• At las smaddy accurate on why a PNP defeat is positive news

Bye Bye to Jurassic Yaad

Election result crucial for the hierarchy of both parties

One political commentator says the outcome of Thursday's General Election will be a crucial one for both the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the People’s National Party (PNP).

Dr. Paul Ashley says if the opposition party suffers a defeat it will have implications for Portia Simpson-Miller's Presidency as well as some long serving members.

“Not only will it be the end of Mrs. Simpson Miller, I think it will be the end of a number of the members of the PNP hierarchy who have been in office for 18 and a half years. I think they will retire gracefully even if they win their seats,” he said.

Dr. Ashley says it is a different scenario as far as the JLP is concerned.

“In terms of the JLP, Andrew Holness is fairly young, granted he was put there to win the election, but if he loses he has time to wheel and come again and it might be a learning experience. So it will be more critical for the PNP hierarchy than the JLP’s,” Dr. Ashley said.

Thats why the PNP must loose, not that the JLP is any better, but the option of a young vibrant opposition with hopefully different and fresh views can inject new life in our failed democracy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Thats why the PNP must loose, not that the JLP is any better, but the option of a young vibrant opposition with hopefully different and fresh views can inject new life in our failed democracy.
      Yes, there's a possibility of that...faint...but a possibility

Keep hope Alive

God Bless you X. I hope your father is as wise as you are.

I am tired of seeing the same old faces in politics running tings from when I was a school boy with their tired voices and empty promises about "prosperity". If the PNP loses, I doubt those dinosaurs will retire and leave politics gracefully.

we will see

Even when they lose, regardless of party, the dinosaurs want to run again. And they have the party internal pull to get the nod if they force the issue.

agreed... but the wind of generational change is not a Storm Inna Teacup

wouldn't the jlp be a young vibrant opposition... or, pearnel charles, karl samuda, kenneth baugh, mike henry and de oddas would mek dem too old... just trying tuh follow your logic...

Bye Bye to Jurassic Yaad

Election result crucial for the hierarchy of both parties

One political commentator says the outcome of Thursday's General Election will be a crucial one for both the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the People’s National Party (PNP).

Dr. Paul Ashley says if the opposition party suffers a defeat it will have implications for Portia Simpson-Miller's Presidency as well as some long serving members.

“Not only will it be the end of Mrs. Simpson Miller, I think it will be the end of a number of the members of the PNP hierarchy who have been in office for 18 and a half years. I think they will retire gracefully even if they win their seats,” he said.

Dr. Ashley says it is a different scenario as far as the JLP is concerned.

“In terms of the JLP, Andrew Holness is fairly young, granted he was put there to win the election, but if he loses he has time to wheel and come again and it might be a learning experience. So it will be more critical for the PNP hierarchy than the JLP’s,” Dr. Ashley said.
                    dr. ashley fails to develop his point...
                    should the jlp lose, wouldn't it also suggest the end of a number of the members of the jlp hierarchy...

this dr seems fixated on the superficial... where is the focus on what is good for the country... i would think social policy issues, creative ideas for growth and development, and governance would have been central in his argument, if he wanted to make a serious point...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                      wouldn't the jlp be a young vibrant opposition... or, pearnel charles, karl samuda, kenneth baugh, mike henry and de oddas would mek dem too old... just trying tuh follow your logic...
                      Jamaica is a VERY top-down society...especially in Politricks...the Prime Minister has tremendous power..relative to say..a US presidency where they're so many different power bases not beholden to the president

The JLP has partially un-clogged their pit toilet party by getting rid of One Liad and installing a new, as yet unspoiled leader... the PNP needs to do the same with their toilet

When the 2 tribes have new leaders...they might gain a new paradigm...that's a big MAY

But one thing's for sure...the old geezers on both sides aint ready.. that includes Mamma P

The parties have not fundamentally changed their positions regardless of leadership or membership.

I think if it's the age issue then he needs to look at the ages on both sides of the camp. Although Holness is young - is he that independent from the older heads? The question is also - why didn't they resign after the 2007 elections (PNP) and the JLP after the losses before that? They are all career politicians.

so you see the hypocrisy as well... it is people like these who would say they are not biased, when despite their proclamations, their actions and expressions say otherwise...

if he had looked at the age issue from both sides and offered a cogent argument i could take him more seriously... inadvertently, he only managed to expose his biased hypocrisy...

..it's contagious...