• Copa Airlines flies into Montego Bay

Thursday, December 15, 2011

MONTEGO BAY, St James — THE resort city of Montego Bay this week welcomed the inaugural flight of Copa Airlines, with 45 passengers and crew members.
    The commercial flight which came from Panama's Tocumen International Airport, arrived at the Sangster International Airport at about 11:15 am on Sunday.
    Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett (right) places a beaded necklace around the neck of travel consultant Anastasia Makara (left), while mayor of Montego Bay Charles Sinclair looks on. Makara was the first passenger on Sunday to disembark the inaugural flight of Copa Airlines from Panama’s Tocumen International to Montego Bay.
    1/1
    It signalled the start of twice- weekly service by Copa Airlines to Montego Bay, which should boost Jamaica's tourist arrivals for the rest of the year.
    The new service will provide the necessary airline seats connecting Panama and the rest of Latin America to Jamaica.
    With a fleet of 73 planes, Copa Airlines is projecting that, by the end of the year, they would have added nine new destinations to its present route network, providing a total of 293 daily flights to 49 cities in 28 countries across the American continent.
    Minister of Tourism Edmund Bartlett, in an address at a ceremony to officially welcome the airline to the Montego Bay, underscored the importance of partnerships with airlines such as Copa, noting that the emerging tourism markets of South America are being viewed by his ministry as a source of inbound air traffic to be tapped into, to cover eventualities within the traditional markets.
    "So, it is against that background that we looked hard and long, to see what was the best medium, what was the best carrier, what provided the best fit for Jamaica at this time; what was most cost effective and what would give the efficiencies that we require to enable us to make that incursion and to do it quickly," he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...#ixzz1geExCc27

Gwaan Bartlett!

Sorry, Don1! Yuh were tekking too long!

..and here I was saying you were happy to find another route to TT. Copa is a good airline and will CA a run for their money..have to pass through Panama though...was checking their website...may have to overnight...but still competitive...no habla espanol?

73 planes?? how big is Panama again? What did we do with our national carrier again? I think Copa is privately owned though (publicly traded) I have looked at the Copa site in the past couple months looking into flights to Bogota and Lima from Trinidad... it costs about $650 US to get to Panama and only marginally more to fly to those two destinations... no stopover though unless your connecting flight is the next day... the only other option is to fly to Miami and then back south...and then you need a visa if you dont have a US or other passport...

Anyway, good for MoBay... ¡ aprendamos todos español!

Copa also flies into MCO (Orlando) from POS...when you taking your Disney trip..good fares too. Easy than MIA or FLL.

lol

Just don't fly any airline to Tegucigalpa, Honduras, one of the most dangerous airports in the world. The pilot must make a steep descending right turn to land.