Bachelors degree now required to teach

• Bachelors degree now required to teach

Cabinet has approved higher entry requirements for persons seeking to go into the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]teaching [COLOR=blue !important]profession[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].

Prospective teachers will now need to obtain a bachelors degree instead of the current diploma to enter the classroom.

Speaking at yesterday’s post cabinet press briefing Senator Arthur Williams, Minister with responsibility for Information, said this move is in keeping with recommendations from the task force on [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]education [COLOR=blue !important]reform[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].

He said the Education Act will be amended to give effect to the change.

Senator Williams added that the move to upgrade the entry requirements for the teaching profession, is in response to the critical need to raise the competency of teachers.

u a campaign hard COMRADE lol

... good thing or a bad thing?

good thing and them muss mek them affi have masters fi teach 6th form like Ardenne

Is this really necessary? Back in the day when institutions like Shortwood and Mico produced teachers - they were teachers of quality who could hold their own with anyone at any level - and they were good teachers. What it seems has happened is diluting of the training at these institutions along with emergence of other training institutions that compete.
          Also, the Bachelors degree seems to have been diluted as well. Well we all want quality educators and education, in the final run, the question is - is this the solution?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Is this really necessary? Back in the day when institutions like Shortwood and Mico produced teachers - they were teachers of quality who could hold their own with anyone at any level - and they were good teachers. What it seems has happened is diluting of the training at these institutions along with emergence of other training institutions that compete.
            Also, the Bachelors degree seems to have been diluted as well. Well we all want quality educators and education, in the final run, the question is - is this the solution?
            .... so its a bad thing?

Just saying something is not going to make it happen. It will be great when we reach the stage in Jamaica when ALL teachers have formal teacher training - a straight bachelors degree is not enough. Certainly coupled with the Dip Ed. or some other certification for teaching.
              Also, at what level of teaching are we talking here - pre-school, primary, secondary? Certainly, qualified and experienced teachers should be able to teach at least up to 3rd form - without a 1st degree, especially if there is a speciality.
              Are we so blessed in Jamaica that all teachers must have a degree??? What about our nurses and Physios? Where do you stop from an Associate Degree or Diploma to that level? Just asking?
              Last edited by Exile; December 8, 2011, 07:08 PM.

secondary level

Good questions Exile.

Ohh, I see

Yuh is a Hardend man. LoL

I agree.. Overkill for basic school and up to say grade 9.

Very Good Questions

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                        Just saying something is not going to make it happen. It will be great when we reach the stage in Jamaica when ALL teachers have formal teacher training - a straight bachelors degree is not enough. Certainly coupled with the Dip Ed. or some other certification for teaching.
                        Also, at what level of teaching are we talking here - pre-school, primary, secondary? Certainly, qualified and experienced teachers should be able to teach at least up to 3rd form - without a 1st degree, especially if there is a speciality.
                        Are we so blessed in Jamaica that all teachers must have a degree??? What about our nurses and Physios? Where do you stop from an Associate Degree or Diploma to that level? Just asking?
                        Very good questions, Exile!

The fact is that teacher training, along with experience in instruction and classroom management, is the key ingredient. Another fact is that having a first-degree doesn’t necessarily make one an expert in the subject that he/she teaches.

Chute.

Xile made a good post.

wait.. people a tek instruction from teacha widout degree ??

minimum requirement at good school..

Didn't help you, did it?