Election Date is December 29

• Election Date is December 29

December 29 is the date Jamaicans will cast their vote as PM Holness made the announcement at the JLP's mass meeting in Mandeville, Manchester moments ago. December 12 nomination day...

member mi told u LOL

Looking Ahead

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      December 29 is the date Jamaicans will cast their vote as PM Holness made the announcement at the JLP's mass meeting in Mandeville, Manchester moments ago. December 12 nomination day...
      Yep, although the exact date is a surprise to very few people.

The current government has done a commendable job so far in the face of the ongoing international economic recession, and also in the inroads it has made in the fight against crime (among other things). There is a tremendous amount of things yet to be done, but at the present time Prime Minister Andrew Holness represents Jamaica’s best chance for the forward movement of our country.

These are desperate days, but a win at this time by Holness and his crew will most likely usher in a refreshing new phase in the continuing evolution of Jamaica’s society, economy and politics.

The question is, will Jamaicans make the obviously best choice?

Holness is an unknown quantity so your prognostication is on thin ice...perhaps he is capable...perhaps he is not. But whatever his capability the imperative for Jamaica should be reform not the failed orthodoxy we have seen.

You appear to see the JLP through a rose...no a green tinted lens. Failing to mention the extreme levels of corruption at the highest offices in the land that we saw by this regime...which corruption incidentally was/is upheld by Holness... is a telling omission on your part.

Neither tribe has shown the tools necessary to take Jamaica forward and the so called commendable job by the JLP recently is trademarked with orthodox or "conservative" policies which in the JLP tradition favors those with capital and victimizes those without....we have seen this right wing play book before..and it doesn't end pretty

Such policies are precisely why after the so called boom years of the 1960s there was tremendous privation and suffering as the myopic & corrupt elite groups were aided and abetted by the JLP regimes of the day in siphoning off the economic cream...leaving too little to trickle down to the masses...leading to cries of "Betta Mus Come".
        The same phenomenon was at play when a so called by some successful prime minister Seaga was unceremoniously rejected repeatedly after winning 1 contested election... a Pyrrhic victory after he actively participated in decimating his own country in alliance with foreign powers

Whoever happens to win this Tribal Beauty Contest the Jamaican imperative is reform....not more of the bull shiit
        Last edited by Don1; December 5, 2011, 12:50 AM.

So who was it that posted that rubbish that elections could not legally be held till 2012 because of some process or the other?

They should have asked me if they can keep it on I and I Birthday, anyhow ah suh some people like to Dovetail on de i earthstrong...Lucae mi seh...Rusea's mi seh again...

You tend to be very analytical but what has this government done to get your endorsement??? PM Golding pussyfooted around the extradition of Dudus Coke, eventually reneged and security forces had to KILL over 70 Jamaicans before he was captured. He refused to resign. Then there were countless cries of corruption.
              Holness just came in and has done nothing different. It's the same old same ole.
              What inroads in crime have been made except the killing of the Tivoli crime syndicate which was not voluntarily done?
              Why is Holdness the best chance??? Does he have a track record of performance or arewe hoping he will do better???

a commendable job so far in the face of the ongoing international economic recession, and also in the inroads it has made in the fight against crime (among other things)...lolol

LOL...Holness should be the PM because we dont have a clue as to what we are getting ,that says alot about the PNP and past JLP leaders ,for all we know he could be worse or at best just as bad,my hope is the fight for power will lead to a fight against corruption where they expose each other and their own personal dirty laundry to prove to the jamaican people they can give us good governance.

The 1st party that seriously advocates for the OCG to get prosecutorial powers will get my vote.
                Last edited by Sir X; December 5, 2011, 05:37 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think Holness will betray the existing political order.

Typical Spain Town man. Able to infiltrate Town, and is very comfortable with Country, but with neither side able to fully understand the workings of Spain. Same like how Jakans understand the us BUT they dont fully get us. Intrepid class of politician this. Interesting times ahead.

Wow...willi you have faith,i hope he gets the time to prove you right and us cynics wrong.

Its imperative for Holness to be the next PM if only for (change) sake.

That in itself is a ma.ssive psychological boost to the nations psyche

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                      Yep, although the exact date is a surprise to very few people.

The current government has done a commendable job so far in the face of the ongoing international economic recession, and also in the inroads it has made in the fight against crime (among other things). There is a tremendous amount of things yet to be done, but at the present time Prime Minister Andrew Holness represents Jamaica’s best chance for the forward movement of our country.

These are desperate days, but a win at this time by Holness and his crew will most likely usher in a refreshing new phase in the continuing evolution of Jamaica’s society, economy and politics.

The question is, will Jamaicans make the obviously best choice?

Historian ... you are certainly brave.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                        You tend to be very analytical but what has this government done to get your endorsement??? PM Golding pussyfooted around the extradition of Dudus Coke, eventually reneged and security forces had to KILL over 70 Jamaicans before he was captured. He refused to resign. Then there were countless cries of corruption.
                        Holness just came in and has done nothing different. It's the same old same ole.
                        What inroads in crime have been made except the killing of the Tivoli crime syndicate which was not voluntarily done?
                        Why is Holdness the best chance??? Does he have a track record of performance or arewe hoping he will do better???

HAHAHA .... the man has always been "very analytical" but because he holds a view different from yours he is no longer ...."very analytical"

Portia Simpson is not qualified to be prime minister.

Right on sir, is one ting mi use fi measure di two and is di stablization ah di dollah, an di economic time periods. Massive devaluation in time of economic boom and stabilization in global recession dis mek di comparison based on performance a run away fi one team

Not faith at all.

Intuition....

This is the fuss PM we ever had that was not vetted by the old order properly. Who here did even know which school he went to and if he was even married, how many kids, which church he went to, etc.

Dis ah shape up like how el dictador Franco in Spain groom Juan Carlos and when the time came, history showed how JCarlos acted...
                              Di whole a dem tek him as prekeh and as a malleable "loadah man", both JLP and PNP owl guard. I think them mek a very sad mistake.

Dis time next year I think I will be chukling non-stop.

Memba mi toll yuh!
                              I come from Spain Town myself.