PNP cries foul over nomination of second Damion Crawford

huh?!!! please, don't decimate what little respect is left. my comment is on respect of damions .......nuff said. is hard to be "honest" with an agenda.

i run my jokes as mi si fit ... regardless of who ..... yes. you expect too much to think i have sacred cows like you!

Dis one sweeter than Bricky & Skeng. To think we say politics no good fi nutten.

Hilarious...this above comment...your intended joke..wouldn't make the Improv...keep the day job...you sound a bit intense today....take a walk by the sea and inhale some ozone....and relax....

sometimes dem funny sometimes not ... that is one thing but jah know mi resent da original remark deh from yuh ... maybe if it was someone else mi woulda expec it but a suh. damage done.

lol

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
              An aura of mystery yesterday continued to cast a shadow over Damion Crawford, the independent candidate for East Rural St Andrew.

The Gleaner yesterday went in search of the man with the same name as the People's National Party's (PNP) more popular candidate for the constituency, but 'independent' Crawford remained an enigma yesterday when the newspaper was greeted with stone-faced silence at his home.

The Gleaner was hot on the trail of the elusive candidate who lives in the heart of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) stronghold of Grants Pen in the North East St Andrew constituency which, until the recent dissolution of Parliament, had been represented by Delroy Chuck.

The heightened curiosity over the mystery man, who disappeared soon after he was nominated on Monday, was not present in Grants Pen and his girlfriend refused to speak. Neighbours told the news team that 'independent' Crawford had left for work earlier in the day.

In the meantime, the PNP's Damion Crawford, yesterday summoned journalists to a press conference to air his concerns about "a number of irregularities and breaches which have tainted the integrity of the electoral process in the East Rural St Andrew constituency".

However, the press conference was postponed soon after, citing "new details emerging in the matter".

The Gleaner has recorded at least two previous incidents in which persons with the same name were nominated in the same constituency.

In 2002, two persons named Patrick Roberts were nominated in similar fashion, with one being the PNP candidate now facing off against Prime Minister Andrew Holness and the other an independent.

The Carter Center, which observed the election, made note of the two Roberts during the election.

Attempt to confuse

"Interestingly, supporters wearing JLP green accompanied the 'independent' Patrick Roberts on nomination day, leading many to posit that this nomination was an attempt to confuse voters," the election watchdog stated in a report.

Political historian Troy Caine told The Gleaner that, in 1949, two persons with the surname 'Morris' were nominated to contest the election in South East St James.

Caine said the "name game" heightened in 1978 when six women emerged with the surname Thompson to challenge the PNP's Dudley Thompson in a by-election, after David Coore had resigned.

He said the Electoral Office of Jamaica (EOJ) got wind of the plot, overturned the election, and held another.

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com
              Dis come in like The Hunt for Green December

Papcawn Time!!! LOL

No hard feelings...the first cut is the deepest...

will be no more cuts

Gutter politics???

Gutrter politics is firing gun and intimidating voters. Gutter politics is hijacking the democratic process by stealing and stuffing ballot boxes.

Regain your perspective man.

The man has an ABSOLUTE right to run for whatever reason. That is indisputable.

I have no skin in this game, just dealing with reality. No need to get hysterical.

number 2, the sequel!

LoL

What kind of politics is spreading a false news report?

Wait deh?

It was not gutter politics to know seh certain greeners was running with farrin nationality and not say a word until dem win. Nugh stragedy dat? Didn't the PNP have a legal obligation to inform when dem the the law being broken UP FRONT like is the obligation of any citizen?

Stop gwaan like say both sides dont assault morality and bend di law fi suit dem interest. Common assault.

Anyway, what I see is the most peaceful and law abiding carnival in decades, so at least we have made solid improvement on that front.

Finally, why we assume seh people are so dumb as to not know how to cast a simple vote.....

Almshouse deh on both sides Willi..never disputed that...

While you are at it, what good high school he attend.

i heard him went to spain as a sailor, hear the name bustamante and like and so it was .... school??!!! busta?!