documentary ) on this site. Lo and behold the minister of culture, tourism and entertainment is advocating that this documentary should be shown for a period in JA. I am elated to see the opposition working and agreeing with the govt. on an issue of national interest. Mrs Assamba should be lauded for her efforts here (same for Mr.Holness). This is not a hand out because Ja's history can be checked to show that since slavery Ja's has struggled with illiteracy not to mention quality education (we can't even pass the first hurdle). This in turn has stifled our productivity levels. If Ja can get England to fund its education system (with emphasis on the physical sciences and mathematics) I think our fore parents would say "paid in full". This money would be used to fund secondary schools in the rural interior of JA (schools such as Maldon, Muschette et al these are the ones I know of but can follow my line of reasoning). It's imperative that these secondary schools are equipped with quality sciencelabs, quality computer labs, solid nutrition programs for those in need and a good library with quality books and high speed internet access. Well paid teachers (with graduate degrees in their particular field, at times phds too). The tertiary institutions would have to be revised from faculty to teaching curiculum and an extension of UWI and CAST would have to be made in the county of Cornwall (seeing that this is where the second highest rate of population concentration would be) this way commute and boarding expenses can be addressed. A target should be set where at least 95% of all secondary school graduates would hold at leastan associate degree (this would not be difficult for a nation of 2.6 million). I see nothing wrong in going about this for reparations. BTW ah ah no dis woman dem ah try get out over St.Ann say she not doing anything? Is wha wrong wid us black negroes? aah boy Mrs. Assamba is working for the future of the nation an because some nuh get dem belly full, yuh hear all kind ah eediat argument.I really wish we get that money for the education system cause it nuh pretty right now.
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>'Pay us for slave labour'</SPAN>
<SPAN class=Subheadline>Gov't, Opposition agree on need for reparations / $52 billion would suffice, says Holness</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>by Balford Henry Sunday Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
Sunday, February 18, 2007
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<P class=StoryText align=justify>Jamaica, which gained international acclaim for its part in the fight against South African Apartheid, is getting ready to throw itself behind the controversial Reparations Movement seeking compensation for chattel slavery.
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>ASSAMBA. we believe the movement cannot be strictly Jamaican, bearing in mind our common concerns and history</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Both the Government and Opposition appeared last week to agree on the need for reparations from Britain out of its profits from the Transatlantic Slave Trade, which uprooted millions of Africans to give forced labour in the so-called New World, including Jamaica.<P class=StoryText align=justify>While the Government has not yet named a figure that would be sufficient compensation to Jamaicans, the Opposition suggested that the $52-billion price tagged to the Education Transformation project would suffice.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The task force report says we need $52 billion to finance the transformation. We, as Jamaicans, should say to the British Government, and the case is quite clearly laid out, that our Parliament should make a direct claim on the British Government for the
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>'Pay us for slave labour'</SPAN>
<SPAN class=Subheadline>Gov't, Opposition agree on need for reparations / $52 billion would suffice, says Holness</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>by Balford Henry Sunday Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
Sunday, February 18, 2007
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<P class=StoryText align=justify>Jamaica, which gained international acclaim for its part in the fight against South African Apartheid, is getting ready to throw itself behind the controversial Reparations Movement seeking compensation for chattel slavery.
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>ASSAMBA. we believe the movement cannot be strictly Jamaican, bearing in mind our common concerns and history</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Both the Government and Opposition appeared last week to agree on the need for reparations from Britain out of its profits from the Transatlantic Slave Trade, which uprooted millions of Africans to give forced labour in the so-called New World, including Jamaica.<P class=StoryText align=justify>While the Government has not yet named a figure that would be sufficient compensation to Jamaicans, the Opposition suggested that the $52-billion price tagged to the Education Transformation project would suffice.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The task force report says we need $52 billion to finance the transformation. We, as Jamaicans, should say to the British Government, and the case is quite clearly laid out, that our Parliament should make a direct claim on the British Government for the