Interesting that Tufton's PR juggernaut was futile

• Interesting that Tufton's PR juggernaut was futile

When people were raving about this guy I didn't get it.. Where was the Beef? To say nothing of the yams, bananas, coffee, pimento, sugar cane & pumpkins?

He supposedly was a "high performer" in agriculture with every minor move he made lionized in the press with overwhelming visibility...especially by that sorry rag, the Observer...then echoed by his boosters, including some on this forum. I think he took his own propaganda seriously...usually a terminal error...Just look at Muadib, Prince of BrownNess

I saw a seemingly nice, personable guy...articulate and definitely fitter than Roger Clarke (lol) but didn't see what all the fuss was about..

Seems people finally saw through PR Smoke and Mirrors...finding only a Mirage

Yuh cyan Some People sometime...
    Last edited by Don1; January 1, 2012, 06:23 PM.

Gimmickry is the order of the day....when I started to question the sustainability of the farmers' market it was pure shouting...and then people suggesting he 'remains' as Min of Agric...after being refused by his constituents....Jamaica is too much into King making....too much fluff...this one is IT Guru, this one is Financial Wiz, etc. etc.

Well, he did get growth in many crops which were trending down for many years, but on the other hand he did not walk on water. The feedback from some people who interacted with him was NOT that favourable though...

In summary, your assessment does not seem so far off the mark, except you have to give him more credit for the crop growth turnaround, even if the whole supply chain thing needed more work. Roger had a longer run and had less to show for it.

Also, maybe Roger Clarke is not the automatic choice for Agriculture as some people may think, he had his shot and we are still struggling..maybe it's time to get someone in with some fresh ideas, get some marketing and management expertise in and try to overhaul the system...otherwise we just go back to same ole same ole.

What most of you would not and could not know not being on the rock was that certain Ministers like Tufton and Bartlett did not leave home unless they knew the media would be there waiting on the front lawn.

There was a question in one media once whether the two hadn't employed their own media people to travel with them every where they went.

I kept mentioning here for years but people thought I was been biased, that the people at Sangsters airport always made a joke of Bartlett's arrival figures as it always differed greatly from theirs

One would think however that being the Minister of Agriculture and an MP in St Elizabeth, the 'breadbasket' of the country, it would have been a win-win, he could do well as Minister and his constituents would see his work first hand...so where did it al go wrong then

Yuh cyan Some People sometime...
              ...but yuh cyan fool Maudib all the time.

Interesting. I have to admit that I was one who drank the kool aid. This guy was tooting his own horn?. Wow. That is a shame, but when the tide is low you see all who are swimming naked.

Maybe that's the problem, too close to it - need to make impartial decisions...can go both ways, and I don't have enough info really, but just saying don't have to go back to the same old story..not saying he couldn't be a Minister...

I actually like the farmers market concept very much...perhaps they can do it mostly to dispose of produce in glut to avoid poaching on the regular market's domain.

I would explore it to get a sustainable formula

I don't know the details or have the sources you do...am just projecting from what I saw reported

Not saying he's a bad guy or not a potentially great minister...but just thought the positioning of his tenure as being trans-formative was way premature.

I think he was a generally fresh, positive force in an important & challenging ministry...but he was over-sold... we don't need that fluff

Food security will be close to Job #1 in the coming storms so whoever is in there better not be a slacker

yup, the electorate saw right through him !

lol ! woiee !

So the guy gets voted out and now he is a bum? Take a look at the lot who held the funeral for Hay-Webster...need I say more?

Yuh mean like Paulwell? Camedy show to rhattid...