• Crawford Has Right To Be Suspicious

THE EDITOR, Sir:

DAMION CRAWFORD has every right to be suspicious of the 'phantom' candidate who was nominated in the constituency he seeks to represent. Of the six independent candidates who were nominated across the entire island on nomination day, how likely is it that someone with the same name and initials as Mr Crawford would chose to run in East Rural St Andrew?

Should he ignore the fact this impostor is not known by anyone in the constituency, and no one even knows what he looks like?

Should he ignore the fact that the independent candidate specifically requested the symbol of a 'Lion's Head' to represent him on the ballot, knowing full well that the symbol's association with Rastafari, and the fact that Mr Crawford is a Rastafarian, could confuse voters?

Should he ignore the fact that this 'phantom candidate' has released a manifesto, 'the 5-4-3-2-1' plan, in which he plagiarises Mr Crawford's '3-2-1' plan and reproduces it as his own?

In spite of all that has happened, Mr Crawford has chosen to be the bigger man, and has chosen to remain above the fray.

But I am not running for office. So I can speak truth to power without fear. This is nothing more than a deliberate attempt to confuse voters and split the vote. Woe be unto any leader who seeks to misinform, deceive, and attempt to lead the people astray.

Keep holding firm, Mr Crawford (the real one).

Pablo Thomas

Kingston 7

The real one???
    What a presumptiousness!

Damion would be an idiot to resist what he cant change. Him fo concentrate on winning the seat and ensuring that his people rise above any confusion.

The move is HIGHLY legal.

Di man even live inna di constituency, and I hear that Damion does not.

Who really is the carpetbagger?

the man live a Grants Pen

OK, so I guess Damion should keep beating his head against the wall?

Or should he seize his 2nd chance? Memba if not for the yute swiing, him wouldnt even get a seat fi contest.

Carpe diem...

yuh nuh read the letter

In spite of all that has happened, Mr Crawford has chosen to be the bigger man, and has chosen to remain above the fray.

who seh him a beat him head

What bigger man?

It should not even be up for consideration.
            The move was perfectly legal and we should understand that any eligible citizen can and should be nominated, so that JLPNP can be kept on their toes.

people have the right to speculate......and any well thinking person can see that.........this was a TRICK

everything is not BLACK AND WHITE big man

NUH HAV NOTHING TO DO WITH LEGAL OR ILLEGAL

So if its legal, and we agree, why waste time?

Who was actually nominated first?

So what if it was a trick? What is the best way to handle such a trick?

legal does not make it right. but i am not surprised that you would not have a problem with this underhanded and dirty method being employed by the JLP to confuse voters. oh, yes, it is also legal!

the 2 a dem nuh real?

Underhanded and dirty?

Legal dont mek it right?

So unconstitutional dont mek it wrong then?

Yuh deh pon an anti-JLP crusade (clearly with some justification), so much till yuh blind to the failings of the other side.

Again, read slowly. It legal, cannot be contested, so therefore....

if you say so, Willi. if you say so...

As U wish...

are you asking a serious question? or yuh just saying??!?!