Babylon Release De Chains, But ...

Didnt say that ,he pointed out the hypocrysy in our governance ,where certain benefits for the rich are deemed elitist and some for the poor as bollo work.

He made a damm good point to contrast it.I agree with it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

LoL

Obama nuh big time legal Scholar from America's top law school? Him talk better than the detractors...where exactly is the paralell. Now if it was Herman Caine or Steele....ROTFLMAO.
      The parallel is that credentials or not, Obama is a Black man ...a state of existence not favoured by core Tea Party types. That view is as American as apple pie with many in that country

Portia is a woman from humble origins which is reflected in her speech and mannerisms... that orientation is despised by many middle and upper caste Jamaicans who believe people like that have a certain "place"... and it's NOT at the dinner table nor in a leadership role... I'm certain you know this Willi.

The parallels between the reactions to Obama and PSM reflect also the differences between the USA and Jamaica... The US is traumatized by RACE....and Jamaica is warped by CLASS

I've posted consistently about this class issue...which along with tribalism is mostly responsible for Jamaica's woes. It's the 800 lb gorilla in the room that Jamaicans are very uncomfortable discussing...which is precisely why I bring it front and center with my Brown Man Time polemics

Thwaites is on point with his commentary...his PNP leaning does not prevent speaking truths... the JLP as I always say, glosses over the impact of their Brown Man Time class based politics to their and the country's detriment..

Memba mi tole unnu

Den yuh must specify. In the end he IS advoocating Bullo wuk.

No need to spy on someone who comes into your office and starts blabbing...or was it a cocktail party?

So it is NOT a parallel at all.

You drawing a simile and its a stretch.

Portia cross is not the same as Obama's, if so PJ would get the same treatment from his own party. He did not, why? Just as humble beginnings as Portia.

Why would you say that ,when he ends with an open question ?

Why not adjust the economic system to reflect the political desires of the majority of Jamaicans? To my mind, that is the question and challenge of post-Jubilee Jamaica, but it will be difficult. Because Babylon release de chains, but dem a use dem brains!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tek it easy pon Don2...he is emboldened but figget he is still a mental midget...

No man, Don1 is a thinker.

We dont have to agree on everything but he is far more objective than most.

I dont see him doing cartwheels for either party, as its clear that alone, neither will cross it and even together, without civil society, we still doomed to mediocrity at best.

Rhetorical question. See the 2 sentences that follow.

He is advocating Bullo wuk as an economic system!

If you know what I know, yuh wouldn't mek dem pied peper deh lead you ova nuh cliff. Dem real clever with it, Road Schollah and all.

So it is NOT a parallel at all.

You drawing a simile and its a stretch.

Portia cross is not the same as Obama's, if so PJ would get the same treatment from his own party. He did not, why? Just as humble beginnings as Portia.
                      It is ABSOLUTELY a parallel...just based on a different criteria... Class vs Race

Mystery to me why you can't see the obvious given your "helper" story

Comparing PJ and Portia is really ludicrous...it's NOT about beginnings it's what one presents NOW...yuh nuh know dat?

While they MAY have similar backgrounds (I don't know PJ's but I doubt it's that similar since he went to C-Bar then Law Skool) PJ CANNOT from a class perspective be compared with PSM..... nat even close,,,Is whey yuh ah drink ova deh...it sound like yuh ah ovadose pon Absinthe

Memba mi tole unnu seh Classism which unnu love fi ovalook is one blood sucking Vampiya ova Jamaica...strait

You see what you want to see,I could cut statements from his article and present it anyway,I would rather look at it holistically,we need to find a system that work for the majority of Jamaicans.

No one leads X!
                        Last edited by Sir X; January 10, 2012, 11:00 AM.

Ohh...Portia is a Bhuttu now and PJ isn't...okay...

Yow..Dippy...did you attend school after whatever facsimile of a secondary education you received?

Perhaps a school to prepare you for your cruise ship career and whateva Showa activities you performed on behalf of that Association of Loose People on and off ship?

Showa University?? LOL

Easy Fudgie...yuh shouldn't call your party leader a bhuttu...it's not becoming of you

PJ come from a single motherhold with no paternal acknowlegement till he made it.

What presents now is that Portia have degree too! It si about background why Portia have different cross to bear. She grew up in politics even more so than PJ and qualified herself after she was known. PJ at 23 already graduate when NW Manley gave him command over electioneering.

PJ is more a parallel to Obama!

Portia is more a parallel to LULA.

No comparison per se is ludicrous, just more relevant or less so depending on perspective.