People are you Ready...Jamaica's New Age of Accountability

• People are you Ready...Jamaica's New Age of Accountability

Once ...due to the Magnificent Hidden MOU Trap laid by Phillips/US and also his own unbelievable stupidity.... Bruce "One Liad" Golding was forced by civil society to:

Apologize to the Nation in disgrace
    Bawl lika Baby on National TV then finally..
    RESIGN like Nicodemus by Night

...the people have wrested some power from the corrupt political leadership. Corruption is not as tolerated... as the people have had the scales removed from their eyes...at least partially. Long may it continue.

The JLP can try to claim credit for being "new and different" in forcing out reprobates...but that's a transparent stretch... creating a virtue out of a forced necessity. The Tribe is acting under public duress and has no choice if they want to retain credibility and extend their time at the Trough... . Similarly the PNP is clearly acting in it's own self interest (ie seeking the earliest return to the Trough) in engineering these events.... not any higher national purpose... except for perhaps said national security MOU.

Once a Prime Minister can be taken down for moral turpitude, mendacity and chicanery as Gelding was... no politician can be as comfortable as before.... people nah tolerate tuh much fooliniss.

Now we have to learn how to send them to jail for their thievery or other corruption...and not just recycle them.

There is hope for redemption.... Congrats Jamaica
    Last edited by Don1; November 30, 2011, 06:52 AM.

U got to be kidding,with rampant corruption..us 62 mil! and illogical colonial sentencing mixed with a baga polirricks whats changed how many have been embarrased to resign or call an early election.

jamaican polticians are skilled at procastinating and shuffling the deck..i.e Henry resigns,not charged is he the first?soon to be shuffled to another cabinet when things cool down....not even a us 5 fine?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What has changed is that the public outcry against these corrupt acts have got stronger and more sustained. That is a positive step.

One can always be cynical about the overall state of affairs but if there is movement in the right direction it should be recognized and encouraged.

Yes...Very, Very significant movement...if sustained by civil society it could approach a turning point

Which is why it is essential to keep overtly partisan politics like that practiced by the Observer...out of the media...or at least limit the infection by holding the media responsible for their own hypocritical corruption and manipulation of public opinion

All in life is relative

Forgive me for being cynical

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

pardon granted

I have to be with X on this..different day...same bs. I just think the systems are chronically affected and corruption and corrupt practices are just systemic in Jamaican, politics, business and daily life. The same party that cries foul will justify a similar action when in power. The business-people who play holier-than-thou are involved in insider trading, shady contracts and deals; price gouging etc. Then you have the working class and common folk who all share at the trough. So there is a food web of spoil-sharing.
                Can the house be cleaned by itself? I hardly think so.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                  Then you have the working class and common folk who all share at the trough.
                  Is what me do now?

LOL. It's all intertwined... a just so di ting set.

yuh figghet where wi coming fram:

"I have no apology.."

Yuh tink Omar coulda try dat now ?"

Change is good !

Thanks goes to Drivah for his aggressive anti-corruption campaign !

Forwud evah, backwud nevah !

Gwaan Driva!! Doan tap atall!!! woiiee mi belly!

Once ...due to the Magnificent Hidden MOU Trap laid by Phillips/US and also his own unbelievable stupidity.... Bruce "One Liad" Golding was forced by civil society to:

Apologize to the Nation in disgrace
                          Bawl lika Baby on National TV then finally..
                          RESIGN like Nicodemus by Night

...the people have wrested some power from the corrupt political leadership. Corruption is not as tolerated... as the people have had the scales removed from their eyes...at least partially. Long may it continue.

The JLP can try to claim credit for being "new and different" in forcing out reprobates...but that's a transparent stretch... creating a virtue out of a forced necessity. The Tribe is acting under public duress and has no choice if they want to retain credibility and extend their time at the Trough... . Similarly the PNP is clearly acting in it's own self interest (ie seeking the earliest return to the Trough) in engineering these events.... not any higher national purpose... except for perhaps said national security MOU.

Once a Prime Minister can be taken down for moral turpitude, mendacity and chicanery as Gelding was... no politician can be as comfortable as before.... people nah tolerate tuh much fooliniss.

Now we have to learn how to send them to jail for their thievery or other corruption...and not just recycle them.

There is hope for redemption.... Congrats Jamaica

that is what I have been saying. The Jamaican people have to be accountable and get these people, regardless of party or who they vote for.

Keep it up.

You are cheering the breaching of the Constitution in cahoots with a farin power ?

Well... is juss black jamaican people after all.. no worries..