• Why the JLP lost

Why the JLP lost

Political commentators Paul Ashley and Troy Caine weigh in
    BY CONRAD HAMILTON Sunday Observer senior reporter hamiltonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, January 01, 2012

Sunday Observer asked two of the country's political analysts to weigh in on discussions surrounding the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP) crushing electoral defeat on Thursday.

Political historian, Troy Caine pointed to the following as factors that led to the JLP'S demise:

(L-R) CAINE... the JLP never got their voters out, that is what accrued to the very low turn out of voters. ASHLEY... the JLP was not prepared for the election and paid little attention to the enumeration process

1/3

Delayed election

According to Caine, everything was ripe for Holness to anounce the holding of elections much earlier than December 29 and to delay the election until the publication of the November 30 voters list.
    "Unless you are pretty sure that a great majority of these people are going to support you, then politically it really doesn't add up to much. All the other leaders as soon as they are ready to call an election, all they want to know is that the electoral office is ready," he said.
    "When Mrs Simpson Miller called the election in 2007, it was in September, the voters list used was the one for May 2007, so that means all those other voters who were registered from April to September were unable to vote but there werent any complaints.
    No one likes Christmas polls

"I thought that even at conference it was not that late to call the election, and to make sure that the election was out of the way before Christmas, I think that augured against the Jamaica Labour Party because no election in our past has been held in that week. We have had five other elections in December since 1944 and all of them took place in the second or third week of December.
    JLP couldn't get voters out

"The JLP never got their voters out, that is what accrued to the very low turn out of voters and that resulted in the lowest turn out of voters in the history of elections between the two main parties," he added. Caine said lack of experience played a role here, since there seemed to be heavy spending on advertising and pre-election campaigns, which may have affected how much was left to spend on election day to get the voters out and take care of the party's workers.
    PNP targetted marginal seats

Caine emphasized that the PNP employed a good tactic in targeting the marginal seats. The JLP lost some seats which were traditional JLP seats such as Ernest Smith's in St Ann. Chris Tufton barely won his seat despite winning it in 2007 by 1,800 votes.
    According to Caine, all the pollsters and the pundits including Don Anderson were wrong with this one because as it turned out it was a wide result, everybody predicted a very close election.
    "The incredible thing is that in spite of a 19 seat margin the fact is that that worked out to 65 to 35 per cent in terms of the share of the seats, but in terms of majority votes there was a difference of just over 57,000 in the votes cast for the two major parties."
    There is no 'I' in 'team'

Caine also weighed in on suggestions that Holness focused too much on himself. "Andrew — and that came out a lot in the discussions — focused too much on 'I'. That factor played out in 2007 when Portia placed too much emphasis on herself in that campaign. Bruce Golding spoke more of the party and what other people in the party were doing, you really weren't hearing that from Andrew," said Caine.
    For Attourney and policitical commentator Dr Paul Ashley these factors contributed to the JLP's misfortune.
    Bruce Golding

"On his re-entry to the JLP, Bruce Golding brought in some interventions that spoke to good governance. This was substantially higher than what existed and had attractive elements for example term limits, accountability, transparency. Those were very good words, very noble ideals. The campaign was brilliant, he himself raised public expectations of government to a new level. But realty crept in on assuming office, It seemed that Golding, in the attempt to gain political office promised things to everyone and on assuming office was unable to deliver. Therefore there was an increasingly widening gap between rhetoric and reality.
    The language used at the Labour Party conference by Bruce Golding was also damaging, as he suggested that what he had done by his resignation was a master stroke. He described himself as a master strategist who devised a plan, and using his words, under that plan he would now create a situation where the chief scorer (Andrew Holness) would take the ball to the net. Apparently he (Golding) was still on the field playing. The strategy claimed by Bruce was rejected and was a contemptuous strategy. It assumed that by changing one man and leaving everything else in place the Jamaican people would vote for the JLP, and would suddenly forget all the damage caused by Bruce Golding, and now Prince Holness would emerge untainted, unaffected to save the day.
    Dudus Extradition

"In the Dudus extradition saga, Bruce Golding committed what could be termed political suicide, as what was revealed was not only inconsistent and insincere but as KD Knight termed it, he was pathologically mendacious. The Tivoli incursion affected the base of the party as the instructions to invade came from a Bruce Golding led Jamaica Labour Party. The killing of the 73 people as well as the killing of Keith Clarke in his own home in front of his wife and child remains unaccounted for. This is under the regime of a man who promised accountability, transparency, you name it".
    JLP Unpreparedness

The JLP was not prepared for the election and paid little attention to the enumeration process. Holness was in a quandary whether or not to call the election this year. Holness was facing a problem, as if he had used the old voters list he would disenfranchise 40,000 plus voters who it was said were primarily youth, but on the other hand it was the PNP which did most of the work to get these people. Holness called it too early. The elections were called to vote himself out of office, It was better to lose after 12 months than to lose after two months in office. Because when he lose after two months he will have no record to go on as prime minister.
    Holness' sheen rubbed off

Holness was placed there to win the election as quickly as possible as the bitter medicine he spoke of was on its way. So the thing was to go to the election and then proceed with the drastic cuts in the civil service etc. The rise in the popularity of Holness was not as a result of Holness himself but it was that people were happy to see the back of Golding. Holness promised too much continuity and was unable to establish himself as being different from Bruce Golding. In addition to that he placed too much emphasis on himself. I grew up here, I went to school there I and I and I.
    Campaign Blunders

In the election the elements and symbols that assisted in the demise of Bruce Golding reared their heads on the platform. They included threats against civil servants, getting into needless fights with the media. They (the JLP) demonstrated all the symptoms of old style politics in crisis. Anybody who criticized you was against you.
    The JLP was of the view that they were dealing with the stereotypical view of Portia. The fact is Mrs Portia Simpson Miller has benefited tremendously from her years in Opposition as well as from the experience she had in government. It was now between 'Mama P' (Simpson Miller) and 'Baby Bruce' (Andrew Holness) and 'Baby Bruce' had nothing to go on, he had to refer to what 'Papa Bruce' ( Bruce Golding) did. 'Mama P' knew her people, she connected and identified with the suffering and pressures inflicted on the hopeless affected masses. How you doing very well and more people out of work? Who cares about this macro economic stability, who cares about some GDP ratios being maintained. Who cares when stability means that you have stabilised poverty and unemployment. The hard economic reality kicked in. At the same time, JEEP, which was proposed as a temporary solution by the PNP, was ridiculed.
    Lack of funding

"...The ponzi scheme and other sources dried up. It meant that you could not go to the same sources again to promise what you didn't deliver. Funding became extremely difficult. The cost of the vote also went up, because of the effects of the recession and the decrease in the size of remittances as well as the fact that people had no jobs. Whereas you could buy a vote for probably ten grand it moved to 15.
    Global anti-incumbency

"The effects of the economic crisis is having an impact on incumbents across the world. When things are hard you blame the government as people believe the government is supposed to provide for your well being. The Government didn't provide the jobs, nor had the resources to provide the social net for those who were displaced.
    The Youth Vote

"Youth are more impatient than older people. There is a large body of frustrated youth who didn't see a way out and didn't accept the labour party's message about problems in Greece and elsewhere and were therefore told to be thankful even when they didn't have jobs and when education did not give them the social mobility they were told about.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1iCuPhxbv

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Voters prove me horribly wrong. JLP soundly rejected

WIGNALL’S WORLD
    MARK WIGNALL

Sunday, January 01, 2012

ALTHOUGH I knew and wrote that voter apathy was widespread, latching onto the conventional view that the election would have been close, I made assumptions that did not factor in the wholesale staying at home of 'issues voters' who have now, by their actions, concluded that it matters little which political party takes the reins.

With an unprecedented low turnout, below 50 per cent, only the base of both parties turned up for the show. As I've written many times, the PNP's base is larger than the JLP's, and in such a contest where only party diehards figured, the PNP would always have the advantage.

People wait in line to vote on election day last Thursday.

1/3

The reality is, about 25 per cent of enumerated Jamaicans elected the PNP to power.
    Last Thursday, when my column predicted a close victory for the JLP, a reader e-maiIed me the following: 'I am an avid reader of your column. Having read your column today I do not share your sentiment that the JLP will win the election, although from my perspective I hope they do because the simple fact is that they are better managers of the economy in comparison to the Opposition PNP .
    'My prediction with regards to the election is that the PNP will win. My simple explanation is that being a child of the 1970s I noticed that any time the country is on any stable financial footing the majority of the populace automatically vote PNP. Look at the 1972 and 1989 elections. It is only when the economy is in a devastating financial state that the local populace will ever turn to the JLP. Once the economy has the variables correct, the populace will in turn revert to the PNP.'
    It is cliché to admit in these circumstances 'the voters have spoken'. It is usually the words spoken by the defeated while graciously handing power to the winner. Those are the words in a politician's mouth. For me, I will admit only that I spent too much time poring over what has now turned out to be the flawed canvassing of JLP candidates islandwide and in expecting the 'thinking voter' to show up. It is still my belief that the better party lost the elections.
    In hindsight, the JLP has fallen prey to a world trend where incumbents are naturally seen as the easier target as people struggle with their daily lives. In retrospect, while the JLP has, in the post-independence history of this country, built a government model around using macro-economic variables and stability as a springboard for governance, it has never really learned how to meld that model with the showing of a human face. In other words, where both political parties have indulged in corruption, the PNP has learned how to share up the booty better than the JLP.
    In addition, the PNP's redistributionist policies are naturally more favoured by the poor and unemployed who cannot eat 'stability'.
    I have used the analogy of the JLP and the PNP planting hills of yams -- which we all know take about nine months to mature or 'ripen'.
    Three months after the JLP planted yams, the people cried out and said they were hungry. The JLP shot back with, 'The yam nuh ready yet. Onnu haffi wait!'
    Three months after the PNP planted yams, the people cried out and said they were hungry. The PNP said, 'My people, I hear your cry and I cannot bear it. Let us dig up di young yam dem and full wi belly!'
    The fact is, it may have made good sense for the JLP to wait on the yam to mature but in politics, what does one do when the people cry out? Feed them young, bitter yams and borrow more money to plant the next set, which will also be dug up too early.
    A dwindling electorate is dangerous

Where only the diehard, robotic base of both parties participated in the elections and one side captures two-thirds of the seats under such an arrangement, the question must be asked, which Jamaica do the political parties represent?
    Can we honestly claim any broad-based representation, or is it that the PNP represents the poor and the JLP the not-so-poor?
    As I asked in a recent column, 'Will unemployment, poor roads bite the JLP?' there was always going to be a believability factor facing both parties in terms of which one the people believed would deal with that pressing matter in a more urgent time frame.
    The JLP Government had been claiming 'stability' of the macro-economic picture and 'continuity' as a springboard for development. This assumption was always centred on the idea that a poor man without a steady job or, more likely, perennially unemployed, could take that home with him and cook it for dinner.
    The PNP countered with JEEP, which the party now says will be instituted. I wish it luck. This proposed emergency employment plan, workable or not, has been bought into by the people.
    Because the JLP could not promise anything resembling this proposed crash programme, the assumption on the part of the JLP was always that the people would understand and wait, a most foolish position to hold if the JLP MPs had been in the trenches.
    What has in fact transpired is that not many discriminating people believed either party so must we assume that only those who walked through the gates of the big dance and arrived early believed it?
    With the PNP capturing 53 per cent of the popular vote and 65 per cent of the seats in the lowest turnout in recent memory, it means that increasingly the majority of voters are deciding to remain at home as election cycles continue. The danger of that is that as the voter turnout decreases, the party which wins theoretically only has to pander to the wishes and the desires of its immediate base.
    If it takes a crash programme to satisfy that need, then so be it, but that is a dangerous downhill slide in social and economic terms and it operates against the success of any long-term development.
    It appears to me that even the PNP was surprised at the win. One JLP supporter who did not vote told me Thursday night, "Last Christmas, nuh work, no money nuh run; this Christmas, same ting. Den a how dem expect fi win?"
    One PNP supporter e-mailed me the following: "Well, to say I am surprised is an understatement. Not only did the PNP win, but it was, in reality, a landslide. I never imagined that at all. I can only assume that the voters were upset with the JLP regarding lack of employment, the 'Dudus' affair, the Manatt enquiry, the JDIP scandal and the unimpressive debate between Mr Holness and Mrs Simpson Miller. Surprise, surprise. It was not even close.
    "My worry is that the PNP did not expect this. It is like a "buck up". I do not believe they are ready to govern and lead Jamaica to prosperity and development. I say this as a PNP supporter. But I will watch carefully and see what the PNP does."
    Many people expect jobs next year

It is typical that I send my Sunday column to the Observer on a Thursday.
    This time around, things were very obviously different. Many of my 'socialist' friends, taxi drivers, artisans, unemployed were in a jubilant mood. The word I heard as I ventured out on Friday morning was 'power'. Reminded me a bit of 1972 and 1989.
    As I spoke to young people aged between 25 and about 37 or so, it occurred to me that the PNP will be having a problem on its hands later on.
    "What are you expecting next year?" I asked them. The answer was jobs.
    "Yu si all di garment factory dem. Wi waan dem open dem back and gi di woman dem some wuk."
    Another agreed with the 'work' response but he also said, "Di young people dem nuh have no community centre. Wi want fi set up one".
    Politicians are near-idiots, I believe. In almost every constituency I have polled since 1993 (I did no national polls this time around) the people in the constituencies have bawled about community centres. Why must this now be a problem after so many years? Is it not easier to provide a constituency with a well-maintained community centre than to provide 500 jobs for young people who are terribly undereducated and have no great interest in farming?
    One older PNP voter, 56 years old, captured another side of what makes Jamaican politics hum, even when it makes little sense. When I asked him what he expected to see next year under his party, he answered, "Nutten! Mi jus feel better when PNP in power, Is just my choice. Mi nuh believe dem can do any better dan di JLP but mi comfortable wid dem."
    Another man, a university graduate, suggested that the situation was similar to one where a young woman wanted a baby. "She is only dealing intimately with two men who are sterile, who cannot impregnate her. So, in the end she settles for the better lover."
    Overall though, the main ingredient on the expectation list for next year is jobs. The burden to supply that in the middle of an IMF agreement with conditionalities is likely to be extremely problematic for the PNP, which will not have any wiggle room to juggle a crash programme.
    Candidates who got their just deserts

Andrew Gallimore of West Central St Andrew was always begging for a well-deserved defeat.
    In the weeks leading up to the election many of his own supporters were telling me that he would be losing the seat. "Him tek di people fi granted an' believe seh him own di seat fi life," said a disgruntled JLP supporter to me at the latter part of last week.
    As is typical of constituencies islandwide, the road network there is horrible, and Gallimore has never deemed it important to report to his constituents on the status of the roads until a week or so before the election. One person said to me on Friday morning, "Mi ask him bout something and him tell mi sey mi fi talk to somebody else as if seh him nuh have nuh time fi wi. Him deserve fi lose. A 11 year him deh yah now and a only one time mi si him. Mi si Mr Buchanan bout four time."
    I congratulate Paul Buchanan, although I know little about him (apart from the things I have been told, some good, some not so very good) and what he is capable of.
    Dwight Nelson of South East St Andrew was never going to be in the winning column even if the JLP had scraped through as I expected. He had embarrassed the nation while giving testimony in the Manatt enquiry with his disingenuous bouts of "I can't recall" and made us look upon his status as security minister with much suspicion. Julian Robinson is to be congratulated; may we never see Nelson's face in politics again.
    Clive Mullings of West Central St James will not be missed by many in the 'thinking' class. Trying to take a cheap advantage of Portia Simpson Miller's promise to review the buggery law, he took to the pulpit recently and said, "We must understand that for a nation to be blessed, for a nation to grow, we cannot depart from God's words. No nation, no nation that seeks to move away from God's words can succeed."
    As if that was not enough, he then quoted the Bible in the hope of gaining added effect, "The Lord poured down sulphur and brimstone on Sodom and Gomorrah". Yeah, yeah, yeah. Yawn.
    The buggery law backlash which the JLP expected may have had some impact on the turnout, but it didn't trouble the PNP in the end.
    Laurie Broderick of Northern Clarendon and Ernie Smith of St Ann South West were JLP candidates who spent too much time preening their feathers and admiring the man in the mirror instead of dealing with the immediate and long-term problems of their constituents. Had they learned the fine art of listening while tuning out their insistence on talking and believing they were God's gift to intelligence, the results could have been different.
    I commiserate with Bobby Montague of Western St Mary in losing his seat, but it is a fact that the Western St Mary seat always goes with whichever party wins the election. It was always my belief that he had been doing a good job, although some of his public utterances were highly misunderstood by those who did not know the background which gave rise to those very utterances.
    Montague will rise to fight again.
    Was this a victory for Portia Simpson Miller?

I need not remind readers that it is my belief that the PNP needs effective leadership.
    To politicians, however, leaders are most effective when they are able to win elections so, in the end, the victory must be claimed as hers if even for the reason that were the PNP defeated, the loss would have been chalked up to her.
    To me, effective leadership is in creating a team that has a developmental vision of Jamaica and not just shouting from the podium. It must be remembered that in Jamaican politics, the biggest noise and the more catchy gimmicks tend to win elections.
    If it is accepted that elections in Jamaica are never won or lost on issues, what is it then that our people want?
    The JLP has claimed that the Manatt matter harmed it. I disagree with that. The election was lost by the JLP on its insistence on championing 'stability' and 'continuity' where no jobs were available.
    Do the people believe that jobs will suddenly materialise under the new PNP administration, or did those who vote simply use the opportunity to take their superior numbers first past the post?
    The fact is, Jamaica's economic problems will not suddenly go away, but for now an extended fete can be held.
    Amid the blowing of horns and the shouts of victory, much will be drowned out. The JLP will retreat into its shell as the burden of running an impossible country shifts to the PNP.
    What will be the model for the immediate future?
    It appears to me that having secured her personal mandate, the leadership of the party will switch from Simpson Miller before the next general election. As the present season favours targeting the incumbent administration, the PNP will need to reinvent itself three, four years from now as people begin to feel the real pain and hardships that will come as the global economy dances delicately on a knife edge.
    What future for Andrew Holness?

DECIDING to call an election because of the fear of the economic realities that will descend on the nation in 2012, the JLP's gambles paid off very negatively. He called an election without quite knowing where his party was in the polls.
    Apart from that, he had the gall to announce to the nation that next year we would face a tough time. By now, we ought to realise that Jamaican voters have a need to be lied to.
    Andrew Holness made two other errors apart from being boring from the podium in the last days before the election. He allowed Bruce Golding to campaign on behalf of the JLP when it was known that Golding's name would always invoke a political negative, and second, he also allowed himself to be seen as a protégé of Seaga. Indeed, Seaga loudly endorsed him where nationally, Seaga is only loved by older, rockstone Labourites.
    Both men had a death wish for Holness even if their intentions meant something else more positive for him. But ego, I suppose, can hardly be suppressed by those who have grown old on it.
    As always, political parties do their best work in opposition, and I have no doubt that the JLP will use the time in opposition to rethink its purist conservative model where the people must wait on development. The results have shown that the people, lesser numbers of them than before, have rejected that model.
    Can a party change the philosophy that drives the mechanics of its governance? That is the big question that the JLP, its leader and its leadership must ponder as they spend the next five years in lonely opposition.
    observemark@gmail.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz1iCuktwHe

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Gambling on the wrong horse

BY JANICE BUDD Associate Editor — Sunday buddj@jamaicaobserver.com
      Sunday, January 01, 2012

ONE analyst and researcher has said that the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) battering at the polls Thursday could have been worse.

Anthropologist of social violence and host of The Complete Picture discussion programme aired Mondays to Thursdays on News Talk 93fm, Dr Herbert Gayle told the Sunday Observer: "it could have been worse — on the basis that Jamaica voted against them more than it did for the PNP. In fact, if the voter turnout was higher; and the PNP momentum (which became obvious only a month ago) allowed to run for longer (meaning that elections were held about mid-January), the loss of JLP seats would be 'near irreparable' — even allowing space for a third party to develop," suggested Dr Gayle.

1/2

The UWI researcher and lecturer, who conducted several 'snapshot' studies in the run-up to the general election to inform his radio show, also said that the 41-22 landslide is not the only indicator of the people's rejection of the JLP.
      "The majority (12) of JLP seats were won by sheer 'political muscle', experience, and good old-fashioned luck," said Dr Gayle, pointing to the following MP's, whom he said "won unconvincingly or with less than 60 per cent":
      * Andrew Holness
      * Audley Shaw
      * Rudyard Spencer
      * Daryl Vaz
      * James Robertson
      * Edmund Bartlett
      * Everald Warmington
      * Christopher Tuffton
      * William Hutchinson
      * Kenneth Baugh
      * Gregory Mair
      * Shahine Robinson
      Dr Gayle said that most of these incumbents could have been unseated if the PNP had targeted them.
      "The sad reality for the JLP is that, at worst, they could have won only nine seats — and that this was not only possible, but was almost realised."
      He pointed to his own data from the Complete Picture snapshot study done December 14 -19, 2011 and declared that, in his opinion, former prime minister Andrew Holness, could have been beaten if the PNP had put the charismatic, young Damion Crawford to run against him.
      In a snapshot study done between July 6 and 14, Dr Gayle's research team tested the five primary qualities that Jamaicans want to see in their politicians. Honesty (defined as not corrupt; will not use public funds for self, family or friends) was the most critical to Jamaicans. This was followed by Credibility (defined as 'I can believe the person - he/she does what he/she promises and tells the truth'), Hard-working, Brilliance and Stewardship.
      Holness came out as the most popular JLP candidate across all five qualities. However, Dr Christopher Tufton scored above him on the two most important qualities: Honesty and Credibility.
      Professor Ian Boxill and others also did quantitative studies that showed Holness as popular, but the snapshot was the first to reveal that Dr Tufton was actually a better choice, as reported in the Sunday Observer of July 24, 2011.
      Tufton then topped the list of Jamaica's most dynamic and favoured politicians — having been identified as not only honest and credible, but also hard-working, brilliant and a true public servant in Dr Gayle's Complete Snapshot study of July 6 to 14, which sampled 240 people from the Kingston Metropolitan Region, St James, St Mary, Westmoreland, and St Thomas.
      "If Jamaicans perceive you as corrupt and an habitual liar you cannot win an election, said Dr Gayle.
      Dr Gayle, in analysing the JLP defeat at the polls, also pointed to factors gleaned from another snapshot study done between December 14 and 19, 2011, on why people would or would not vote.
      "We found that as high as 71 per cent of persons wanted to vote. Nonetheless, we also found that a half of those who were reluctant to vote had reservations about both political parties. This was followed by a significant number of JLP persons who had developed distrust for Andrew Holness. These JLPs made up 15 per cent of all the respondents who were reluctant to vote. In fact, this number turned out to be 34 per cent of all JLPs who claimed they were not going to vote," he said.
      The thoughts of the respondents who expressed distrust in Andrew can be summarised as follows:
      * Credibility issues (nine of 17)
      * "He (Holness) is too prone to telling a controversial story or twisting the facts."
      * "I do not know if I can believe him and I am a JLP, can you imagine how the PNP people feels about him. How is he going to unite this country?"
      * "That stone incident was the last straw! I pray each time he is going to speak!"
      * "This man calls the name of God and says he is a Seventh- day Adventist, but cannot give a presentation straight ... and look how many faults the PNP have."
      * I never see him lead, too inexperience, too young (five of 17)
      * I would have preferred Christopher Tufton (three of 17)
      Dr Gayle said that Holness was selected by the JLP as a candidate who could win, based on his selling himself as "honest and credible".
      He said that Holness successfully showed that he was not a part of the corruption. Nonetheless, according to the researcher, Jamaicans connected honesty with credibility, and "Holness flopped on the latter.
      "His Mandeville presentation, his reference to a 'Bustamante Rastaman' and the incident in Central Kingston all came together to present a picture of a person who could not be trusted with speaking the truth always. Talk shows, presentations by civic groups, and regular people in neighbourhoods started to attack the prime minister for his choice of examples used to illustrate points in his presentations. Some persons became openly angry with his style of presenting material. If Holness was presenting himself as a regular candidate he would have been forgiven, but he and the JLP were presenting him as the 'Rescuer' of both the JLP and Jamaica," Dr Gayle said.
      The researcher also suggested that Jamaicans gave up on Holness nine days before the election.
      "The Labourites were less convincing than their Comrade counterparts in the (national pre-election) debates. 'Prince' Andrew was supposed to be the redeemer once again. Again, the expectations were too much," said Dr Gayle.
      The researcher also feels that Simpson Miller's credibility shot through the roof after her debate with the then prime minister, pointing to 13 respondents calling his research team and asking to change their previous response to the question of whether or not they would vote.
      "They all wanted to vote for Portia. Previously, they had stated that they would not vote as 'no party is better' or 'I am a PNP but do not like Portia'," said Dr Gayle.
      He said that people had told researchers that Holness decided to 'hustle' when it came to the issue of homosexuality and that he answered in a way that politicians would. Respondents also felt that Simpson Miller showed guts and responded directly.
      "The night of the debate I told colleagues that the JLP would lose the election. Nonetheless, I promised not to push this line, as my intent has never been to directly influence an election outcome but provide information that the Jamaican public can use to make its own decision. Even on the morning of the elections I refused to express my position that the JLP would lose badly as I am aware that such a declaration could impact voters," said the anthropologist.
      He noted that after the 2007 election he interviewed 30 middle-class PNP and uncommitted women. Only four (13 per cent) had voted for Portia Simpson Miller, following her embarrassing public displays captured in the JLP's carefully designed advertisements.
      The researcher said that it was different this time around as after the debate, advertisements that were deemed funny relating to Portia Simpson Miller became 'distasteful'. "This time, they were puny and even irritating, as they tried to target Portia," he said.
      "December 30, 2011, the day after the 2011 general election, I called all 30 respondents. I found 27 middle-class PNP and 18 uncommitted had voted for her."
      Some women explained their turning to Simpson Miller in the following ways:
      * "We have to bring down this club. These men take us all for idiots. I did not like Portia but God knows she cannot be worse than these corrupt men."
      * "These people have all kinds of letters behind their names and they do not make any sense. So why are they better than Portia?"
      * "I am a Christian but homosexuals do not sin more than these corrupt politicians. It is all about the vote and they underestimate our intelligence and our tolerance as a people," the UWI lecturer said.
      According to the last snapshot study, four of five Jamaicans claimed that they vote for the party above all other factors. However, nine of 10 persons who like a political party, also like its leader.
      "Any party whose leader fails will also fail," said Dr Gayle. "This is the core reason the PNP failed in 2007 and why the JLP failed this time. Holness was given a task too big for him to achieve — and he squandered his chances at even doing a good job by not distancing himself enough from the failing men of the JLP. The public assessed him and branded him as a hustler... especially after the leadership debate.
      "People listed a number of errors he made on talk shows across the country. One of the worst errors was to fire Mike Henry as minister but keep him as (JLP) chairman. People also accused him (Holness) of paying little attention to the fire at the Solid Waste Management head office; not speaking fully on the 'No plane was over Tivoli' matter; and not telling G2K to back off Portia when it became clear that their continuous attack had become counterproductive. In summation, Jamaicans bunched him with Bruce Golding. In fact, the term 'Baby Bruce' used by PNPs soon became a part of the lexicon of frustrated JLPs," he told the Sunday Observer.
      In the July snapshots, Portia Simpson Miller had emerged as Jamaica's best public servant, the most likely person to put the country before self.
      "Simpson Miller, as a female, became seen by the poor in the snapshot as 'Caring', 'Warm', and 'One of us'; the JLP men became seen as 'Cold' and 'Selfish', 'Arrogant', and 'Unsympathetic'.
      According to Dr Gayle, in the December snapshot, JLP and PNP (especially) complained that they had never seen so many scandals in only two years. When asked to say whether or not issues were important as a deciding factor, a significant 38 per cent of the 340 respondents who claimed that they intended to vote, answered in the affirmative.
      Of the 154 respondents who claimed that issues were critical, 70 per cent had tertiary education. This educated group listed corruption as the primary problem or issue.
      "When asked why she put corruption ahead of economics, a medical doctor said that they were the same issue, "The corruption must be more serious, as that was money that we already had and it got wasted or stolen by the people we elected to manage our little much."
      One JLP male, who decided to vote for Simpson Miller, stated: "Me a Labourite but me not just going to stay at home, me going to give Portia my vote for me cannot understand how the PNP come fi be more honest and dem know how to hustle we money."
      The anthropologist listed what respondents in the study ranked as scandals that the JLP had to address in a very short time leading up to the general election:
      * JDIP (61 persons)
      * Manatt (58)
      * Scrap metal (42)
      * $800-million roadway in Christiana (36)
      * Shooting of a JLP by another in Mandeville (23)
      * Purchases of large houses by politicians (12)
      * Destruction of files at the Solid Waste Management office (nine)
      * Disappearing carpet and chairs in Montego Bay (seven)
      * Unnecessary massacre and abuse of Tivoli residents (six)

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1iCv7ypGg

Ben :Bollo work

Votes for sale - St Thomas youth say money up front or no X

We want what we can get now, say young vote sellers
        BY NADINE WILSON Sunday Observer staff reporter ?wilsonn@jamaicaobserver.com
        Sunday, January 01, 2012

CLAD in white T-shirts, the young men who stood under a tree at the entrance to Yallahs Primary School in St Thomas on Election Day were there with one intention only: to sell their votes to the candidate who could afford them.

The group of about nine said that they had grown disenchanted with the current political system, as with each general election came a fresh round of promises that are yet to be fulfilled. Most had cast their votes in 2007, eager for a change, but found themselves no better off for their efforts.

The group of young men in St Thomas who said they would vote only if paid. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

1/2

This time around, they said, they were not going to be fooled. They wanted some sort of incentive in exchange for their ‘X’.
        “We are no dunce, we are pushing for what we want, but at the same time, for us to vote today, they (politicians) would have to pay us for today, tomorrow and even for a week,” said one of them, who explained that he was a 23-yearold, first-year student at a prominent teacher’s college in Kingston.
        “Give us what you can give us now, because at the end of the day, we still have to find our own college fees, we still have to mind our pickney off our own. We just want what we can get now, give it to us now, because we know we won’t see you after,” he stated.
        He said that he was speaking on behalf of a number of other young people in his community who had chosen to stay home that day instead of voting.
        According to the Electoral Office of Jamaica, only 52 per cent of the electorate in Jamaica turned out at the 6,629 polling stations in 2,200 locations islandwide to participate in Jamaica’s 16th election since Universal Adult Suffrage in 1944.
        In the end, the Opposition People’s National Party (PNP), led by Portia Simpson Miller, steamrolled the Andrew Holness-led ruling Jamaica Labour Party, winning 41 of the 63 parliamentary seats.
        Both parties had made the youth a major focus in the past few election campaigns, with catchy jingles, slogans and advertisements that seemed geared specifically at capturing their attention.
        However, these young people said that there was a disconnect as nothing the politicians said seemed to speak to their reality.
        “These are all youths that want better, they want to work. Some of us go school and we never really understand the value of school in a certain way, so we come out without CXCs, but that doesn’t mean we are uneducated; most of us would want the chance to go back,” he said, while pointing out that a number of them were going to evening classes and colleges in order to better themselves.
        “With politics, they come today and say ‘all right now, this is it, vote for us’. We say ‘all right, start some school ting that we can go free CXC classes’. And dem say, ‘yeah man, you are going to get that’, but it no work out.’ We try to work and send ourselves, but that still don’t work out sometimes because some of us have families to take care of. Some of us have to stay with friends because we don’t have it certain way,” he said.
        “It not going to be better, we don’t see how it’s going to be better. We give them ways in which we want it to be better and it’s not better, so we, as youths now, we kick back, and we say all right then, we have a vote and this is politics,” he stated.
        As the young men waited under the tree, persons made their way steadily into to the polling division on the school grounds. Although they were all enumerated and had their voter IDs ready, the young men stood a good distance away from the large throng of outdoor agents for the PNP’s candidate, Leonard Green, and the JLP’s James Robertson.
        The bunch was adamant that they would not be moved until they were given at least $25,000 each. They were all born in the parish, but mostly educated and worked in Kingston.
        “We are not stupid, after they win or lose, tell me one reason why they would come back and look out for us as youths in the community that them done have already as undereducated people?” one of them asked.
        Another young man who stood among the group declared that he hadn’t quite made up his mind as to which of the two major political parties he would vote for. Even so, he knew he had to make a decision soon because his mother had given him an ultimatum earlier that morning.
        “This morning she woke me up early and say I should go and vote and I say ‘I’m not voting, you know, because things not going to be better’, and she turn to me and said ‘you know that if you don’t vote you can’t sleep here tonight’, and I said ‘for real, Mommy?’ and she said ‘I’m serious, try me’.
        “Right now, she constantly a ring off my phone, but I’m not answering it, because mi no really ready yet, I’m weighing my mind,” said the 22-year-old electrician, who said that he had voted during the last election.
        He said that he was challenged in making a decision, since he was not pleased with the conditions in his constituency.
        “To be truthful with you, I have an empty fowl coop and I go to the (constituency) office and I write down my name to see if I could get a start; all now, them nuh do nothing for me,” he said.
        “Mi no really have the money to start it, but mi link them and me say mi woulda even buy the feeding and they supply me with the fowl, but all now,” said the youngster, who said that he really wanted to attend HEART Trust/NTA so that he could be certified as an electrician.
        Beside him, his friend, a 23-year-old who said that he was forced to leave the University of Technology (UTech) to seek a job after impregnating two girls, was convinced that voting would not be the solution to getting him back on the right track.
        “I don’t see the sense right now. Why I should vote?” he asked.
        Across the road from the group, three other young men sat under a tree talking while taking in the day’s activities. They, too, were all wearing white T-shirts, although two of the three had voted earlier in the day.
        “Nothing not going on, because about eight factories that used to employ the people dem, lock down,” said the only one of the three who had refused to go and vote.
        His friends said that they voted for the candidate representing the party that had the better manifesto.
        In other sections of the constituency, the Sunday Observer got similar responses from other young people.
        “I don’t see any benefit. I don’t see anything changing in the community; because the road bad, we don’t have any jobs and we don’t really see any form of development,” said Shawna, 22, who added that she had to earn her living by peddling on the streets of downtown Kingston, although she had graduated from one of the traditional high schools in Kingston.
        “It’s all promises. But I don’t really look to any of them for handouts, I just do my little hustling,” she said.
        Robertson, who was seen speaking with some of the youth, later told the Sunday Observer that they would vote for his party, but that they would not be paid to do so.

Mark perpetuating propoganda based on a disproven fallacy.

I met a hotelier in St.Thomas a declared labourite and he told me point blank, when the pnp was in power money run.

Again i ask ,after finsac the devastating attack on the business class in the 90s why did they vote the pnp back in power?

2nd why would the masses vote out good stewards of the economy,this past election ? telling me that the imf says we are on the right path is a non issue, the imf has been telling successive governments from the jlp 80s to the pnp 90s to 2000s they are on the right path,what we had was voter rebellion that the jlp was wrecking the economy,the people believe that the pnp will have better negotiators with the imf ,meaning better handlers of the economy.

In other words Jamaicans nuh fool wid dem money,the cry was the pnp governed better economically and the people wanted them back....thats what a landslide kick ass victory means.

People were scared under a JLP administration we were going back under the IMF management,not in the continued consulting capacity but literally ! thats the word on the street.

'My prediction with regards to the election is that the PNP will win. My simple explanation is that being a child of the 1970s I noticed that any time the country is on any stable financial footing the majority of the populace automatically vote PNP. Look at the 1972 and 1989 elections. It is only when the economy is in a devastating financial state that the local populace will ever turn to the JLP. Once the economy has the variables correct, the populace will in turn revert to the PNP.'
          It is cliché to admit in these circumstances 'the voters have spoken'. It is usually the words spoken by the defeated while graciously handing power to the winner. Those are the words in a politician's mouth. For me, I will admit only that I spent too much time poring over what has now turned out to be the flawed canvassing of JLP candidates islandwide and in expecting the 'thinking voter' to show up. It is still my belief that the better party lost the elections.
          In hindsight, the JLP has fallen prey to a world trend where incumbents are naturally seen as the easier target as people struggle with their daily lives. In retrospect, while the JLP has, in the post-independence history of this country, built a government model around using macro-economic variables and stability as a springboard for governance, it has never really learned how to meld that model with the showing of a human face. In other words, where both political parties have indulged in corruption, the PNP has learned how to share up the booty better than the JLP.
          In addition, the PNP's redistributionist policies are naturally more favoured by the poor and unemployed who cannot eat 'stability'.
          I have used the analogy of the JLP and the PNP planting hills of yams -- which we all know take about nine months to mature or 'ripen'.
          Three months after the JLP planted yams, the people cried out and said they were hungry. The JLP shot back with, 'The yam nuh ready yet. Onnu haffi wait!'
          Three months after the PNP planted yams, the people cried out and said they were hungry. The PNP said, 'My people, I hear your cry and I cannot bear it. Let us dig up di young yam dem and full wi belly!'
          The fact is, it may have made good sense for the JLP to wait on the yam to mature but in politics, what does one do when the people cry out? Feed them young, bitter yams and borrow more money to plant the next set, which will also be dug up too early.
          Last edited by Sir X; January 1, 2012, 08:37 AM.

"Me a Labourite but me not just going to stay at home, me going to give Portia my vote for me cannot understand how the PNP come fi be more honest and dem know how to hustle we money."

Latte Ben...lol...a proven fallacy

Another thing i question ,our unemployment rate from the 90s have been declared at 12 % from the 90s , following a worlwide recession and admitted contraction of our economy it stands at the same %.

When i say 40 % i think i am in a good range , i could say 24 to 30 % and i would be dead right.

You are telling me to believe jamaica has 400,000 unemployed ? voodoo economics.

He's obviously licking his wounds. He seems to have invested too much belief in the JLP and forgot to be an objective Journalist. Even when its him staring in smack in the face, he's still trying to offer up excuses and 'reasons'. Stringing clichés and highfalutin phrases together is not a replacement for sound, unbiased reasoning. He's been tainted and the green ooze is not washing off - even with the new splash of orange all over his face.

These young ones may have been on to something with their white shirts and trying to make but are just disaffected ex-labourites pimping their votes. Why do they feel Politicians should pay them to vote or that they could go and breed people and get free chicken to mind??? Why they don't go and pawn the chains around their necks for the fees or for the chickens?
                  At least some have returned to school and there is a real need for education and training after high school.

Talking through a third person and presenting it as facts,Mark lost his mind.

Apathy or they will stay home,its not as if its not being done already.

Unemployment rates are very difficult to estimates especially when you have so many SME's - legal and illegal. People will say they no have no work even though they may have a jerk stand making more than an office worker, they involved in the pharmaceutical business (not for Rxs) or they run Taxi.

Lost his integrity...if ever had before....I stopped reading his hype since he started making excuses for Tivoli and Dudus.

He will spin and start to create high expectations to undermine, as a lot of these paid Journalist do...all part of the programme...they have will lose income as they did not deliver...whoee.....did you see Clovis' lame cartoon after election day?

aaah so they include di black market ..RX in it , dat mek sense , even so 12 % 400k unemployed..naaah mi nuh see it, or probably vote buying .