• Jamaica in 1929

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9vvm...source=message

Inneresting...nice pastoral scenes

But not so nice scenes of White masters and Black peons

How little things have changed

I was going to say it has not changed much.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Why you have to involve BBBB.....Bu..Bu..?

when last yuh guh downtown ???

bredrin.. yuh a big man.. STAP CHAT EFFERY PON DI SITE !!

yuh right, in fact there are more a55es on the road than ever! LOL

Respek sah, yuh is di man fi true.

It reminds me of Mobay when it was once called the friendly city. Right up to mid 80s tourists would just mill about with locals is if they are Jakans. Mick Jagger lived in Mobay for months and all he was called is "big mouth" mick. Chuck Norris would be at sunsplash standing just a few feet from me in the crowd with the locals and no problem.

Suddenly things have changed; we now hear that tourists and locals can't mix because they will be harassed, yada yada. They must stay on a compound from these savage natives. When they venture out "nat even a star apple mi can sell dem, dem nuh waan nutten fi nyam, dem nuh waan nuh flowas, dem nuh waan nuh carving nutten!"

God is love though, time is the master.

Uh Oh

Chuck Norris would be at sunsplash standing just a few feet from me in the crowd with the locals and no problem.

Suddenly things have changed; we now hear that tourists and locals can't mix because they will be harassed, yada yada.
                There had better not be a problem, boss. Jamaicans often act stupid, but I cannot think of a single Jamaican – not even the baddest of the bad – who would consider starting a problem in this case. Maybe in their nightmares, but not in real life…. No way!

You missed the point Mobay isn't about that. It was all a cool vines and everyone chillin.Very few incidents, tourists would walk abouteverywhere in Mobay even the toughest neighbourhoods.

It was called the FRIENDLY CITY for a reason.

den 'Black Man Time' came along and the rest is history....

Missing My Point

You missed the point Mobay isn't about that. It was all a cool vines and everyone chillin.Very few incidents, tourists would walk abouteverywhere in Mobay even the toughest neighbourhoods.

It was called the FRIENDLY CITY for a reason.
                      You, my friend, are the one who completely missed the point! Of course I know what Mobay was like! In fact, I know what all of Jamaica was like! I was simply trying to add a humourous touch to your post.

On the other hand, I long realized that the use of (the English) language isn’t a strong point on this message board. But for heaven’s sake, lighten up, man!

Are you from Mobay?

or did you live there for some time?

Nice pics. My uncle was a tram car conductor on Kings Street back in those days, before migrating to Harlem, USA in the 30s. He is still alive and well in NYC, and has a good collection of old photos of old Kingston.

Are tourists harassed in Jamaica? If so, why?