Useful indicators

• Useful indicators

I can think of three important litmus tests which could signify the direction of the new government, and indeed its chance of success, and they are:

1) The strengthening of the office of the contractor general, giving it not only investigative power and prosecutorial power.
    2) Renewing the contract of the current Contractor General(if they don't, he will be grabbed by many countries around the world who are serious about stamping out corruption)
    3) Keeping the same Police Commissioner(Please don't tell me he is a labourite so he shouls be changed).

These are simple first steps. I don't want to rain on Portia's parade, but if history is anything to go by, I am not very hopeful about these "baby" steps. Only time will tell, she might surprise us, as the wind of change is blowing over our beloved country.

These are baby steps in the right direction indeed Reggae PhD. And these steps are not difficult to implement. So i am going to hold my breath since it's going to happen shortly.

Here goes...hurmfph... hmrphf... .(not going to breath...not...nat goin' to bre....

Crash program Govt !

tun it up !

Don't worry! ReggaeMD have a oxygen tank... LOL

I hope JEEP is not just a modern twist on tne old Crash Program scheme.

no oxygen pleeze...hmurphf...

Take TEF and JDIP money and give it tuh di 'People' !

Tun it up !

Take TEF and JDIP money and give it tuh di 'People' !

Tun it up !

Money to the "people" may be better than multiple billions to YP Seaton in no-bid contracts, non-existent but paid for roads, multi billion dollar half mile stretches of road, refurbished offices with a/c (seedless grapes optional) etc etc...with undoubtedly more revelations to come as the new regime performs its inquisition

Dat sound lika "Big Bwoy" Crash Program tuh mi

The OCG is as corrupt as any other institution in Jamaica...you are insane to even suggest giving it prosecutorial power...insane...

Really?. I was of the impression that the current CG was doing a good job. In Jamaica, one indicator of that is everybody, from both sides, is upset with him. when Jamaican thieves are upset with you, it is not unreasonable to assume that you are doing something right.

Thief vex at thief...

Suh mi hear too.

Very disappointed to hear that, but a good source told me that.....

Poor Jamaica, so far from God, so close to the Unidedah States!

If I believed everything I hear , every Jamaican male is a B-Man and Bruce Golding is the best PM jamaica ever had ,THE DPP is doing a damm good job and Manley & Seaga were saints.

Give the OCG prosecutorail powers !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Man pay off the OCG to lef him alone...or yuh name end up inna newspaper...mi neva hear dat...mi sight it third party...

Mi hear Bruce compromised in more ways dan one , mi ear dat.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.