The Depressing Math Black Hole

• The Depressing Math Black Hole

So Don1's daughter is interested in a future Math degree...uncertainty shrouds whether it's a pure or applied choice

So we go last Friday to an event at the NYU Math Dept to see what it's about... Don1 wishes to de-mystify the resident brainiacs & their home for her benefit

So we scan the venue...about 200 professors, students and admin staff over the course of the evelin.... nat even 1 Black person apart from us and a security guy

So depressing

Were any brown people there? If not that is the real travesty...
    Last edited by Bricktop; December 12, 2011, 07:52 PM.

Stats say less than 1% of blacks (ikcluding brown people bricky) hold advance degrees in math and Science. She should get some nice scholarship for math. Math degree is the future.

too bad in America unuh all BLACK

congrats. Tell her to represent.

you mean no chiney nor indian neida???

Tell her do Engineering instead...involves lots of math and is a professional degree...can do the PE or post grad....lot of the maths people I know end up in accounting/insurance/heuristics...kinda boring...
              Plus more flexibility from Eng. Advised my son 3 years ago and he was a maths specialist - he hasn't looked back and enjoying it (including programming etc.)...will graduate next year in EE...I could link you to a Jamaican scholar (Prof) of repute in the US university system...

Good advice!

Here are some sites:
                  http://www.math.buffalo.edu/mad/Rese...maticians.html

http://www.maa.org/careers/

Demand in the states is increasing for math majors because of the complexities of algorithms needed to drive artificial intelligence, nano tech et al.
                  Even if you are an engineering major here you will need to minor in math because vector calc and diffrential eq. isn't enough to grasp the abstract symmetries in quantum physics, not to mention networks in comp sci. Most financial institutions want to devlop their own cryptograms too.

My friend son is majoring in Chem engr. and he is taking on advance math courses beyond those required (things keep evolving). Just my opinion on the latest trend.

Yeah but at least minor in math. Helps with graduate work at the top schools.

yeah. There are more lucrative jobs especially at the Bacholars and Masters level for engineers.

mi alma mater nah gwaan too shabby!

I tell you, it sad. Black America need a Digital Yard type project too.

Ah bwoy, as dem say at some likkle school inna Kingston, work is burning in the field

no congrats in order at the moment as this is just informational

sentiment appreciloved tho

you mean no chiney nor indian neida???
                              lots