Interesting that Tufton's PR juggernaut was futile

So now that he has been voted out you change your tune? Yuh sound like a waggonist to me...

One eye man is KING in blind man country!

Not a bum at all.

Perhaps the OP made the heading too negative.

He was a decent Minister in a landscape of very average ones since Independence. That in itself makes him a standout, but he did not walk on water. If we had a Govt with all Ministers at his level, no question we would be better off.

13 vote loss in a major national swing to the PNP in a seat always won by the winning party is not a poor showing actually...

He can win that seat in a neutral environment.

Lennox Rowe Reading this post makes me wonder: firstly alot of you people who are blogging dont live in south west st elizabeth, so how can you say what mr" tufton did for the constituency? When i drive from watchwell to mountainside i cant see a car 10 metres ahead of me because of bush taking over the road. Tufton has done absolutely NOTHING for the farmers in south west st elizabeth. He may have done good for the country, but he neglected the people who put him in parliment. For the rest of you listen this, the people in south st elizabeth giveth and we taketh away and if the rest of you dont like it then you vote for him and put him there. Secondly some of you preachers of doom and gloom, thank heavens God aint like man, imagine you all aint getting it, nobody expected this, couldnt this be a miracle from God? Think about it.

He may have done good for the country, but he neglected the people who put him in parliament
              Camedy show...

One eye man is KING in blind man country!
                true dat..evvyting relative

13 vote loss in a major national swing to the PNP in a seat always won by the winning party is not a poor showing actually...

He can win that seat in a neutral environment.
                  That's one way to look at it.

But this a a HUGE defeat for the JLP since

The guy is a prominent member of executive leadership and was a VERY prominent Cabinet member

He was a favourite for party leader and PM a few weeks ago

Maybe only Holness himself would have been a bigger loss..since Samuda and his ilk are yesterday's news already

I have always seen him as a decent and competent guy even before he got into repesentational politics. I don't know the extent of his self- promotion but I know that positive things that happen in govt often never get reported because quite frankly scandal sells better, so maybe he was attempting to counteract that.

I am not looking for heros, just competent people who are not crooks and he appeared to be one of those. Hope he stays in politics for a while and does not go the garrison route.

not go the garrison route.

in 2007 it is rumoUred that he brought in tugs from TIVOLI.................nuh put nuttin pass POLITICIANS(PNP OR JLP)

According to Dr Gayle, Dr Christopher Tufton was added to this list after the majority of persons (13 of 19) interviewed from St Elizabeth South West stated that they would not forgive him for "joining the other Labourite men dem wid dem foolishness" and "come give we water, land title and all sorts of tings at the last minute after we take him to be decent".

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1iJJle2uH

Hmm, when yo have a big ship, you always need tugs to steer them into and out of the harbour

Him carry them there or them get send there? Holness 97 and Bunting 93 had characters appear to make sure "order" was there and is not them did in charge of the characters who appeared on the scene. Party machinery sent them.

ok....

Yes...I agree...if is not one is the other....