BTW who were those posters
Originally posted by Jawge View Postthat said the PNP would never win another election under PSM's leadership?
They said PNP will wander in the wilderness for the next ten years.
Where are they now? Possibly hanging with Wignall
Bwoy yuh a rub hit eenh..."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Bad one Yuh is fambily, one of Joshua's children. Yuh notice mi neva ah too fight wid yuh back then? Everyting criss boss. Wi sort out wi tings internally. Mi glad say is Mobay mek yuh come back pon track. What a nice place fi tourist eeeh (wi can talk more on that lata)
Another wayward sheep of the flock is Scaly; whey him deh these days.Prodigal Scaly, come home. " but one was lost, in the hills away...."
I personally heard him get booed loudly as Norman Manley Games in '80 as soon as his name was announced. The more famous incident was in I think '79 at a tennis tournament in Montego Bay where he was really shaken as it was the first time it had happened to him as PM. I am surprised that as a Joushua disciple you would not have been aware of that.
Who predicted that Portia would be the "death knell of the PNP"? I cannot remember ANYBODY on this forum saying anything of the sort. I remember saying something along the lines that the PNP would have to keep her as leader for one more election and then she would have to give it up. Well it turns out Drivah/JLP made it easy for the PNP to win back power without any kind of reform after thier mostly unsuccessful 18 year stint. So be it.
My opinion of Portia has not changed much in the last 5 years. She is a strong and likeable woman with a populist message that appeals to the masses...nothing wrong with that. However she is not the kind of leader that I expect to come up with new and innovative policy ideas and solutions to our problems.
IF the PNP is united for the long term maybe she can get that kind of input from her team and she can be the glue that keeps it all together...Reagan was that kind of leader. She has her chance for a full term let us see what she does with it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Well, it looks like we have a forumite who was a witness to that sad occasion in Jamaicas history...maybe he can recall those fading memories and tell us what it was like to be in the crowd.
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=33294
Jawge you really need fe brush up pon you Jamaican history. It was in MONTEGO BAY! If you don't know about this then there is probably much more about Joshua that you don't know as well."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
As I said I do not know of Joshua being booed in Mobay (especially 79).
It's not a leader's job to come up with new and innovative ideas. That is delegated to members of the team in varied field of expertise. Do you think it's Bill Gates that came up with all the ideas for Microsoft? Same for Jobs at Apple? No the ideas were presented and the leader makes a call.
BTW do you think Nanny P's policy on gays was new and innovative for Ja?
Let me keep it real here: which class of people would attend a tennis tournament in 7os in Ja.
Now if you told me this was done at a football match in Jarrett Park, you would have my attention. Those people knew why they booed him (because Joshua wanted something for the masses and they hated that fact).
New and innovative to have a position on the legality of homosexuality that is shared by every other democratic country in the Western Hemisphere?
Sigh.
What she did was display strong and decisive leadership which is commendable, but just because Bruce had a primitive position does not make her opposing position new and innovative."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
LOL. Ok boss I see you clutching at straws so mek we leave it alone. Pure uptowners were at Norman Manley games too, don't? Do you have any idea what the Norman Manley games were by the way? I have to stop assuming these things.
Oh case you did not know , Manley lost the 1980 election 51-9 and he was in danger of losing his own "safe PNP" seat to Peralto. There must have been a lot of uptowners voting that day. LOL!
Your knowledge of Jamaicas political history is sorely lacking."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
i have never heard of michael manley being booed any place in jamaica or the world for that matter... not saying you didn't hear that first hand... just saying that i have never heard any similar account from anyone...
there is some truth to the idea that drivah/jlp with their arrogance and poor governance made it easier for portia and the pnp to win...
However she is not the kind of leader that I expect to come up with new and innovative policy ideas and solutions to our problems.
the manley booing took me over the boundary... just had to respond... i would like to know more about the manley booing...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'