Andrew's Fairy Tale, Portia's Realities

Nice words.. but a tad too indulgent regarding PSM.

Sounds like he's angling for a place at the trough... but maybe that's an uncharitable thought

Presence at Western Union is what qualifes you as "real" diaspora?

So if you would rather not spend $12 to send $25 you are what, fake diaspora?

Personally, it pains me to pay $10 to send $50.00, so I don't too care for the Western Union etc. route.

If you send next day it's much cheaper....don't have to get it it same day...

Indeed Don1. I will don't think he's one of those airy-fairy characters who NEED to eat a food. I think the trough should be angling for a placement of this man. He has already served his country, paid his dues, left, did extremely well and came back home as a 'Diasporan' to serve. In addition, he was a RBSC member back in the day (circa '97) before the forum became over ran by people who are just parochializing the issues. He has been there done that...BOJ...IMF...Wall Street...but has not lost his roots or common touch... I can can say this because I know him...well.

Somehow I thought you did...wanted to draw you out

Lol. You succeeded. As a "Diasporan' yourself, you should take heed to the call...yu dun see even on de forum man will diss yu just because you don't have a KIN 10 address...it is indeed a serious problem...but we all have a part to play...whether they like it or not....and yes, I do have a Western Union card, although not not my preferred method of money transfer...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Lol. You succeeded. As a "Diasporan' yourself, you should take heed to the call...yu dun see even on de forum man will diss yu just because you don't have a KIN 10 address...it is indeed a serious problem...but we all have a part to play...whether they like it or not....and yes, I do have a Western Union card, although not not my preferred method of money transfer...
                Fi reel...but is ah good ting mi nuh deh yah fi look fren an kompany eeeh

But I do have a Kgn 8 address all di same

Life in Jamaica is 'dog eat dog'. Truss me. Even what should be considered a 'professional' atmosphere, you'd be surprised at the things said about 'dem no live ya' people. We have seen it here...even when they have exhausted ALL of their possibilities....whoeee....is a good ting there are some INTERNATIONAL organisations....

yes...but mi nuh pay ignorance nuh mind..mi Granny did seh mi fi ignore dat

Das why mi like duh mi owna likkle ting oneaway

Jawge don't even know the price a gas in Jamaica...him tink a litre and a gallon is the same thing...him seh gas in Jamaica cheap...are we to take you in the diaspora for real wit idiot talk like dat?

LOL. You nuh hear say the man go Western Union pon the regular and send unoo money? Unoo ungrateful wretch unoo, plus unoo tief too!

Lol...mi sure him no tink a litre and a gallon a de same ting..ok Brickie...so is one man the flag bearer? Fi real..there are sm UNREALISTIC folks out there who have nutten good to say about Ja...but I don't think they are in the majority...most people well informed...these days..

Yuh av time a listen to Baby Bricky. At least me deh a yard a pretend seh me an di peeple in a di same struggle den di least little ting tell dem seh dem caan tek the blue offa me American passport.

Now that I read most of it, I fiond it ridiculous that a grown man still believe in fairies and Santa Claus (talking about the first half). LoL

Ah harsh reality wi fi a deal with.

Is stickly performance man and man fi deal with.

The 2nd half was better. As Don1 said many times though...the pipe dreams wont happen without general buy in from all segmants of the Jakan faumbilly!

Weddah yuh think green or orange can do it best, yuh caan get sentimental about it. Look pon di cold objective reality and judge accordingly. For instance, he calls Jeep short term, whereas the PNP document it self says short and medium term. So his premise is flawed. He also comes across as a Party man in his article trying to get everyone to forget party. That naah cut it for me. He should have been more objective about the past and then called on people to get together for a fresh start, rather than acting like PNP was blameless and not reposnible for much if not most of the economic mess we are in. We haffi start with truth if we want reconciliation.

Wi ah 50 now, past time to grow up.

One cold reality is that Portia gathered 28% of the eligible votes out there and 53% of the votes cast. This by no dispassionate mathematical analysis can be called an overwhelming mandate. Thusly, it means that she has here work cut out for here to MOTIVATE the majority of Jamaicans to buy into and work assiduously with her programme. She has to use all the charm and emotional intelligence at her disposal to corral the collective consciousness of the Jakan people and have us all march to a common beat, one that we can all find acceptable and indeed admirable.

Given that we are a fractuous people, this is no mean undertaking and we cant take success as a given. She needs lots of help and I hope she reaches out for it. The tone set so far is commendable and is a step in the right direction...lets see if she builds on that, while the supporters and neutrals at least, wish her the best.
                              Last edited by Willi; January 10, 2012, 05:17 AM.