• Finally a social contract. LOL

Our manifesto makes firm commitments, says Portia

Published: Thursday | December 15, 2011 11 Comments

People's National Party President (PNP) Portia Simpson Miller presents a copy of the manifesto in Braille to Derrick Palmer during the launch of the PNP's 2011 election manifesto at the Wyndham hotel in New Kingston yesterday. - Norman Grindley/Chief Photographer

by Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter
    PRESIDENT of the People's National Party (PNP), Portia Simpson Miller, yesterday said her party's manifesto was designed to facilitate economic growth.
    "A manifesto is not worth anything if it is just lies and empty promises. Our manifesto is a set of firm commitments made with the people for the people," Simpson Miller said during yesterday's launch of the document.
    "It is our social contract with the Jamaican people," she added.
    Lamenting rising poverty and the increase in the country's debt stock, Simpson Miller said the PNP has no alternative but to restore hope to Jamaicans.
    Need to restore economy
    "We must restore an economy that has declined by five per cent compared to where it was just four years ago," she said.
    Simpson Miller said the Jamaica Labour Party administration has pursued a policy of "insincerity, lack of consultation and disrespect for labour".
    She said: "We will restore the role of labour as respected partners in

... negotiations"

"Social Contrack " we seh...

The way how i see it , tief nuh love tief wid long bag....!What I am hearing is the JLP put on a piece of tiefing over the 4 years , and dem naah share, unlike like di PNP when dem tief dem share a likkle bit with the poor.

A suh mi get it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A PNP politician said that the JLP man dem nuh have nuh sense. When you thief you must be smart about it.

LOL...wow ...thats our politricks....the truth !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wonder if that was part of the manifesto?

JLP manifesto no come out yet.