days........u for real

U NUH LIKE JAMAICA

No, askordin to yuh mi nuh like Jamaica. ROTFLMAO

Young bud, yuh just come pon di scene. You new to the Rock, Tek time.

Yuh seem fi love yuh party more dan the country. Dem fool yuh when dem skool yuh.

this is not a matter of party....it is to cut ties with the QUEEN etc................WHERE u see party in what mi seh?

it is you who a defend PARTY willi.......look in the mirror

Which party mi a defend? Yuh nuh seh di two ah dem want rush into republicanism???

Whey yuh logic deh?

I simply ask you the cost and suggest more urgent oriorities.

You answer with 3 card platitudes that caan carry guh shop! LoL

becuz the pnp seh them want cut ties with the QUEEN, n u a seh...................."oh ...how much it cost etc..."

Like u nuh see the meaning behind the whole thing

Yeah.. $$$$$$$$$$$

so u a one a them who think jamaica shouldn't get independents..............nuh wonder u support the planter class party aka JLP

BTW, serious question...how much it aggo cost and can that money be used for higher priorities? Just asking.

What it seems to me is that it cant happen before August as it seems more complicated than people think. Can we spare management attention for that when wuk is burning in the field?
                          Why is it you do not believe we have enough competent persons to have expert attention given to umpteen different areas?

...yuh a jine Sickko in gving our people a bly?

--- Memba when Herb Mc said the same thing to me in the early '60s on one of the 'sports radio talk shows/programs'. Mi innah mi 'An-noo-va' bush a seh tuh im dat talent abounds and all we needed were good coaches spread throughout all the schools (neva tink bout wi institution of higher learning den) ... an im shat mi a bax seh dat coulden appen az wi haul woudda need fo guh ha-broad an im implied fi get fi im type hex-peri-hence!

Look pan wi high school dem...(an primary an prep an colleges...and MVP and Races...an????)...now?

Cho Willi man?! ...hit jus lef fi wi fi wuk tigedda pan heach a problem dem dat face wi - Division of Labour and TEAMwuk mi seh!!!! - No place for egomanics!!!!

Wrong again. IndependenCE is something almost every Jamaican agrees with. It happened before I was born, so I dont even have a comparator. However, it was clearly a natural occurence.

Also, republicanism is inevitable, however its best done from a position of strength. The fact that we have not done it yet shows how we messed up our opportunity. We still juvenile...but I am hoping this is a grow up year.

I dont really SUPPORT any side with great conviction. I dont believe, i go where the evidence takes me and the situation can be fluid. I dont care HOW we get there, as long as we arrive. Ya dig?

Running to do it and ignoring pressing issues is most unwise

but removing the QUEEN as head of state is a PRESSING issue.....as long as she is head WE ARE NOT really independent.........