JLP, PNP agree to debates before elections

• JLP, PNP agree to debates before elections

After weeks of negotiation, through the Jamaica Debates Commission (JDC), the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the People’s National Party (PNP) have now agreed to participate in three national debates before the next election.

The JDC says the first debate will be a team debate consisting of three candidates, from each party, debating socio-economic issues from the youth perspective for 90 minutes.

The second debate will be a 60-minute debate between the minister of finance and the opposition spokesman on finance on the country’s economic growth and other development issues.

The final debate will be a 60-minute leadership debate between the prime minister and the leader of the opposition.

The JDC thanked both parties for their engagement and the agreement reached which it says exhibited goodwill and concessions on both sides.

“The public should know that all over the world political debates are the product of negotiations and do not result from unilateral action by a Commission or a party and that while the parties expressed initial preferences based on the limitations associated with a short campaign period, at no point did either party refuse to participate in the debates or in any of the formats explored," the JDC said.

The Commission says while there remains much more to be done, the agreement has facilitated the finalization of discussions with sponsors and service providers, and removes any uncertainty on the part of the electorate.

Comical ... only 60 minutes to discuss the economic issues?

from 1944 them a YAP............ and WHAT

nothing

I want a good debate not a long drawn out TALK EMPTY SHOP

True, give them a week each...

I pray that the debate sets a high standard in conduct.

Someone posted a UTube on how Jamaicans love to run-their-mouths. The clip included members of Parliament. I was gobsmacked by the mannerism, tone and the bile coming out of the parliamentarians mouths.

cho, you nuh hear it everyday in Washington?

...so go forth and do likewise...

no but a politician them name. A little bit a dat come with the teritary. At least them nah knock fist inna parliament yet.

You ever see television news where Parliamentarians in some countries fight and tear off clothes.

I recall one where this female politician took off her shoes and used it to beat a man

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXiIXHpTNK4

Of course I have seen this Sickko . It is extremely embarrassing for the nations that does this.

I guess my point is that Jamaicans are more "classy" and statesmanlike(?).

Betchu Portia cancels after the first or 2nd debate.

Tatics and stragedy! LoL

Betchu Portia cancels after the first or 2nd debate.

Tatics and stragedy! LoL

Yuh laff ... I thought the same thing after seeing their debate would be last.

the leaders always debate last...........nothing new

I can't wait for this debate. I should see a confident smiling Portia walking up to the podium. Congratulating young Andy and wishing it was arematch with Bruce . P truss mi this one is like taking candy from a baby. Yuh can even take it literal too.