More Domino awards...(and prediction=JLP 50; PNP 13).

• More Domino awards...(and prediction=JLP 50; PNP 13).

More Domino awards

Published: Tuesday | December 27, 2011

BY Gordon Robinson

Again, these awards are mainly amusing. No haughty emails, please. Laugh now or forever hold your 'piece'.

The Dunce Award: The Madantz commission wins for adroitly turning a serious enquiry regarding a national injustice into a circus only to hear no evil; see no evil; and find no evil. To the Three See-And-Blind Mice, The Dunce's message is, "If a macca, mek it jook you!"

The Dunce-Move of the Year Award: G2K President Delano Sieveright wins. Sieve-like in name and reasoning, he postulated that many commentators pretend neutrality but favour the PNP. Exposing his contempt for our ability to discern, he demanded these imposters come out of their partiality closets. He didn't notice any sycophantic JLP commentators so failed to similarly caution them. Keep it up, Delano Sievewrong. Without you, what would comedians and cartoonists do?

My Journalism Awards
    The Beast Award: The Beast liked my sister from afar but feared trying to make her his 'beast' (1960/'70s male chauvinist slang for 'girlfriend'). This year, Kevin O'Brien Chang wins for his Lambert Brown-like yearning for the JLP. His sycophantic support for Driva rivalled St Aubyn Bartlett proportions.

Up to November 20, despite Driva's full retreat, Chang wrote: "Mr Golding has once more seen dismal failure turn into stunning success. Driven out by JLP 'gangs' into a seemingly fruitless NDM venture, he somehow ended up as JLP head and then prime minister. The same Coke extradition saga that likely made him untenable as prime minister produced Jamaica's largest homicide decline since 1981. And now his resignation in seeming disgrace has given a JLP Government that seemed dead and buried an excellent chance of being re-elected."

He actually likened Driva's manoeuvres to the dribbling skills of Maradona. I swear to God, these aren't things I can make up. His dexterity wasn't limited to being a print apologist. His prosaic defences of JLP transgressions on broadcast media made him the go-to guy for any anchor wanting a JLP spin on any issue.

Kevin, you're entitled to love JLP. But don't die wondering. Make it 'official'. Join up. Replace 'Damville' in Central Manchester.

The Dunce-Move of The Year Award: Simon 'The Jokester' Crosskill wins for his tasteless ridiculing of the defenceless Clifton 'Clif-twang' Brown. The Jokester had no apparent reason other than his victim's speech/language impediment which made him easy pickings. Then, as Clifton squirmed in his seat, fully aware he was the butt of the most crass and unworthy "humour" on public media, a callous Jokester persisted repeatedly inserting and twisting the knife of cruel ragging.

The Dunce Award: Many were called, but Garfield Burford was chosen for his prolix interview style and his awkward, unsuitable TV posture. Garfield, interviews are about the interviewee, not you. Your questions ramble on forever and frequently include your own answers. You're a bright youngster, Garfield. Sit up straight, watch tapes of Larry King, Bryant Gumble, Graham Norton or Robin Day. Memorise Robin Day's seminal advice: "A television interviewer isn't ... a debater, prosecutor, inquisitor, psychiatrist or third-degree expert, but ... a journalist seeking information on behalf of the public."

Finally, three serious awards:
    Rising Star Journalist of the Year: Young Columnist Din Duggan ('Yunga Din') scores big time. For a newspaper neophyte, he left the gates like Jackson with F. Geddes aboard (hands up, turfites who recall; no Dwight, not you) with a fresh, readable style and a unique perspective for which he's admirably unapologetic. But, mostly he wins for his ease of
    communications despite his robotic legal training. Well done, Yunga Din.

Journalist of the Year: Repeat winner, DIONNE JACKSON-MILLER, continues to impress. She's always prepared and in control. Her questions are crisp and relevant. She insists on straight answers. She's still head and shoulders above the rest. Her one-hour interview of Young Andrew was a tour de force that outshone all lame alternatives. I watched it twice.

Personality of the Year: CHRISTOPHER MICHAEL COKE. Who else? The entire Government revolved around him this year. Concern for his 'rights' destroyed a justice minister and a prime minister's careers. Several teams of legal luminaries spent an unconscionable amount of time on him. He dominated local and international media. Even after his incarceration, speculation as to what he might be saying and to who was obsessive. Take a bow, Dudus. You win. You and yu neighbour have changed at least 73 civilian lives forever.

My unscientific election prediction, based on my assumption of a rapidly maturing electorate? JLP 50; PNP 13. No fancy pollster required. Detailed reasons anon.

Peace and love.

Gordon Robinson is an attorney-at-law. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com.

Good read, but I wonder why he added the ridiculous prediction at the end?

Yeah it's a mystery

Again, these awards are mainly amusing. No haughty emails, please. Laugh now or forever hold your 'piece'.

PNP confident of victory

Published: Wednesday | December 28, 2011

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

By Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

Dr Peter Phillips, the campaign director for the People's National Party (PNP), is declaring his party will win a minimum of 37 seats in tomorrow's general election.

Addressing a press conference called by the PNP at its Old Hope Road, St Andrew, headquarters, Phillips said a recent poll was conducted by a well-known pollster which called 28 seats for the PNP and 23 for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP). The pollster, he claimed, said he was unable to call 12 seats.

"The PNP, according to (the pollster), is leading in the 12 constituencies which he is unable to call," Phillips said.

Phillips said: "I am not going to name any particular seat, suffice it to say that we are confident of holding what we have now and we have identified at least nine other seats that we will win for the People's National Party, including some of the new seats."

The PNP won 28 of the 60 seats in 2007 while the JLP won 32. The party is under pressure to hold the two Hanover seats, East Portland, Central Manchester and South St James.

The Gleaner's political team has predicted the JLP will win 34 of the 63 seats, while the PNP will win 29.

Phillips, while pointing to the last Gleaner-commissioned Bill Johnson poll - conducted on December 17 and 18 - which indicated a two percentage point lead for the PNP, said the party was confident of victory and that he was aware of predictions "which are not in keeping with the realities on the ground".

Said Phillips: "We will be doing everything on election day to prove the naysayers wrong."

Meanwhile, the PNP's election campaign officially ended yesterday after party President Portia Simpson Miller toured sections of St James and Westmoreland, hosted a spot meeting in West Central St Andrew and toured South West St Andrew.

Simpson Miller said the party was confident it would be successful at the polls based on "the people's acceptance of our message that the PNP, based on its record of performance and the plans we have articulated for the future, is the party to govern Jamaica and return it to sustained economic growth and prosperity".

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead2.html

Oh so you start rolls eyes now? Mind you know.

Please be respectful to me...Malcolm X might burst a blood vessel if you aren"t