• HL

My point simply was that it is unlikely that any member of the opposition will be considered for the cabinet no matter how well they might have done or what their PR people told us they did.

Not sure our politics have reached that level yet and then again would a PNP PM be so bold as to include a JLP MP in their cabinet, even if the Constitution allows it.

Would either side trust the other side to have them in the inner sanctum and give them fodder for them to take and possible use against them?

Sickko...understand it is hogwash. They all know how it is. You saw anyone advocating the same in 2007?

Kiss teeth- but some people have to stoop low to try and look smart and score petty points... me nuh have no time for them, I am sipping some strong concoction that my mother is trying to tell me is Sorrell

All of a sudden, some man a get real aggressive (not HL)...the Shape Shifters...they blend in the background until they see prey...the election results seemed to have affected people in some really deep ways. Tek man fi idiat!

The success of any country (or business)--is to have the best personnel in leadership.

The bits and pieces i have read (and seen ) of Bartlett's performance, shows he was doing an outstanding job.

Jamaica is a country of massive egos. ................

Jamaica is more important than the individual.

That may be true but we also have to be practical.

I cannot think of many countries that would allow a senior member of the opposition party to be in thier cabinet or the equivalent of it. We dealing with confidential information and decisions at that level, who would be comfortable with a senior opposition member being privy to all of that?

Independent Senators make sense even if thier politics leans towards the other side, and certainly an opposition party member if so inclined could be used in some capacity, like on the board of a govt entity.

But senior cabinet position? Not practical.

The US with its system of selecting a nominee/leader each election cycle is more suited for that, but even that is breaking down these days. John Huntsman is clearly one of the more accomplished Repubican contenders, but he took a job as ambassador from the Obama administration. That is blasphemy in US politics today.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
              Sickko...understand it is hogwash. They all know how it is. You saw anyone advocating the same in 2007?
              You people seem to have convenient amnesia ... based on how close things were, there were speculation that Bruce could make a member of the opp a cabinet minister .... there was even a suggestion that Portia be considered for Speaker of the House.

Very good points Islandman.

I guess my thoughts are in terms of US politics.....(and business).

Obama also have the CEO of GM (a republican) helping to leading economic reform of sorts...

Keep forgettin' it's called politics : the art or science concerned with winning and holding control over a government.
                Last edited by HL; January 4, 2012, 03:24 PM.

You people seem to have convenient amnesia ... based on how close things were, there were speculation that Bruce could make a member of the opp a cabinet minister .... there was even a suggestion that Portia be considered for Speaker of the House.
                  Is that speculation on a Letterhead somewhere?

You people? Yu start wrang.

LOL.

They could include non-partisan people like Wehby...