Horses could soon be slaughtered for meat in US

• Horses could soon be slaughtered for meat in US

OKLAHOMA, USA (AP) — Horses could soon be butchered in the US for human consumption after Congress quietly lifted a five-year-old ban on funding horse meat inspections, and activists say slaughterhouses could be up and running in as little as a month.
    Slaughter opponents pushed a measure cutting off funding for horse meat inspections through Congress in 2006 after other efforts to pass outright bans on horse slaughter failed in previous years. Congress lifted the ban in a spending bill President Barack Obama signed into law November 18 to keep the government afloat until mid-December.
    It did not, however, allocate any new money to pay for horse meat inspections, which opponents claim could cost taxpayers $3 million to $5 million a year. The US Department of Agriculture would have to find the money in its existing budget, which is expected to see more cuts this year as Congress and the White House aim to trim federal spending.
    The USDA issued a statement Tuesday saying there are no slaughterhouses in the US that butcher horses for human consumption now, but if one were to open, it would conduct inspections to make sure federal laws were being followed. USDA spokesman Neil Gaffney declined to answer questions beyond what was in the statement.
    The last US slaughterhouse that butchered horses closed in 2007 in Illinois, and animal welfare activists warned of massive public outcry in any town where a slaughterhouse may open.
    "If plants open up in Oklahoma or Nebraska, you'll see controversy, litigation, legislative action and basically a very inhospitable environment to operate," predicted Wayne Pacelle, president and chief executive of The Humane Society of the United States. "Local opposition will emerge and you'll have tremendous controversy over slaughtering Trigger and Mr Ed."
    But pro-slaughter activists say the ban had unintended consequences, including an increase in neglect and the abandonment of horses, and that they are scrambling to get a plant going — possibly in Wyoming, North Dakota, Nebraska or Missouri. They estimate a slaughterhouse could open in 30 to 90 days with state approval and eventually as many as 200,000 horses a year could be slaughtered for human consumption. Most of the meat would be shipped to countries in Europe and Asia, including France and Japan.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...#ixzz1fIpPMV8N

Next stop...Puss an Dawg...and more Chinese and Haitian migrants

Puss and Dawg? You mad! Some a dem people yah will eat dem firstborn before dem eva touch a puss or a dawg.

Dem eat Donkey in Jamaica.

I am sure we have eaten some thoroughbred in those fast food burgers, or in the mince we buy at supermarkets...

as I told my wife ... just chicken and fish.

If you thought you bought jerk pork or chicken from one of those street vendors in Jamaica, it is likely you could have consumed dog meat at some point. Don't worry, you and I would not be able to tell the difference, and we are still alive to talk about it.

Exactly. If me eat dawg and didn't know then it must have been a good meal.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  If you thought you bought jerk pork or chicken from one of those street vendors in Jamaica, it is likely you could have consumed dog meat at some point. Don't worry, you and I would not be able to tell the difference, and we are still alive to talk about it.

Thats why I only eat chicken breast .... the wing is used as the identifier.

yuh sure is not jon cro' ?

LOL

Leave Jawge outta this...

lol

Never hear that yet!!!! Which part a Jamaica??

Bullybeef.