23 Haitians land in Jamaica

• 23 Haitians land in Jamaica

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>23 Haitians land in Jamaica</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Friday, February 16, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=350 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>PORT ANTONIO, Portland - The Port Antonio police, immigration and health officials were kept busy yesterday morning when a group of 23 Haitians - 19 men and four women - washed up on Jamaica's shores in this 20-foot sail boat. The Haitians told Jamaican officials that they were fleeing their homeland because of "violence and kidnapping". The members of the group, whose ages ranged from 17 to 44, said they were sailing to The Bahamas, but went off course and ended up here. Among the group was a father and son, and a man who claimed that this was his third trip to Jamaica. Dwayne Campbell, Portland CCN officer, said the Haitians were spotted by fishermen, who alerted the police. Caram Ramtulla, chief public health inspector for Portland, said yesterday that the Haitians were under quarantine "in the protection of the police and the health authorities".<P class=StoryText align=justify>(Photo: Everard Owen)

RE: 23 Haitians land in Jamaica

Well if I weren't a strong person, I

would be tarred, feathered and cast into bonfire when I was saying to send them home. Now minister phillips is making haste to get them back home. Obviously it was a trojan horse that came to our shores; we are now battling guuns for drugs via Haiti.

unuh see how Portie water pretty:P

MdmeX (2/15/2007)<P class=StoryText align=justify>The Haitians told Jamaican officials that they were fleeing their homeland because of "violence and kidnapping".
        <P class=StoryText align=justify>Ooops! Wrong shore! :w00t:

Jawge (2/16/2007)Well if I weren't a strong person, I

would be tarred, feathered and cast into bonfire when I was saying to send them home. Now minister phillips is making haste to get them back home. Obviously it was a trojan horse that came to our shores; we are now battling guuns for drugs via Haiti.
          <DIV></DIV><DIV>Aren't you just elated that the US authorities didn't do the same thing to you! And what kind of mayhem have we Jamaicans wreaked on the good folk of America?</DIV>

MdmeX (2/15/2007)[chief public health inspector for Portland, said yesterday that the Haitians were under quarantine "in the protection of the police and the health authorities".

Healthcare is in the dark ages in Haiti, and most kids are not immunized at birth, and communicable diseases are rampant in Haiti. When I went to Haiti a few years, the bus that I traveled in was sprayed with disinfectant at the border in Dominican Republic.

Mo please don not use your experiences to

judge others. I did not enter the states illegally via a boat (to this day i would still be living Ja) I came to the states on Air J (one way ticket) with a brown envelope under my arms. For those Jakans that wreak havoc; I would say your reasoning is shallow. Jakans aren't the only ethnic group that has broken the law in the states. I find it amusing that you are comparing the US to Jamica.