A GREAT Concert, In My Opinion!

oy badman .... will be in your neck of the woods ... kinda ... later this week. CT

I'm Happy You Enjoyed It!

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
      leland sklar, the grand wizard... what a bass player... couple months ago i was at a sub shop near berkley and was talking to a group of young black youths who were all berkley students... they had formed a band were raving about the skill of their bass player... he said he is not good until he could play like sklar...
      You are most welcome, Baddaz. I’m very happy that you enjoyed the Toto performance!

As far as Leland Sklar is concerned, rumour has it that he had only about two days in which to learn Toto’s many songs for this 2007 tour. The man’s album credits as a studio bass player is so many its ridiculous. He’s a brilliant player who can play virtually any style of music, which is why he has played on albums by virtually everyone who is important in American music, regardless of race!

Just look at his incredible record credits as a bass player!
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leland_Sklar

As far as the group Toto is concerned, I’ve been a fan since 1982, when they came out with their biggest selling album, “Toto IV.” I used to play “Rosanna” for hours. You can well imagine how devastated I was when I learnt of the outstanding drummer (jazz critics used to rave over him) Jeff Porcaro’s death in 1992, a death which many believe to be related to over-use of cocaine. Porcaro was by any measure an excellent drummer! (I have no problem, though, with his replacement, the very experienced British drummer Simon Philips).

When I first came across this performance, I was shocked to see Greg Phillinganes with the band, and singing lead at that! I’ve been aware from back in the 1980s of Greg’s work as an A-List LA session keyboard player. He is obviously one of Quincy Jones’ cherished musicians, and Greg has played on albums by many top singers, including Michael Jackson (all of Michael’s albums after the Jackson 5 era), Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, the Bee Gees, Paul Simon, and others too numerous to mention.

Indeed a wonderful performance for those lucky people in Paris!

ok... bring yuh warmest clothes... heard it will be bitta... cold that is, not medicine... lol...

geezas faada ......... mi warmest clothes a mi tracksuit!

Agreed

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            vocals is not his strength... nowhere near the original lead singer... appreciable for a live performance, still... his keyboard skill is better than the original though... played with more soul...
            Fully agree with everything you’ve said here, Baddaz.

David Paich (the original lead singer) did a better job with the song probably because he’s also a better vocalist than Greg Phillinganes. Also, while they are both studio keyboard players, Greg is the more creative and probably the more advanced musician.

After David Paich got tired of decades of touring and retired to spend time with those he loved, the writing was on the wall for Toto. Eventually lead guitarist Steve Lukather, who had never missed a single tour with the band for three decades, decided to call it a day as well and so Toto disbanded.

lol... woieeeee... dat was funny... yuh betta link wid hortical an si if him can dash a koat inna yuh direction... too funny...

mi a look fi guh sumweh warm like jamaica nexx week afta de election...

democracy is overrated ..... mi get outvoted!!!

it would be interesting to know what you think i was pondering, if i was pondering at all...

sooo overated, when yuh cant have yur way... know the feeling...

~sigh~