I question why tuition at High School and got beaten up her

But the modern PNP has argued against it!

Socialist and cpaitalist labels are red herrings in today's world.

you realise that most of the capitalist countries have free education through high school including the US?

eeehhhh..

suh who a de rawse hypocrite den... suh it was found to be unsustainable given the country's economic condition... this same JLP went hard against it... the pnp relented and attempted to modify 'free' allowing for some contribution from parents, subsidized education... the REAL hypocrite jlp took it because it was popular and was a way for them to get elected... it wasn't based on prudence... now, the imf is hinting at reducing the govt obligations and now they are trying to give the impression that they will not abandon the program... you remember 'no new taxes' and reality forced a change... watch the ride...

holness is only trying to buy election votes... i dont expect you to agree willi... lol...

Both a dem a hypocrite by definition. What kinda question that?

You figget Manley March pon Seaga with Students gainst the introduction of University Cess? Soon after him win and what him tell the students.

Sttteeeuppps

Sell dat somewhere else Baddaz. Mi dun know di whole a dem from long time. Dem all feddah dem nest and the rest get what the duck get.

Gwaan stick out yuh neck fi dem. I wont.

Which part of Bunting and Golding ah socialist?

Steeeuuupps. Try another ist whey start with Opportun....

Step mek dem tun yuh inna prekkeh. Bruk out the pocorn and watch the show. Unless you have a spot at the tough, the show is all yuh aggo get. LoL

Start singing

Oh the games people play now

Education should be free? Where? Which planet you live pon?

Actually every where but Jamaica the Labour Party is socialist, dem confused.

OK Mr. Smarts, are we talking about free education here?
                      Last edited by Assasin; December 19, 2011, 05:11 PM.

IMO educatiion should be free for ALL, that is NO TUITION to be paid by ANY student. As Assassin says the Tax Authority needs to find other ways to tax the rich, otherwise you're creating a whole new bureaucracy to manage who pays and who doesn't pay.

No education system I know of is totally "free"... there are always needs and wants that are not covered by government subsidy.

I think for the purposes of this thread "free education" means "no tuition".

and how do you translate that to our Jamaican situation, today?

..translate "what"? I will admit I am not fully up on the Jamaican situation that you refer to, as i don't know exactly what you mean...

My statement above was not an endorsement nor criticism of any PARTY policy but stating what I think an education principle should be... if it isn't already so.

what i find funny, is whenever the jlp is found to be a hypocrite on a particular issue, inevitably the response is 'both a dem a hypocrite'... where is the courage to ascribe the hypocrite title on the jlp on this specific issue... lol...

I submit that while education can be subsidised by governmnet there is noway any governmnet will be able in the Jamaica we live right now to provide this so called free education.

Not even Manley and the PNP were able to do it..I went to Cornwall in 1976 and by fourth form we were given vouchers to pay some fees at BNS, there were books to buy and more costs involved in the educational system.