• Silly G2K Published: Tuesday | January 3, 20121 Comment We e

Silly G2K
    Published: Tuesday | January 3, 20121 Comment
    We erred yesterday in not explicitly telling Andrew Holness that G2K, his party's youth wing, is badly in need of fixing if the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) is to rebuild its credibility.

Much has already been said about G2K's arrogance, overreach, and descent from an organisation of thought and ideas into old-style, tribal partisanship under Delano Seiveright.

But the extent of G2K's puerile silliness is cruelly exposed in correspondence it has circulated to the media, supposedly from an anonymous member, on the cause of the JLP's election loss. That the leadership chose to share this document suggests that they give it weight.

Forget the state of the economy or the loss of public trust that attended the JLP during its stint in office. Concluded the document: "[The defeat] has nothing to do with Manatt or Dudus. It has nothing to do with Andrew Holness losing its shine. It is because the JLP was outenumerated by the PNP in certain seats that were seen as marginal/crucial."

If he follows G2K, Mr Holness will have learnt nothing.

The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.

EDITORIAL

G2K's Portia attack backfired
    Tuesday, January 03, 2012

Dear Editor,
    It must have come as a surprise to diehard supporters of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) that they have lost the election, and worse, by such a wide margin. It should be hard to fathom after spending hundreds of millions of dollars on the election campaign.
    Delano Seiveright
    1/1
    Transporting supporters in massive numbers all over the island must have cost a lot of money, as it is said they were paid and fed. The advertising blitz was massive. The JLP dominated the airwaves and the television screens. But with all these massive crowds and the hundreds of millions spent, the JLP lost the election and the highly touted post-Independence leader 'Prince Andrew' became the second shortest serving prime minister after Sir Donald Sangster.
    The JLP, I imagine, will begin immediately to analyse all the finer details and try to figure out how it lost this election, when earlier, people like G2K president Delano Seiveright and some others in the hierarchy predicted a landslide victory. Others were sober enough to suggest that the party would secure a comfortable victory.
    In its review the JLP needs to consider why Andrew Holness was projected like a new 'Messiah'. And to make matters worse, he seemed to believe the propaganda himself, and proceeded to give the impression to the Jamaican people that he was specially sent at this time to deliver Jamaica, as it were, from the hands of the 'Philistines'.
    I am still surprised that as a senior minister in the Bruce Golding Cabinet he was just on the periphery when some important decisions were taken, yet he projected himself in the campaign as this strong and decisive leader who is not afraid to take tough decisions.
    Andrew Holness was the JLP, and the JLP was Andrew Holness. He seemed to have gone overboard with the me, myself and I syndrome. The JLP erred big time.
    In spite of this great error, the JLP allowed itself to be hijacked by its young professional arm, G2K. How in heavens name could the parent body allow this group to act as immature juveniles in consistently attacking the leader of the PNP, Mrs Portia Simpson Miller?
    In a country where it is not uncommon for women to be abused, G2K went out of its way in attacking Mrs Simpson Miller. The group tried its best to demean her. Its campaign was not so much to attack the PNP but to bring Mrs Simpson Miller to the lowest denominator.
    It also appeared as if some young people were coached to phone the call-in programmes to help in the attack. It was pathetic to listen to them. Was the JLP bereft of ideas to attack the People's National Party? By its action G2K gives the impression that it is dominated by a group of male chauvinists.
    It does not matter how one might feel about her, but Mrs Simpson Miller is a living example to the average Jamaican. A lady coming from the 'bowels of the poor', as she puts it, eventually rose to occupy the high office of prime minister. In any other country, a similar story of a poor woman from a remote district of Wood Hall who, through dint of hard work and determination, rose to become the first woman prime minister should be able to make the best sellers list.
    Yet, so much disrespect has been shown to her by her opponents. Quite unnecessary indeed. There were so many other things in her party for the JLP to build its campaign around. The Jamaican people let the JLP pay dearly for its folly.
    G2K was Portia's best asset in the election campaign. If the group's ears were close to the ground it would have realised the resentment of the ordinary people to its tactics of concentrating its attack on her.
    G2K seemed to have forgotten that she continues to enjoy enormous support throughout the country and is one of the most popular politicians around today. How then did G2K not take that into consideration? The constant attacks on her might have resonated well with the middle class, but she certainly had the last laugh with the working class. The JLP will now remember how not to run an election campaign.
    Hubert McIntyre
    Torada Heights
    Montego Bay
    hihubert@yahoo.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1iOsBD1PJ

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

And if the JLP had won the articles in the paper would be hailing G2K's brilliant strategy...

If by rudyard kipling

If you can keep your head when all about you
      Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
      If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
      But make allowance for their doubting too;
      If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
      Or, being lied about, don't deal in lies,
      Or, being hated, don't give way to hating,
      And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise;

If you can dream - and not make dreams your master;
      If you can think - and not make thoughts your aim;
      If you can meet with triumph and disaster
      And treat those two imposters just the same;
      If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken
      Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
      Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,
      And stoop and build 'em up with wornout tools;

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
      And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
      And lose, and start again at your beginnings
      And never breath a word about your loss;
      If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
      To serve your turn long after they are gone,
      And so hold on when there is nothing in you
      Except the Will which says to them: "Hold on";

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
      Or walk with kings - nor lose the common touch;
      If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
      If all men count with you, but none too much;
      If you can fill the unforgiving minute
      With sixty seconds' worth of distance run -
      Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
      And - which is more - you'll be a Man my son!

I believe they have proven they are not men but sons ,running the JLP

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

ah di same people di run di last campaign ?

And they won based on Bruce message of transparency,change , accountability and of course voter apathy with the PNP.

Yuh think yuh can fool John public again after unnuh sheg it Royally ?You gave the PNP governance based on that same apathy, not that they were any better than you or worse at transparency,change , accountability (anti corruption) but they shared the corrupted spoils.

oh suh ah nuh G2K fault den ?

You tell me ,what was G2K message this time around?

I think John public & the G2k got it loud and clear...lol

yuh nuh hear wheh G2K seh ?

Let me warn you , i have heard that idiot speak, read his articles D. Sevieright or seview whatever his name is and if he is the future of your party , you are in trouble.

He is Bruce Golding on steriods , a true educated fool.If you take anything that arm of the JLP says as truth....dawg nyam yuh suppa fi 18 years...lol.

suh wheh mi muss find di truth ?

Think about it , he could be your JLP mole ? which idiot was BBMing the JLP to put an X beside di ead ?

I would not be surprised if he dressed up in an orange skirt, man caan suh fool!

Good one..I use to know it...