Jamaica retains corrupt ranking

• Jamaica retains corrupt ranking

Jamaica has retained its corrupt ranking according to global anti-corruption watchdog Transparency International.

In its 2011 Global Corruption Perception Index (CPI) Rankings, which were released late last night, Jamaica scored at a CPI of 3.3 out of a possible 10, with a country ranking of 86 out of 182 countries.

In 2010, the country’s CPI score was also 3.3, while it was ranked 87 out of 178 countries.

The CPI ranks countries according to their perceived levels of public-sector corruption.

The 2011 index draws on different assessments and business opinion surveys that are carried out by independent reputable institutions.

The surveys and assessments that are used to compile the index include questions which relate to the bribery of public officials, kickbacks in public procurement, embezzlement of public funds, and questions that probe the strength and effectiveness of public-sector anti-corruption efforts.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=33582

Stability!!!!!!!!!!!!

Questions I want asked to our next P.M .

Do you plan to give the OCG prosecutorial powers and if so when ?

Is a resignation the proper punishment for MPs and cabinet members caught up in corruption scandals?Do you believe criminal investigation and prosecution should be mandatory in such cases ?

How much does corruption cost Jamaica ? From white collar to blue collar to black & brown collar ?

Are we serious about tackling corruption and if so what are your measures to deal with it?

Is our fines and sentencing guidelines antiquated i.e $5 fines for grave abuse of power and prision sentences for stealing ackee pods ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Is PNP fault.

When you say 'caught up in corruption scandals' do you mean like the Shell Waiver scandal or Cuban Light Bulb or 'run wid it' or do you mean questionable procurement procedures that 'benefit' a Govt agency.. like say.. NWA refurbishment ?

Di Genetic Engineering of the Patterson admin woulda mad Christie.. pity y'all were 'away' at the time...

Can we have these relevant questions asked by the media/society?The jlp/pnp could make it a campaign issue in fact a focal point of an election log off to corruption and unto progression?The first one draws the card wins

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

JA at 86 likkle better than Trinidad and Tobago (91).

Barbados is 16th!!
              Bahamas 21
              St Lucia 26
              SVG 36
              Dominica 44