Since 2003 and it's the same thing...check this...

• Since 2003 and it's the same thing...check this...

This was back in 2003, I got this email:

That was a good discussion on the Forum and I am pleased to see that the respondents had some insights into the general problem facing Jamaica and some views on the shortfalls of the all inclusive mode of tourism which as you pointed out is only one aspect of the issue. Also, the good general tone of bantering and agreement/disagreement with respect seems to now be the norm on RBSC, so hats off to RBSC.

However, I would like to add to the debate coming out of the Canterbury discussion, the deeper theme of a society (Jamaica) evolving into a kleptocracy, where new roles and relationships have been established for individual participation in the society. Predators and victims occupy the same space and swiftly interchange roles when conditions permit. Good men/women are silent or dead.

These roles range from the political elite, the dons, the corrupt and corrupting businesspersons, taxpayers (on whose backs corruption is borne), the poor working class and the children whose patrimony and right to live in a just society is being abrogated daily. Add to this, the "criminal element" who fall into two categories, those who are the "dirty hands" of respected businesspersons (including women) and politicians and the controllers of the drug trade;and the inchoate mass of unorganized petty thieves and thrill killers who rent a gun when it suits them, and kill whoever they please, but run the risk of being brought to justice by the dons if these events occur in his/her domain. Winners and losers, all participate in the destruction of the society by permitting themselves to be manipulated.

The coercive and oppressive power of the state is provided by the "bullwhip" police and what has become a very efficient tax collection machinery, designed to suck every last drop of blood from the working poor to enrich the beneficiaries of mis-allocated resources.

In this re-organization of the social order, we have rolled back the hands of time to achieve a new reality, which mirrors that of plantation society. We have allowed our leaders over the years to pursue a path of injustice, one where our populace has been re-enslaved. There really is little concern for the poor and their suffering. In the news clips that accompany descriptions of the mayhem, has anyone taken time to notice the squalor in which a great number of our people live and children are being raised, and the lack of facilities?

The people who complain, protest and sometimes demonstrate are not wicked, they are just suffering. As in the days of slavery, and in the days of the Morant Bay rebellion, the condition of the people cry out for remedy.

Beautiful Jamaica, land we love, is a hollow shell, a new Matrix, a false reality based on lies and denial of the conditions of the people, an eggshell ready to implode unless the embryo of its destruction hatches first, giving rise to either anarchy or a new social order with no guarantee that it will be more just than the one it replaced. Bring justice to the poor, oppressed and enslaved, break the shackles of the Neo-Slavery, free the people! Yes, we need to create a new Jamaica.

I am truly sorry for Ja. Watching the debate two days ago any astute observer can see the whole dynamics of Ja. The observer would who would in a small way protect the interest of the poor and othe other who is placed there to prevent this from happening.

One question was asked and the way it was answered by the two debaters told me a lot about Ja. I could easily deduced who was financing who to keep out who at all cost.

If nothing is done to ease the pressure on the poor; the social powder keg will be lit. A group has skillfully manipulated the masses into thinking JPS is the source of their problems. They should go up to cast and ask some engineering questions. What is the real population size of Ja and when this population is at its peak the power that they consume, how is the cost spread overall. No matter what, if you consume more power it takes more work to produce this power and it's being spread across to all. Check the surcharge before the meter bill kicks in.

There is a big 800 pound Gorilla in the room that most just don't want to talk about.

I see a manipulation in effect. Everyone is talking about the years prior to 07 (forgetting that the then opposition had all the ansers). You see long debates about FINSAC, 1960 and 1980 but nothing about 07 through now. It's as if this period just did not exist.

Now I see why Ja's education system is being short changed (based on the above). Ja will pay for this as time progresses. The only thing may (and I say may) save Ja from a Cuban colonization is the US treaty. It sad to think that Cuba was 80% illiterate in the 50s. Now these illiterate peasants are poised to dominate the region.

Social Kontrak mi seh!!!!!!!

Jawge stay the hell away from big man post.....tiyaad a unnuh wid unnuh political motive.....so jps ....and who a keep who...out a power with financing is the problem...a group has skillfully manipulate di masses ... and if fixed ,thats the solution ?

Di same group outta power never duh nuh better wid 18 years in power , yuh tink a now wi get sheg since di labourites tek over ?

Sick a unnuh iyah...lazie soon come wid di alternative B.S.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Oh and you the symbol of high moral virtues have no motive. Just your honest , good love for the people of JA.

You know what's my motive? My motive is to stave off the impending crisis that is looming. This way I can visit Ja and not wtch the carnage on Tv from the states.

What is the real population size of Ja? How much money is being reovered from the wear and tear on municpalities in the service sector? Since you say I 'm political: When Eddie was PM and tourist board had to beg people with private homes to take in guests, was JPS EVER an issue?

You need to seriously be quiet because you are blind.

Your motive is corrupt ,like the party you believe is being heavily financied to be out of power, the same financiers are the ones that financied them for 18 years.

Suh yuh arguement dead.In other words purely political .Yuh tink a some new outside CIA/Russian/Cuban/Chinese conspiracy.lef it alone man yuh & lazie and your ilk are corrupt.

Jackmandora mi nuh choose none.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yuh right fi say is anansi story yuh ah talk. Yuh an Audley ah di same.

What is the real population size of Ja? Based on the number of people netering and leaving the service sector how much is recovered to offset the wear and tear on the municipalities? When tourist had to stay in private homes was the JPS an issue?

Forget the psycho babble and answer the above.

lol...ah wha dis Faada?

Past time for that.

Touche.

How miuch more taxation the poor can take when they are not benefiting from a brand they created.

The powder keg will be lit.

as if that will put the truth away.

You are hopeless, PNP WILL FIX IT SOON WITH A JEEP !

DEM SOON GET FINANCING FROM DI SAME PEOPLE WHO A FINANCE DI JLP & BE IN POWA, BECAUSE DI POPULATION SIZE WILL DECREASE WID MIGRATION , THE WEAR & TEAR WILL SUBSIDE , TOURIST WILL STAY IN BRAND NEW HOTELS.

Leave it alone , lazie ...opps Jawge.

Put dem inna di JEEP!!!!

brand new hotels that taxpayers' money built. Yet the diaspora nor local civil servants (police , nurse and teachers) cannot have shares in it. Granted the diaspora puts in 1 Billion USD annually in Ja (none of the elite group does this). Thanks genius for your half witted response although you never answered my question.
                              Last edited by Jawge; December 17, 2011, 10:43 AM.