Forumites..unnu watch it...life could change...

LOL!

Let's hope that whoever wins has a plan to move the country forward... I am NOT optimistic; our politics is too acrimonious and does not breed the kind of relationships that foster national growth. If the forum is a microcosm of JA politics we don't have to go any further to see what I am talking about. This is NOT the season for voices of reason... party politics tek ovah.

Willi, the Swiss have an interesting model of government don't they? I read about it somewhere once a long time ago...something about the grassroots having a major say in decisions?... anyway, we know nothing significant will change is JA, we just have to hope that the damage inflicted by whichever party gets into power is minimal... we can only hope.
      Last edited by Peter R; December 23, 2011, 12:44 AM.

Only the cabinet and big city/canton admin gets paid here, the rest is a volunteer Govt. Any local issue and U only need 5,000 signatures to force a referendum, 20,000 signatures for a National issue.

The communal Govt has the most day to day effect on your life and the Cantonal (county) Government gets the lion's share of taxes. The Federal Govt gets from half to one sixth of total taxes due. Each Canton sets their tax rate independently. Population is 8million.

This confederation has a 700 year history.

Bob, the same one who refused to perform with the B-Man PRINCE?

This has nothing to do with threatening heterosexual orientation. Nor specifically morality.

I told you before my reasoning is spiritual. If you want to take it offline, I will be willing, but this too deep fi discuss inna carnival.

Whoever posted this got it wrong. The irony was the women are exempt from the law. This has been discusssed for years.

Yeas Badone and vision too (will explain later). What hurts them most is that the prince dropped the ball and could not step up as a leader.

Yuh notice these days JLP supporters are boldly using the word b@ttyman? 3 nil ah kill dem.

Help is on the way!!!!

Yuh all of a sudden get comfortable with gays. Noice.

What are you talking about? Are you saying I should walk the streets and lynch people because they are gay? I should not sit in restaurants with people because they are gay?

What they do in private is their business. You can go out there with your lynch mob.

I feel the same way, PR. As a nation, we must get to a point where we support the government of the day and not our party. No way can we progress as country like this.

I have made an effort to tone down my support for the PNP. Mind you, they have made it easy for me to do that with some garbage and arrogance over the years. And certainly, when Bruce packed his bags and went, that made it a lot easier for me to support whichever government we choose. No way could I have supported anything led by that LIAD BWOY!

Anyway, that's how I see it. The road ahead is long and dark because we are too polarised. And that is why I think Portia failed as PM. I think she was popular enough to do some serious damage to partisan politics, but alas, she didn't do much to anything. Who cares if she reads from her notes or she lacks the polish of a Lisa Hanna, the woman could have made labourites wear tangerine if she knew how to work her popularity.

Sigh

Nothing will change because Ja is a PLANTOCRACY. The island is mired in laws based on a system of chattell slavery. PSM did the right thing because no matter how many govts. come and go the state of the people rmains the SAME.

Look at the 1929 video. People are still without running water in this day and age. It has to be trucked in. Tell me you didn't see this happening as boy in the country. Ja's wealth is not being circulated around the island. It's being given away just to hold the people in a state of dependency. IT MUST STOP NOW!

A few years ago I spoke about issues like water and roads and suggested that they should be a national priority! Remove those issues from our lazy-ass parliamentatians and those seeking office. Tiyad a it now! How dis yah road bad and dat deh road nuh good! We'll be hearing the same thing 50 years from now!!!

The govt of the day needs to just move on these issues and stop mek it easy for candidates to rail up a crowd.

Glad yuh see it. These deficiencies are used in elections to garner votes ( I'm speaking regardless of party now).

It's a sad state in this day and age when I would win just because of lack of running water.

Long time mi see it, Jawge. And when mi beyn mention it bout 2 years ago, people trace mi bout it. I think Lazie was one of them that said mi nah talk sense.

There should be a national plan, like a properly run JDIP, that outlines a plan to fix all roads, provide water and electricity to all areas. I think JPS' Rural Electrification Program tackles the last one I mentioned. But we need more like that, where it is not a political issue but a national one.

Not what I am talking about.

Ho you manage get that?

Oh yeah, you are the master of the non-sequitur. Carry on.