PNP landslide--not good:

• PNP landslide--not good:

Not good when you look at it in terms of 'checks and balances'.

Knowing how things run in Jamaica--look for corruption to sky-rocket during the PNP admin.

I think it was ReggaePhD who posted:

1) The strengthening of the office of the contractor general, giving it not only investigative power and prosecutorial power.

2) Renewing the contract of the current Contractor General(if they don't, he will be grabbed by many countries around the world who are serious about stamping out corruption)

3) Keeping the same Police Commissioner(Please don't tell me he is a labourite so he shouls be changed).

If the above are not in place, future levels of corruption and violence will make the current level look like childs play.

Chussss mi.

Greg Christie did say he wasn't interested in renewing his contract. Whats this fuss about giving the OCG prosecutorial powers? He conducts his investigation and if anything should go to the police and the DPP, hand it over.

Since I am on an unusual political kick.

Will Ed Bartlett remain minister of Tourism? bartlett have done a fine job in Tourism.

Does this mean he will be replaced?

Will leaders who were doing a good job be replaced for leadership unknown?

Cluesless arent you Lazie,how many has he handed over and what came out of it ......hint ......

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There was a 6% point difference, so there is enuff checks an balance. 21 lower house seats and 13 Senate seats is more than enuff.

Who watches the Watcher? The OCG office should also have a term limit...say 5 years and then ineligible for the next 5. We dont want to create our own J. Edgar Hoover.

If there should be an Indep Special Prosecutor like in Spain/France, then it should not be Indecom or OCG, but rather indep of both and somehow the remit should be differentiated from the DPP.

The C.O.Police seems to be doing a good job, no objection there.

The further step needed in the anti-corruption drive is intense parliaentary oversight. These key officials must be made to face parliament with comprehensive reports at least twice a year. Nothing like Opposition vs Govt to make sure to use the "tief nuh like see oddah tief prosper" effect work in OUR benefit. Mek the senate be involved in the oversight as well, to share up the work.

Since I am on an unusual political kick.

Will Ed Bartlett remain minister of Tourism? bartlett have done a fine job in Tourism.

Does this mean he will be replaced?

Will leaders who were doing a good job be replaced for leadership unknown?

Their performance isn't the standard required by people power they need to go one side.

Ever heard the story of the scorpion and the frog?

Have you ran that by anyone in a high place, i love it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Cluesless arent you Lazie,how many has he handed over and what came out of it ......hint ......
                no need for that.... the DPP have handed files to the police to conduct futher investigations. Some are still outstanding, some the police have found nothing that can stand up to scrutiny in a court of law. Which prosecutor you know gonna go to trial with weak evidence?

Bwoay yuh is a big intallek. They say you can't attract bees with vinegar but honey.

Willi, Lazie, glad to see you guys. Hope to see Gamma and Sass soon (doing their regular posting).

BTW HL give me your thoughts on when either GOP or democrats win with a president and control both houses. Thanks.

None! which prosecutor do you know that is going to cc the investigated and propose that you seek private counsel to pursue a matter investigated by the ocg

Which prosecutor is going to get over 30 plus cases by the ocg and cant find one to bring to trial....its either the dpp is incompetent or the ocg is incompetent or both .

Here is your proof,on a letter head.

http://www.ocg.gov.jm/website_files/...d/media232.pdf

It's a tough call King jawge.

America voted a silly guy like Bush in for 2 terms.

The current crop of GOP candidates may seem like easy pickins'...but you never know.

Did you watch 60 minutes last night? The piece on Rep. Eric Cantor?... he was doing some damage control--but the smart savvy voters will see that he is a big ginal.

None! which prosecutor do you know that is going to cc the investigated and propose that you seek private counsel to pursue a matter investigated by the ocg

Which prosecutor is going to get over 30 plus cases by the ocg and cant find one to bring to trial....its either the dpp is incompetent or the ocg is incompetent or both .

Here is your proof,on a letter head.

http://www.ocg.gov.jm/website_files/...d/media232.pdf
                        Better you advocate for a change in the DPP's office. Giving the OCG Prosecutorial powers is unnecessary.

You have your view .... I have mine ....so we disagree leave it there.

Sorry didn't really watch 60 mins. I'm just surprised that with same speed that Newt enetred it's the same speed he is leaving (not with the top three in Iowa).

It will be months before I see anyone, but I will probably bend a few ears. I can think of 2 avenues off the top of my head.

The way things shaping up, I feel that the requisite humily just might be there after the next ruff 6 months or so.

I would love to see Newt or Perry --win the nomination.

The "entertainment" would be endless!!