• The Election and the economy

PNP policies unclear

The PNP has not been as clear and decisive as Andrew Holness has been on its economic philosophy, leading The Gleaner, in an editorial last Thursday, to jab party spokesman on the economy, Peter Phillips, about his reticence. But the PNP has no incentive to spend much time in a serious intellectual engagement on the economy, as it suspects it can ride to power on a wave of allegations of scandals, corruption, lying, "the wickedness of this Government" and "hard time for poor people". Those of us in media who are unrestrained by party-political timetables and agendas must freely engage in the necessary discourse on this country's economic options.

Read article at .. http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...us/focus3.html

The Election and the economy - Referendum on the economy

The Debt

It is true that interest rates have been at their lowest in more than 40 years. It is also true that the exchange rate has remained stable after a massive depreciation in the earlier parts of the last four years. In 2007, the exchange rate was J$69:US$1; in the last 15 months, it has settled at J$86:US$1. It is also true that the inflation rate is low, and in single digit and the net international reserves is just under US$2 billion, which gives us the cushion of more than 12 weeks of imports, a figure that is above the international benchmark.

Critically, while all these things have happened, the number one problem - the high debt stock - has worsened. In 2006, the debt stock stood at roughly J$990 billion; as at August 2011, the debt stock was J$1.6 trillion. So, in four years, we have amassed debt to the tune of J$175 billion per year, which is about J$480 million per day. This is very worrying, since we have not seen the equivalent investments in physical and human infrastructure that will help us to generate the growth to pay for this massive and burdensome debt.

More at .... http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...us/focus4.html

"yuh mash it and ah go mash it up again" is this serious intellectual engagemant for you? Or yuh want more? Yuh see di debate Lazie

I saw the debate ... and she is correct. This forum don't give a 45 sec rebuttal limit .... and this isn't Warren Newby ... so don't tek up wha yuh cyaan handle.

1972 after taking over an economy that had double digit growth, the economy depreciated by 25% under Manley. Yuh nuh call dat mash up?

In the 90s the high interest rate policy of the PNP gov't caused over 40,000 companies to locked down, yuh nuh call dat mash up?

Under the PNP Jamaica was regarded as the murder capital of the world ... ....

40,000 companies

weh u a seh lazie

Jamaica have a population of 2 million

40 000 companies OMG

prove that fi mi

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
            40,000 companies

weh u a seh lazie

Jamaica have a population of 2 million

40 000 companies OMG

prove that fi mi
            I don't have to prove anything to anyone ... if you had followed the Finsac Enquiry you'd be better informed.

So that was a qualified serious intellectual answer.Yes?

40 000

yes u have to

u really believe 40,000 companies get lock dung

and people nuh rize up like the 1865 Morant bay rebellion ?

40 000

yes u have to

u really believe 40,000 companies get lock dung

and people nuh rize up like the 1865 Morant bay rebellion ?
                  Just imagine it happened under a JLP admin .... thats the only way some of you will see things.

all I am saying is that 40,000

can not be true

Jamaica is a small country enuh

if that did really happen......................

I was asking willi the same question when he said this. JLP has a MO in thlie dept. so what else is new.

all I am saying is that 40,000

can not be true

Jamaica is a small country enuh

if that did really happen......................
                        ... again, thats what came out at the FINSAC ENQUIRY! If the offical report has another figure, then I'll work with that. as of now its 40,000.

If you want to dispute it, thats your right as a PNP activist.

what u mean "came out"

people can say anything in an ENQUIRY

but is it true?

how can U prove it?

tek off u green glasses

40 000 COMPANIES lazie................u CRAZIE

what u mean "came out"

people can say anything in an ENQUIRY

but is it true?

how can U prove it?

tek off u green glasses

40 000 COMPANIES lazie................u CRAZIE
                            ....bredren ... the companies to which all the debts were sold was at the enquiry. Believe what you wish .... its the same way ppl disputed that the earth wasn't flat.

bredrin...........40,000 cannot be true.........THINK