• As Tribalists dither: Jamaica's debt Spirals Out of Control

EDITORIAL - Economy Must Be Election Talking Point
    Published: Tuesday | November 29, 2011

There may have been mild disagreements over degree, but there could be no question about the consensus among academics and societal leaders, who discussed the matter at The Gleaner's headquarters last Friday that Jamaica's economy is in crisis.

It is also the common position that Jamaica can still be rescued, but with two critical warnings:

That the medicine necessary for recovery will be bitter and unlikely to be welcomed by the society; and

That whichever party forms the government after the next general election, or even before, will have to immediately get on with the job of administering the brew.

Alternatively, the country, even if it does not quite deny the severity of the illness, could continue on palliatives which, while providing short-term relief, won't halt a terminal decline.

"I am convinced that with appropriate policy decisions and with appropriate support, we can make significant changes," said Professor Alvin Wint, an economist at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Mona.

Dr Damien King, another economist, agrees that "options do exist".

Crisis graver than many think

Indeed, they do. The concern of this newspaper, though, is despite the acknowledgement by Prime Minister Andrew Holness of the country's difficulties, neither problems nor solutions are being discussed with the necessary intensity, either by his Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) or the People's National Party (PNP).

This crisis is reflected in the country's debt, which at the end of August registered one thousand, six hundred thousand million dollars ($1.6 trillion), which was $86 billion higher than it was at the end of December 2010. Or, the debt, during the first eight months of this year, rose by more than $200 million a day.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure1.html
    Last edited by Don1; November 29, 2011, 09:21 AM.

********!!! Di ********ing debt reach US$19 BILLION now??

Ring di Alarm!!!

certainly eliminates PNP from consideration..

Apparently this election won't be about the issues. Sunday night on the politcal platform, head of the NWU Vincent Morrison, said his union will not be agreeing with any wage freeze, "A JEEP WI WANT!!!!"

Well on Nationwide at 5 last evening, Cliff Hughes asked Morrison, what are the details of the JEEP that he is convinced can get us out of the current problem, to my amusement, the man responded that he didn't know any of the details.

An election could be called any day now and todate we are YET to hear from those (include that one many here, including you Don1 refer to as a hero), how they would address the debt issue. Whenever the question is put to Phillips he throw up smokescreen and walk away.

The Poppyshow in Chief said she would renegotiate the IMF agreement, well the IMF man locally said there is nothing to renegotiate .... no wonder they don't do interviews.

Yeah...especially since US$7 BILLION or so of that has accumulated in the last 4 years

Noice!!!

Yeah...especially since US$7 BILLION or so of that has accumulated in the last 4 years

Noice!!!

Yes the debt increased... Since no money was in the kitty, ppl nuh waan pay dem taxes, yet everybody want the same or better services ... how will it be achieved?

I heard a financial analyst giving some numbers about the hugh jump in public sector pension and wages. If only people could honestly discuss the issues ...

Don't be stupid... strike dat...it's outa fi yuh control.... the IMF terms of engagement with Jamaica MUST be re-negotiated and put on a different footing as it's NOT Working/At a Standstill/Frozen/Adrift/Moribund

Whether that occurs immediately post-election or when the current agreement terminates in May...it MUST occur. .. especially if both tribes do as they should in the national interest and agree to a common approach to Babylon in dis absolute EMERGENCY

Yuh cyan gwaan lissen di likkle "Country Representative" give the IMF party line... that guy is akin to a Customer Service Rep at your local bank, he makes no decisions.. yuh nuh know dat yuteman??

Young Bud lika yuh nuh know Storm

Juss keeping it real among the Tribal Yappin'

Oh I see...if we just had US7B (60% of 2007 GDP) "in the kitty" in 2007...ebryting wudda kriss..LOL... Yuh come fram di Silicone Alley Skool of Genomics??

Time fi di fooliniss tap... RING DI ALARM!!!!!!!!!!! SOCIAL CONTRAK NOW!!!!!!!! AWAY WID JLPNP FOLLY!!!!!!!!

Don't be stupid... strike dat...it's outa fi yuh control.... the IMF terms of engagement with Jamaica MUST be re-negotiated and put on a different footing as it's NOT Working/At a Standstill/Frozen/Adrift/Moribund

Whether that occurs immediately post-election or when the current agreement terminates in May...it MUST occur. .. especially if both tribes do as they should in the national interest and agree to a common approach to Babylon in dis absolute EMERGENCY

Yuh cyan gwaan lissen di likkle "Country Representative" give the IMF party line... that guy is akin to a Customer Service Rep at your local bank, he makes no decisions.. yuh nuh know dat yuteman??

Young Bud lika yuh nuh know Storm

Juss keeping it real among the Tribal Yappin'
                  I guess its your comrade comprehension. So because he didn't agree with your tribe now we shouldn't listen to him? And you have the nerve to call others tribalist? So who should we listen to? Portia? If you can get her to state her position on anything of substance it would be welcomed.

It is comical that an important issue such as the debt issue is being addressed by one side ... yet every step of the way they are being criticised by the opposition but when asked for their input they find houdini lines ... "wait on the progressive agenda" ...."wait on the press conference bout the jeep!" ....." wait on the release of the manifesto...." ..." wait until we get back into office!"

Only in Jamaica.

Young fellow ...the JLP and the PNP are two CORRUPT, INEPT, OSSIFIED, CLUELESS, HOPELESS FAILURES...I'm not interested in your daily reports of their interactions

Mi dun tell unnu dat fram 2007 wen mi start post yahsuh

Now begone wid yuh nonsense

Young fellow ...the JLP and the PNP are two CORRUPT, INEPT, OSSIFIED, CLUELESS, HOPELESS FAILURES...I'm not interested in your daily reports of their interactions

Mi dun tell unnu dat fram 2007 wen mi start post yahsuh

Now begone wid yuh nonsense

Wait .... who started this thread? Last I checked was the misinformed Don1 ... but as usual when facts reach yuh start behaving like Portia.

... strange ... if you think that of the PNP why you want them to regain control? Like it or not .... these are the 2 main parties in the country .... at the next election .... one will form the gov't. As mi say ... silly season.

I want the PNP in power???

Which is your problem?? Reading or comprehension?

Probably both...mi dun wid dis

No worry Don1 ENDORSED THE JLP.

him post it on here already.

No worry Don1 ENDORSED THE JLP.

him post it on here already.

People just need to be honest about the issue? People need fi man up and call a spade a spade. It is ABUNDANTLY clear that one side is addressing the debt issue. If there are aspects of their approach that you don't agree with ... put it out there. Sorry Don1 ... juss keeping it real.

suh wait.. how else yuh expec JA fi survive di mother of all recession's ?

lol !!

gwaan wid yuh disingenuous self..

"It Takes Cash to Care"

Good ting is is not di PNP mogel of borrowing at double digit rates...

Dat hypocrite Olivah Clawke need yuh declare himself officially as eternally beholden to "the greatest Finance Minister Jamaican has had" and stap di pretense..