• A lonely voice cries for focus on Science & Technology

PIOJ To Focus On Science And Technology Policy Framework
    Published: Friday | December 2, 20114 Comments

Deputy Director General, Planning Institute of Jamaica (PIOJ), Everton McFarlane, has said the agency will be placing greater focus on enhancing the country's science and technology policy framework.

The move, he contends, is within the context of Jamaica's Growth Inducement Strategy, the development and implementation of which is being led by the PIOJ.

The strategy aims to improve the rate of real gross domestic product (GDP) growth in the medium term to ensure that gains from the Government's reform agenda and the standby arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) are optimised and sustained.

McFarlane, who was addressing a panel discussion at the Wyndham Kingston hotel on Tuesday under the theme, 'Innovate or Die', gave the PIOJ's undertaking and commitment to incorporating science and technology "more explicitly" within the Growth Inducement Strategy, pointing out that "it is something that we have recognised, and that we will take on".

"We also commit to work with our (fellow) stakeholders ... to listen, and to incorporate those ideas (generated) going forward. We also commit to take this issue and to advocate it, to use our influence to place it squarely on the policy agenda, and to see just how far we can take it," he assured.

Fragmented and incomplete

Describing the existing policy framework as "fragmented" and "incomplete" he argued that, as policymakers, "we have not, perhaps, advocated as strongly as we should with regards to the measures that need to be taken to advance science and technology, and I think that's a feature that runs right across the public sector."

He cited the need to "build out" the policy framework to develop a culture of science and technology and innovation throughout all levels of the society. "It should aid in building world-class capacity for cutting-edge research and development and innovation, and should facilitate a bridge between ideas, research and development, and the commercialisation of inventions," he said.

Additionally, McFarlane said, the policy should facilitate strengthening of private- and public-sector institutions to undertake research and development, and assist in greater utilisation of indigenous resources to address local and, where possible, international challenges, relative to Jamaica.

Further, he said, the policy should support "strong" intellectual property rights, arguing that "people need to be able to have a framework that safeguards their ability to reap the returns from (this) very risky activity (science and technology investments)".

The forum, jointly hosted by the Scientific Research Council (SRC), Bureau of Standards Jamaica, and the PIOJ, formed part of the activities marking November as Science and Technology Month.

He seems to be thinking along the right lines.

Make every Ministerial advisor a Campion product and Jamaica reach fuss world in 10 years..

Yuh tink Tuffy ah get inspiration outtah him dreams ?

If wi cyaan get our top Civil Servants trained at Harvard, Stanford and MIT (Singapore Model) we can do di next best ting...

or we can continue to get wi bredrin from K.C. and J.C. and di Intellectual Ghetto dat nevah leave Jamaica more dan fi guh shopping ah Miami or guh one convention..

Try and add VALUE to the discussion and stop this tribal Campion rant. Jamaica's positive future has no room for this school-boyish approach...sometimes I think you are joking but it seems you really believe this nonsense!

I am dead serious..

I believe in using the best and the brightest to achieve goals..

What you believe in ?

Bredrin fi eat ah food ?

I believe in using the best and the brightest to achieve goals..
            You and Don2 have something in common...he also wants to use our best and brightest taxi man to solve our technology deficiencies...

yuh know how refreshing it is to walk into a Minister office with the brightest people in a field and the Minister Advisor actually GETS IT and can offer insight !

All when a Chairman of a Govt Agency actually more up to speed on some tings dan di Manager of Information systems dat him call into di meeting ??

Future looking bright.. except for one likkle forecast of a slight chance of meteor strike end of month !

Ok. Until we separate our institutions from political interference and largesse it cannot work. The problem is when the best and brightest turns out to be bredrin eating a food.

The Chairman should be involved with Policy decisions not day to day management - that's where political interference starts - remember the Board members are appointees. I like the concept of the Executive Agencies (not sure of the name) and seemed to be a move in the right direction. Some level of control (checks and balances) needed though to some of these runaway heads.

what a day when we can actually have that problem...

Do you or do you not wish to get in touch with Justin?

Yuh scientist bredrin who yuh post bout whe day?

Absolutely... line it up Faada

email... synergyinteractive@live.com

tenks
                        Last edited by Don1; December 3, 2011, 10:56 AM.

Golding and Donald George Wehby (Jr.) were educated at St. George's College, the "intellectual ghetto" enuh

and MICHAEL MANLEY at the LONDON SCHOOL OF ECONOMICS

who you rate more MUADIB?

Suppose is an executive Chairman ?

wheh di Campion connection ?