• I question why tuition at High School and got beaten up her

Holness firm on free tuition, health care

BY GARFIELD MYERS Editor-at-Large South/Central Bureau myersg@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, December 19, 2011

JUNCTION, St Elizabeth — Prime Minister Andrew Holness Friday night stood by his party's policies of free tuition in public schools and free health care in the public health sector, suggesting they will remain in place should his party win the December 29 election.
    "I am very passionate about education, and they coulda talk till dem blue, free tuition will remain for the Jamaican people...," Holness told thousands of Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters in Junction, South East St Elizabeth.

Prime Minister and Jamaica Labour Party leader Andrew Holness addressing a large crowd of supporters at an election rally in Junction, St Elizabeth Friday night. (Photos: Gregory Bennett)

1/1

Regarding health care, Holness lashed the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) for limiting free access to those 18 years and under in their last administration, describing it as "foolishness".
    Holness said the eradication of poverty would be an important goal of a JLP administration, post-December 29, and the provision of social services, including "access to health care" would be an important aspect of that drive.
    Holness claimed that as a result of free tuition over the last four years "the number of students registered in school, and attending school up to fifth form, has moved from 70 per cent of the high school population to now 80 per cent of the high school population..."
    The prime minister argued that "If you ask me, isn't it better to have more students attending school and finishing school up to fifth form, my answer is yes, and if you have more students in school, then as far as I am concerned things already better..."
    Regarding poverty, Holness said job creation would be a cornerstone of the policy.
    However, against the backdrop of the PNP's emergency employment programme, JEEP, Holness argued that the provision of jobs and the eradication of poverty could not be sustainably achieved by a policy of "hand-outs" but by facilitating the growth of business and self-help. "...You don't end poverty by give away, instead of giving the man the fish you teach him how to fish," the prime minister said.
    Education was crucial to this facilitation process, he said.
    Holness claimed that because the PNP is "so ideologically confused — they not sure if they [are] socialist or capitalist — they don't know how to address this issue of poverty. First thing you have to do is educate people (because) there is no educated country that is poor". He argued that "by virtue of our emphasis on education we have started to remove poverty from Jamaican landscape".
    Holness, whose father is a St Elizabeth native, said the people of the parish were an example to the nation of how poverty could be overcome by industriousness and ingenuity. The practice of dry farming in the southern sections of the parish, which had enabled farmers to produce food crops even in periods of drought, was a manifestation of that ingenuity, he said.
    "The role of government is to support people, provide them with education, provide them with critical services, support small business and the people, once you give them that basis they will find their way," Holness said.
    "Government must support people..., it's not about hand-outs, it's about giving you the ability to earn and find your own way in life. This is what I want to do as prime minister and leader," he added.
    He reaffirmed that the Government was in talks with bauxite/alumina companies regarding the reopening of plants that have been closed since 2009 because of plummeting metal prices and high energy costs. Alpart in St Elizabeth and Kirkvine in Manchester remain closed.
    "They (bauxite/alumina companies) plan to reopen the plants and we are working closely with them so that (people) can get back their jobs and start earning their income again," he said.
    Claiming that there were no fundamental differences in terms of outlined solutions between the Government and Opposition to the country's problems, Holness said the voting public would have to make up their minds based on which party was better able to implement available options.
    "What you have to decide is who will lead this country in the next 50 years of our independence... this election is about the future of your children..." (and) who had the "capacity, vision, skill and knowledge" to lead.
    He claimed the JLP was the obvious choice and that even those "who are not supporting the party, want us to win..."

Portia love poor peeple?

When you get a chance, talk to any high school teacher or better a board member and you will see that 'free education' does not exist because the government CANNOT afford to subsidize the schools 100%.

I can speak for Cornwall College and say that without the substantial contributions from the various Old Boys chapters things would be even more difficult.

Which government can sustain it 100%? Certainly not here in America. There will always be problem but in my opinion children shouldn't have to worry about school fees. That is why we pay taxes and have PTA, Old people assocaiation etc. fi school.

Were these schools maintaining themselves 100% when fees were been charged??

How many of us couldn't go to school if fees were charged in the late 70's, early 80's?

I know about the Old Students input, but here comes the PM raising the issue again.

At least you are consistent in your position, so what is the PM saying, defend that now?

It is politics and the PNP saying it should be revisited so ofcourse he is wanting to take some credit.

Thanks to Manley for it because I know that without it nuff of my schoolmates and myself couldn't finish Titchfield, driving 20-30 miles everyday and having to feed yourself. Remember even when you Daddy have money it nuh mean say a fi you either so some people might be labelled as not poor but it nuh mean that the fee a go pay.

Which Manley is that?

Micheal Manley and "free education".

My opinion is children shouldn't have to choose between going a school and nothing. The least we can do is give them a basic education.

My opinion on that and free healthcare will never change. We must find a way to pay for it. Many here in America will differ but if you look at all the other modern capitalist countries like Canada, Great Britain, Japan etc. They find a way to do it effectively.

I am very liberal when it comes to a lot of social issue but believe in good economic prinicples as well.

I am OK with it being free for education at primary and secondary level.

For healthcare I still say there needs to be a nominal fee in most cases, if only to prevent abuse and waste. People tend to totally abuse free services but charge them even a smalls and them will think twice about it because there is a cost to them. That is the main purpose of insurance co-pays, it is not the money itself its to prevent people from abusing the benefit.

It is the abuse that I do not like but i agree that children should not be denied a basic education because of school fees.
                    Last edited by Islandman; December 19, 2011, 11:14 AM.

You obviously are a very confused man who cant help yourself because of your sentimental ties to certain dogma that you dont even understand.

There are many parents who can and should play a part financially and otherwise in their children's education while on the other side there are some who will not be able to even with the best of efforts..the trick i dare says is like taxation is to find a common ground.

For a moment I thought you were talking about Norman Manley, who open up education back in the 50's for poor people, ooops there goes my age showing.

I simply don't believe that. Education should be free. You know how many parent(especially dads) who have it but will not pay it for their kids? They rather go drink guiness and gal it out?

There are other ways you can charge taxes. In the US they charge taxes on the value of your property for education.

Again with or without free education we still have problems in our system.

In my opinion Healthcare should be free but properly managed. You shouldn't have to decide between dinner and going to hospital. When I say my neighbours in Ja who told me that if it never free they would have been dead, although sadly one passed last year.

I still remember doctors taking people's cow for services. If it is free and properly run a lot of the abuse of the system can be taken care of. You have to understand that deciding to bypass the doctor with a pain in the chest becuase you broke maybe a fatal mistake.

Anyway I am not trying to convince you still but we need to get sick people in and we need to make the system better as well.

free education... lol... pnp ting dat... frowned upon by the jlp when it was proposed and implemented... now the jlp want to claim that... who is the socialist and who is the capitalist... yuh know what, mek mi stop...