• $1.27 billion bailout agreement with the IMF

Bad economy puts Jamaica opposition back in power

Jamaica opposition storms to victory

Fri, Dec 30 2011

By Horace Helps
    KINGSTON | Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:06am EST

(Reuters) - Jamaica's main opposition party rode a wave of discontent with a bad economy to a big win at the polls on Thursday, in general elections that swept former Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller back into office.
    Despite pre-election surveys predicting a close and hard-fought race, preliminary official results showed Simpson Miller's People's National Party, or PNP, winning roughly two-thirds of the parliamentary seats at stake.
    "We have plenty of work ahead of us," Simpson Miller told supporters in a nationally televised address at a raucous late night victory rally outside her party's Kingston headquarters.
    She pledged "growth and development with job creation" but also alluded to the Caribbean nation's huge debt burden and possible new austerity measures, as part of a $1.27 billion bailout agreement with the International Monetary Fund.
    "We will hide nothing from you. When it is tough and rough we'll let you know," Simpson Miller said. "But I can also ensure you, as we move to balance the books, we will be moving to balance people's lives as well."
    The election delivered what outgoing Prime Minister Andrew Holness described as a "humbling" defeat for the governing Jamaica Labour Party, or JLP. The 39-year-old former education minister had hoped to keep the JLP in power for a second consecutive term.
    The country's youngest-ever prime minister, Holness took office in October after the party suffered a blow when his predecessor surprisingly resigned amid weak public backing.
    Holness' predecessor, Bruce Golding, had been dogged by a long-brewing scandal over his handling of a U.S. request for the extradition of a notorious Jamaican gang leader who was associated with the JLP.
    The scandal ended with the extradition to New York of long-time fugitive Christopher "Dudus" Coke, but only after a brutal police and military raid on a Kingston slum that left 76 people dead.
    "The people of Jamaica have spoken," Holness said late on Thursday, after his party conceded defeat.
    CHALLENGES AHEAD
    "I wish the new government well," he said. "There are challenges that they will face, challenges that we are quite well aware of. And we hope for the benefit of the country and for the interest of the people of Jamaica that they will do a good job."
    The center-right JLP is considered slightly more conservative than Simpson Miller's PNP, which narrowly lost a general election in 2007 after she briefly served as Jamaica's first female prime minister.
    But there are no major ideological differences between the parties, and neither Simpson Miller nor Holness are considered charismatic or especially strong public speakers.
    Simpson Miller had the PNP's well-oiled political machine behind her, however, and it appeared to work well in many of the island's low and middle-income communities.
    "This is a great moment for me," said Desmond Barnes, a 29-year-old computer analyst in the capital Kingston.
    "I voted for the PNP because our economy is in shambles and this is the only party that I believe can rebuild it," he said.
    Despite the reggae-crazed island nation's past reputation for political bloodletting and vote tampering, there were no reports of any serious irregularities or violence on election day.
    Voting proceeded at a glacial pace in some areas, however, and there were complaints about slow-working electronic voter identity machines at some polling places.
    Analysts have said neither party would have much room to maneuver as it dealt with a public debt load totaling more than 120 percent of gross domestic product and unemployment that has risen to about 13 percent from just under 10 in 2007.
    Simpson Miller did not spell out any belt-tightening or other economic measures in her long and sometimes rambling victory speech.
    But she has vowed to appeal to the IMF to extend the period Jamaica has to repay any loans to give the Caribbean island more leeway to jump-start the economy.
    Calling for "concertation" and "dialogue," the matronly prime minister-elect said she would work to "unearth the greatness that lives in every single Jamaican," from sun-drenched beach resorts to mountain villages and urban slums.
    "To all business persons, from large investors to medium and small enterprises, to youth, to mother, to father and children, know you have a government now that you can trust," she said.
    (Writing by Tom Brown; Editing by Paul Simao)

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica needs to stay away from the IMF!

We can deal with our economic issues by generating revenue through innovation e.g ticketing quality of life issues.

DMV collects over 600.million us a year from a population of 12 million in NYC ,jamaica with a population a 1/3 of that could collect lets say at least 50 miilion dollars us a year .Guillani was a genius at this.

1) Tickect those who park on thier side walk or any , Jamaicans are known for this .

2)Ticket those who have damaged sidewalks ,or fences...generates money in two ways the government and construction industry.There is a law in NY city ,if your yard has wild trees or grass growing above a certain hazardous height you can be fined,also for damaged sidewalks.

3)Ticket those with graffiti on the walls ,cc above

4)Designate it to be an island wide crusade and not just the majour cities.

4)Designate smoke free areas ,noise free areas ticket those who violate them.

We need a quality of life police ,to come up with ways to generate revenue as you can see these fines lead to other industries , e.g construction.

Borrow or consulting from the IMF has brought us nothing but pain.The only program they have is slash civil servant job thus tearing our social service apart ,sellf off our resources and taxes !

We need new and dynamic ideas.Going to the IMF means we are beggars who havent a clue and willing to mortgagae our future for nothing.

Leggo di IMF(international hitman)

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I don't think fines are an adequate substitute for the IMF

At the current time there is no substitute for the IMF as there is no third force able to provide the funds the IMF & Company can

It's time for a Social Contract... that's the best solution even with the coming new IMF agreement

I'm waiting for people to catch up to the stark reality... mi dun si dis dilemma years ago... the JLPNP and Jamaica haven't got a chance absent an agreed, workable, public Roadmap to Progress

Memba mi tole yuh

Jamaica needs to stay away from the IMF!

We can deal with our economic issues by generating revenue through innovation e.g ticketing quality of life issues.

DMV collects over 600.million us a year from a population of 12 million in NYC ,jamaica with a population a 1/3 of that could collect lets say at least 50 miilion dollars us a year .Guillani was a genius at this.

1) Tickect those who park on thier side walk or any , Jamaicans are known for this .

2)Ticket those who have damaged sidewalks ,or fences...generates money in two ways the government and construction industry.There is a law in NY city ,if your yard has wild trees or grass growing above a certain hazardous height you can be fined.

3)Ticket those with graffiti on the walls ,cc above

4)Designate it to be an island wide crusade and not just the majour cities.

4)Designate smoke free areas ,noise free areas ticket those who violate them.

We need a quality of life police ,to come up with ways to generate revenue as you can see these fines lead to other industries , e.g construction.

Borrow or consulting from the IMF has brought us nothing but pain.The only program they have is slash civil servant job thus tearing our social service apart ,sellf off our resources and taxes !

We need new and dynamic ideas.Going to the IMF means we are beggars who havent a clue and willing to mortgagae our future for nothing.

Leggo di IMF(international hitman)

after the recession hit ... what was the alternative to the IMF? When the G20 met in London in 2008, they decided to pump more money into the IMF to help countries like Jamaica. Numerous analysts were knocking the gov't for not being at the front of the line for IMF assistance ... then when it was realized that the IMF was being engaged, all kinds of duppy stories start coming out.

The IMF has forced us to seriously consider your fiscal situation. For years people been talking about tax reform .... for the first time it was being addressed. They've got as far as looking at pension reform.

You saying ticket this and ticket that .... are you aware how many ticket fines are outstanding todate?

Ticket those people who receive building materials(Stone, Sand..) and leave it on public thoroughfares.

Constructing buildings without erecting sidewalks.

Those who are burning garbage, clearing land with fire..

Public Inspectors to inspect yards, and business places sanitary conditions..

Its the start we have yet to make in 50 years.No doubt it will lead to other innovative measures , and thats our problem ,we keep waiting on oil, we need sound management.

aaah bwoy...wi miss wi big chance wid Layba eeh...mebbe nex time

wat a pity

I tell you Gulianai brought in millions with that simple idea.,42nd street i.e New York was changed.

aaah bwoy...wi miss wi big chance wid Layba eeh...mebbe nex time

wat a pity

Pity? Based on the celebration I see here and elsewhere, their performance isn't the standard desired by PPL Power.

Its the start we have yet to make in 50 years.No doubt it will lead to other innovative measures , and thats our problem ,we keep waiting on oil, we need sound management.
                    ok..fine

But fines are not a big element of national FineAnts

more pity eeeh

Do you realise the money it will generate with an innovative process to collect them ,go digital with pictures like NY ,get a database , a small claims court for paying fines etc , decrease stolen vehicle and crimes in general by tracking vehicles.etc

Innovation means revenue.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                          Ticket those people who receive building materials(Stone, Sand..) and leave it on public thoroughfares.

Constructing buildings without erecting sidewalks.

Those who are burning garbage, clearing land with fire..

Public Inspectors to inspect yards, and business places sanitary conditions..
                          So tickets are the ticket to progress ? LOL

Dat sound like Silicon Valley economics

Dont get you ? 600milion for 12 million residents , is equal to 3million recieving what ?

Right now we are being underserved and over taxed,the run off,spin off is immense.

Do you realise the money it will generate with an innovative process to collect them ,go digital with pictures like NY ,get a database , a small claims court for paying fines etc , decrease stolen vehicle and crimes in general by tracking vehicles.etc

Innovation means revenue.
                              ... last month there was some amnesty for traffic ticket holders yet to pay their fines and there was some serious money outstanding. I agree it can generate some revenues, but not to the level where the IMF was assisting us.