BY INGRID BROWN Senior staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com
Thursday, December 29, 2011
A physically challenged vagrant attired in dirty clothes was escorted to the polling station at Seaward Primary and Junior High in West Central St Andrew where some voters in line instructed him who to vote for.
“Mek sure you put you X beside the bell, because Portia wouldn’t mek you get an ID but Andrew did,” one woman told him.
One person questioned how he had managed to still have his voter’s ID while another women volunteered that she had kept it safely for him.
He was promised house and food if he voted accordingly.
Meanwhile, voters were not deterred by the extremely long lines in which they have been waiting for more than an hour to cast their votes.
Occasionally a voter voiced aloud the concern that the line was not moving, but for the most part others waited patiently and orderly for their turn to cast a ballot.
One voter said a system must be put in place to allow those who have to go to work to vote first.
“Member say we deh yah, so we must free up di ting mek dem who haffi go work get fi vote,” he urged.
“Me no inna no haste fi vote because me no inna no rush fi go nowhere because is me yard me going when me leave here,” said one young woman who sat comfortably in the shade of a tree.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...#ixzz1hx4afZGf
Thursday, December 29, 2011
A physically challenged vagrant attired in dirty clothes was escorted to the polling station at Seaward Primary and Junior High in West Central St Andrew where some voters in line instructed him who to vote for.
“Mek sure you put you X beside the bell, because Portia wouldn’t mek you get an ID but Andrew did,” one woman told him.
One person questioned how he had managed to still have his voter’s ID while another women volunteered that she had kept it safely for him.
He was promised house and food if he voted accordingly.
Meanwhile, voters were not deterred by the extremely long lines in which they have been waiting for more than an hour to cast their votes.
Occasionally a voter voiced aloud the concern that the line was not moving, but for the most part others waited patiently and orderly for their turn to cast a ballot.
One voter said a system must be put in place to allow those who have to go to work to vote first.
“Member say we deh yah, so we must free up di ting mek dem who haffi go work get fi vote,” he urged.
“Me no inna no haste fi vote because me no inna no rush fi go nowhere because is me yard me going when me leave here,” said one young woman who sat comfortably in the shade of a tree.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...#ixzz1hx4afZGf