• Who really won, who really lost

Who really won, who really lost

Published: Friday | December 30, 2011

by Garth A. Rattray

Although the People's National Party (PNP) emerged victorious last night and, barring any unforeseen situations, the prime minister for the next five or so years will be Portia Simpson Miller, I am left to wonder, who really won and who really lost in this election? Did the politicians win as usual, and did the people lose once again?

The perpetuity of political misdirection came home forcibly to me when I was trapped on a minor road as the motorcade of a major political party noisily made its unruly way towards a rally venue. It didn't really matter which party commandeered that stretch of public thoroughfare for about 20 minutes - the hype and dangerous driving are common to both. The diehard followers, the hired crowds, the desperate faces, the economically challenged and the hangers-on are exploited by both major parties.

I must admit to being somewhat impressed with a fellow sidewalk refugee, a household helper, as she astutely remarked, "A so much people naah wuk?!" A few are indeed earning a living through self-employment or being employed to someone or somewhere.

However, after nearly half a century of Independence, many Jamaicans remain marginalised and disempowered, so they must survive by being associated with politics. Many are directly supported by the political machinery (through handouts) or indirectly (by being taken care of because of their political connections). For several generations of Jamaicans, politics is only a matter of enlightened self-interest.

I always wonder why politicians consider it a victory when they are mandated to take up the awesome responsibility/ burden of managing our country. Does self-actualisation play a big role in their running for public office (as Mr Holness' utterances have suggested) or is it about 'the party' (as Mrs Simpson Miller's utterances have suggested)? Are they in it for you and for me, or does winning mean the ability to acquire undisclosed cash and kind (as many Jamaicans feel)? Perhaps for some, winning allows them to serve at a higher level. Perhaps.

No significant growth

Since Jamaica's Independence in 1962, the PNP was at the helm for a total of about 26 years and the Jamaica Labour Party has been in control of the Government for a total of about 23 years. During that time, the world has made giant leaps in science and technology. Inevitably, Jamaica has been pulled along in the wake of modernisation.

But, have the lives of Jamaicans improved in keeping with the times, or have too many remained enslaved by, and dependent on, politics for their survival? In other words, have the people of this country ever won because of a general election, or do the candidates win and the electorate remain stepping stones and pawns to be used for the advancement of political parties and political careers?

Thanks to our slowly maturing electorate, a society becoming wary of bloodshed and our organised and vigilant security forces, this election was not accompanied by much violence. However, as usual, many millions were spent on the multitudes that make up the professional political retinue. This constitutes the same old practice of only giving temporary benefits from politics, but continues to perpetuate the dependency syndrome.

Because of the divisiveness, acrimony, intolerance, violence and dependency introduced by politics, the people of the poorer class are constantly beguiled into believing the illusion of progress, even though hundreds of thousands must still look to 'politics' for everyday survival.
    In spite of generations of political allegiance, the people living in 'zones of political exclusion' (garrison communities) are not truly free or independent because they remain intimidated and suppressed by politics.

Until all our citizenry can vote for what they think is best for the country and not for what they think is best for their personal survival, whichever party wins at polls like yesterday's, many Jamaicans will remain the real losers in this 'game' of politics.

Garth A. Rattray is a medical doctor with a family practice.
    Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com and garthrattray@gmail.com.

Last edited by Karl; December 30, 2011, 09:52 AM.

Yes... it doesn't matter who won, the piece is accurate... however, are we maturing as he suggests? at least in some respects? How often have we had a one-term govt?

This may be a point where there is a slight bend in the road to responsible governance... the people are watching and if you want to govern, you had better perform...regardless of extenuating circumstances . You had better start severing ties with "bad men". You had better not justify the ends with the means (SoE).. maybe, we can only hope, that politicians will begin to take their mandate seriously...unless they feel five years is enough to accumulate a fat pension..

Well - Let's see what this 2nd time around Portia brings?
      We sure as hell can 'take-off'.

I wish her all the best, for the sake of the Jamaican people...