• Jamaican PM struggles in tight reelection race

Jamaican PM struggles in tight reelection race
    By Paul Reid (AFP) – 4 hours ago
    KINGSTON — Jamaica's youngest prime minister is locked in a tight campaign ahead of Thursday's elections, as voters fret over high unemployment, endemic corruption and crime.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness -- at 39, the youngest to lead the Caribbean nation of just under three million -- is standard-bearer for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), while Portia Simpson Miller, who was Jamaica's first female prime minister, will lead the People's National Party (PNP).

Polls conducted by Don Anderson -- who has correctly called the last three elections here -- showed the opposition PNP marginally ahead up to late last week, but most pollsters say the race is too close to call.

Read More: http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp...668554dd8fa.21

DEm farin press yah...ahh boy

Gi we a prediction on who a go win the election nuh? I hear Buntin & Holness could both lose dem seats and it is too close to call fi dem.

I am not a pollster so I will yield to the man who has done the best job since Carl Stone and has surpassed Carl with his accuracy

Done Anderson said on CVM last night that in the 51 seats they can call the PNP has 28 of those and 23 to the JLP.

Of the 12 other seats which are very close he said the opinion was edging towards the PNP winning eight of those including the seat held by deputy PM Ken Baugh who is running against Clinton Clarke in his first ever political campaign.

Clarke is a former Rusea's head boy and is the president of the PTA at Angels Primary and some one I know very well.

The one seat that Don Anderson did not give any opinion on is Central St James as he said they did not do much work there and being a new seat the re was no voting history to go with, I dont necessarily agree as the seat that Hay Webster will contest is new but the Gleaner was able to use the voting stats from the last election in the divisions and predict the PNP will win handily.

Anderson also said that from what they were seeing Damion the dread should win as should Bunting

lol ! woiiee !

The direct opposite of other polls.. yuh have dat in print anywhere suh wi can examine it.. like how dem dweet innah di gleanah ?

how yuh suh lie sick one ?

lol !! woiee !!

Di man seh 5 of 12 trending to PNP.. not 8 !

wheh yuh buy yuh reportah license ?

lol !

Ben, what don't you put together a well thought out paragraph if you have an opposing view. Thanks in advance...

lol

Same ting mi tell him bout spewing unsubstantiated "facts"...when a call him out him seh mi a hijack him thread

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    Ben, what don't you put together a well thought out paragraph if you have an opposing view. Thanks in advance...
                    That's a bridge too far

One mistake. The St Catherine seat that will be contested by Hay-Webster is not a new seat but one that has been affected adversely by boundary changes.

That would make it different from the brand new Central St James seat

Mea Culpa

I guess we will all see come Thursday night about 11pm...

but we see you misrepresenting the facts now.. why do we need to wait till Thursday ?

Are you threatening to engage in more misrepresentation ?

I do not counter sloppy propaganda with my pearls...