Forumites..unnu watch it...life could change...

I dont agree that hidden gays should run for office. Mek dem come out and if people vote i dem still, I am cool with that.
    This statement makes no sense at all. What does their sexual orientation have to do with the job they are elected to do?

Such a position would still continue to perpetuate the hate we see in Jamaica for these people to date.

I am kind of surprised by Rev Miller's stance too. I tought that as a man of God, he would be preaching the teachings of the good book which says "Let the wheat and the tares grow until the hour of harvest". It also goes on to say "Judge not, lest ye be judged".
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Rev Miller is an open JLP supporter?

go figure

Doan mek Ben start pon yuh enuh comrade
        DonOne, I call it how I see it. I don't take the side of any political party. I am not even sure which side of the political fence Ben sits on as I don't follow those discussions much.

Portia must be given credit for rising above the fray and take such a stand. Leadership has to start somewhere and she seems to be the one to exercise such leadership.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Got you. Please excuse my ignorance here. Obviously the Rev Al has his own axe to grind.

I dont believe in secret societies.
            It may not make sense to you because you may not have though deeply and CLEARLY about the issue. i believe I have. I beleive its a spiritual issue at its core.

Many people are excluded from running and there is no question of hate. I certainly dont hate them, not by a longshot. Dont mistake jokes and banter for serious positions.

The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.

You are free to disagree.

I still cannot fathom your reasoning. It is not about secret societies. You know that if these folks declare themselves as openly gay in the current climate in Jamaica, they may as well decide to give up their life. Jamaican people are not going to change overnight.

You have to be reasonable here Willi. I do not think one's sexual orientation has anything to do with their ability to lead and make decisions which are in the best interest of our people. We need to stop being so judgmental and let people live their lives. As Bob said "leave the judgemant to the most high".

I think living in the USA for close to 25 years, I have become more tolerant of people with age. When I was younger I think I felt the same way you do, but I have matured. . . I know no one can cause me to change my heterosexual orientation as I am firmly planted in my sexuality, so what is the beef? Morals? Well, we have to be consistent when it comes to the morality thing too. People do so many wrongs and we are just about morally bankrupt, but we become this bastion of morality when it comes to this subject. Such hypocrisy!

on a serious level willi, why should anyone have to state what their sexual orientation is before or after they run for office... why is that anyone's business... even if a person is not in favor of, or do not understand another person's proclivity for the alternate life choice, how does that affect their ability to conduct the business of the people... a person dont have to be in favor of the gay orientation to recognize their right to live as human beings with the same privileges afforded other human beings... portia has demonstrated bold leadership... she may not be able to speak without notes but she has common sense and leadership skills...

Pastor Tilla....good to 'see' you. Been awhile.

Thank you for so eloquently expressing your view. The same people with high morals are the same ones pillaging the public purse, getting 'insider' jobs without due process, overcharging for goods or sticking up a little old lady, not to mention killing innocent people.

DonOne, I call it how I see it. I don't take the side of any political party. I am not even sure which side of the political fence Ben sits on as I don't follow those discussions much.

Portia must be given credit for rising above the fray and take such a stand. Leadership has to start somewhere and she seems to be the one to exercise such leadership.
                      Yuh nuh know wha Ben ah defen??

Dat sound wuss dan wen Gelding claim seh im neva kno seh di US Embassy move fram Oxford Road to Liguanea

... a brethren sent me an email boss....says he visit the forum from time to time but can't tek the almshouse..

How yuh do boss? I have been very busy, so I just pass through from time to time, read a few posts and run again.

Hope you have a Merry Christmas.

As I said, I hardly follow discussions of a political nature. I read the football forum majority of the times and the other sports forums. I might have read something by Ben yes, but cannot recall with which party he is affiliated. I might just be getting old and forgetful here though.

Same to you! Been on vac so I've been on watching the ride but soon I'll be gone again and only dropping in. All the best!

ok boss