Woiiie Pooortia Mi Belly

it would mean that everday yuh get up yuh have to face the people you represent,

err...it definitely would not mean that. While you can legislate a residency requirement... it is impossible/impractical to legislate actual occupancy

9/7/2011

TRENTON With less than two weeks to go before county clerks need to put together ballots for the November general election, a federal judge said Wednesday that the former track star Carl Lewis should not be on them. U.S. District Court Judge Noel Hillman praised Lewis, a nine-time gold medalist, and his desire to run for state Senate, but he refused to overturn Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno’s decision to keep Lewis off the ballot. She said he did not meet the state’s four-year residency requirement for the office.
        "The plaintiff is a man of great and inspiring achievement, justifiably held in high regard, and possessed of promise for the future," Hillman wrote in a decision that was filed Tuesday and made public Wednesday.

---

residency nuh mean dat dem live dere... rent an apartment or buy a small property... get some bills and residency establish... anerica and jamaica a two diffrant sitten, fi a whole heap a reason...

Thank you. We haffe recognize dat and find solutions that fit the situation.

Well dem can establish residency there, no? We haffi think outside the box.

it also happen in America. I know at town that had 6 people running for mayor and only two had actual residence inside the city. The others owned or rented some building.

The bottom line is absentee MPs who don't have a stake in the communities is the problem.

Nuff inna it!

One of the problems, yes. Certainly not the only one. But establishing an unenforcable law will not fix that.

The PEOPLE and how them vote haffe fix that.

Why get caught up in talking about a law and its enforcement in a country where there is selective enforcement of laws in the first place? Maybe you we wish to pass a law that would not add value to the society? A society is better served when an elected official is a resident of a community.

i know! dem tink Vaz waan fi live inna dem deh rural bush place deh? wid suh much black people? dem have tennis court out deh?!?!

cho man!

Ok sah. Just think you focusing on the wrong priority, thats all.

Maybe after 12 years of JLP.. den yuh can talk bout 'gentrification'..

right now yuh in dreamland..

I don't see any saints running fi Parliament anytime soon.. I don't see any saints period.. well.. maybe Faddah Ho Lung..