• Great Post, Mo! Respect!

Originally posted by Mosiah [URL
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLYyipaBg8w[/url]
    Let’s ignore all the negative comments in Mosiah’s original thread below! Those posters are not genuine dancehall fans. (Sidebar: is the phrase “educated dancehall fan” an oxymoron?)

Like it or not, these women and men in the YouTube video are our people – not Bajans or Trinis or St Lucians or GTs, but Jamaican women and men! Truthfully, every time I see scenarios like this, I search deep inside and realize that maybe education attainment and property ownership should be the primary criteria for voting in our nationwide elections. So, Down with universal adult suffrage mi seh!! Up with ghettoism and our beloved dancehall culture!

But wait, are the elected representatives any different?? I’m gettin’ a bit confused now. (Why does George Orwell’s “Animal Farm” keeps popping into my -- to steal from Shakespeare’s Macbeth, Act II -- “heat-opressed brain”? -- Is it a result of the remnants of last night’s tequila? Damn, it can’t be. I have never tasted tequila in my life! Breasts, yes, but never tequila!!)

But back to the topic at hand: Forward Jamdown! Forward eva, backward neva!!

And thank you for this post, Mo (as an unapologetic breast man, Il ove the breast shots in particular)! Now, where is my damn t-t-t-tequila?!

so is it Dancehall to blame?

You see the political stage??? Most of them inna politics before dancehall even invented and behave the same way.

Mike Henry (Uncle Mike) listens to classical music...don't tell Historian that though...

A Music Video For You!

Mike Henry (Uncle Mike) listens to classical music...don't tell Historian that though...
        The noun “dancehall” is probably the third most emotive on this forum, right behind the names Bruce Golding and Portia Simpson-Miller.

I knew that by simply including this nine-letter, two syllable noun I would bring out the real music lovers! The supreme paradox is that the biggest critics of uncouth behavior amongst our leaders are the greatest defenders of dancehall and that babylon of babylons: Sting.

And speaking of paradox, do you gentlemen exist and operate in a state of perpetual confusion, a sort of permanent cloud nine? Just asking.

But since we appear to be in a YouTube video-posting mode this morning, here’s one for Assasin and Bricktop. Hope you gentlemen enjoy it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEFAkZKNR6Q

You might want to switch to threaded view...that could not possibly be a response to my post

The words Lavoisier and comrade are the emotive avoids of the month

the fact is you keep on blaming dancehall for the current ills in Jamaica and music when many of these ills have been there long before dancehall and if we don't deal with it will be there long after dancehall.

A lot of people use to tell em them nuh understand nuff a the words in Reggae but now them a little to it bigtime. It is ironic that you choose a calypso song which is copying some of the same dancehall tempo and tracks.

Think, Man, Think!!

the fact is you keep on blaming dancehall for the current ills in Jamaica and music when many of these ills have been there long before dancehall and if we don't deal with it will be there long after dancehall.

A lot of people use to tell em them nuh understand nuff a the words in Reggae but now them a little to it bigtime. It is ironic that you choose a calypso song which is copying some of the same dancehall tempo and tracks.
                Remember what I have pointed out before. The issue at hand is not dancehall music as a genre, but rather, what actually is being produced by those within the dancehall industry. I have sought to make this matter clear long ago.

Now, I fully agree with you that “many of these ills” predated the dancehall era. However, what dancehall has done, which no other genre of Jamaican music has ever done is to spread crudity and crass behavior throughout the length and breadth of the Caribbean, ensuring that virtually no society remains untouched by our gutter culture! Make no mistake, dancehall today is not about talent or ability; it is about “man haffi eat a food”!

In your passionate defense of the garbage currently emanating from the dancehall studios in Kingston and St. Andrew, have you realized that Jamaica’s popular music culture is the only one that Caribbean governments and others see as a threat to the orderly development of their societies? Not long ago, for example, I posted comments by the Barbadian minister of education on what he saw as the clear and present danger posed by this scourge.

By the way, the irony you referred to is not on me; it is on the Trinidadian soca singer (Red Plastic Bag). But have you ever considered that he deliberately chose a quasi-dancehall tempo to add significance to his derision of the dancehall artists?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  However, what dancehall has done, which no other genre of Jamaican music has ever done is to spread crudity and crass behavior throughout the length and breadth of the Caribbean, ensuring that virtually no society remains untouched by our gutter culture!

In your passionate defense of the garbage currently emanating from the dancehall studios in Kingston and St. Andrew, have you realized that Jamaica’s popular music culture is the only one that Caribbean governments and others see as a threat to the orderly development of their societies?
                  Who sang rebel music again?

Is it Dancehall culture per se or the whole culture of guns/drugs/music/politics/materialism???? Yes, dancehall may have popularized it but that behaviour was always 'resident evil'.

BTW Red Plastic Bag is Bajan.

The man cut and paste a url and yu seh great post? A wha dis?

"Now, I fully agree with you that “many of these ills” predated the dancehall era. However, what dancehall has done, which no other genre of Jamaican music has ever done is to spread crudity and crass behavior throughout the length and breadth of the Caribbean, ensuring that virtually no society remains untouched by our gutter culture! Make no mistake, dancehall today is not about talent or ability; it is about “man haffi eat a food”!"

This where I differ from you. You giving dancehall too much weight. Long before dancehall there were American movies and culture which has more influence on the caribbean than any Jamaican DJ. You forget everybody wanted to be Lee Van Cliff, Trinity, scarface, and all the great American gangster. To blame it all on dancehall is not right.

Many of those same government tried to stop reggae before dancehall and some didn't want to give dreadlocks entry into their country anyway.

Missing the point!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                          The man cut and paste a url and yu seh great post? A wha dis?
                          For a man who writes so well, figures of speech such as sarcasm and innuendo are obviously lost on you! The ability to distinguish between literal language and figurative language is an immensely important characteristic!

My entire first post in this thread, including the subject line, is reeking wih sarcasm!

..and mine wasn't? lol. "Never be fooled by the obvious".