because most of them responding ANTI PORTIA

but to be FAIR from what mi HEAR over the AIR

from different different interviews

everything was going smooth until SENATOR NEWBY saw Portia as the guest speaker(this after Andrew cancel becuz of previous engagements etc..)

and he(the head of the organization/group) had documents to prove that everything NEWBY was sayin was A LIE(example the budget was only 180,000 not 1.5 million etc..)

from what mi hear it was canceled for POLITICAL reasons, it nuh matter if u like Portia or not, that not right

note this body suppose to be politically independent(ie free from interference) GROUP and the original plan was for both the leader of the opposition and the leader of the governing party to speak, until he canceled

Not cancelled, postponed ... apparently.

Semantics Willi.

was it cancelled because she was speaking? i know that is what she says, but is that the case? if it is, then questions have to answered. at the same time, to raise it as an issue (even if it is not) starts an unnecessary if not diversionary dialogue ...

yuh usually at least TRY to be level headed ..... what is going on?

Haven't you heard ... tis the silly season!

Boss all the info I have is in the post above...based on that I canT JUMP to conclusions like the rest of yu and mek all kinda disrespectful statements.

"semantics" is a conclusion. you also concluded that it was in fact because she was gong to speak that it was cancelled or postponed. i don't see any of that other evidence other than her claim.

How come no one asking WHY the function was cancelled because she was speaking????

Small slams Newby over event cancellation

There is another twist in the controversy over the cancellation of a function of the National Youth Council at which the Opposition Leader, Portia Simpson Miller was scheduled to speak yesterday.

This afternoon the council chairman Ryan Small is rejecting several claims by Senator Warren Newby, the state minister for youth about the reasons for the cancellation.

According to Small, last week Senator Newby gave instructions for the event to be cancelled because Simpson Miller was scheduled to speak.

This afternoon, Small was upset.

He said the statements by Senator Newby about the reasons for putting off the Youth Council function are unfair and untrue.

This morning Senator Newby said no decision had been made to cancel the function.

According to the senator a decision was only made to delay it until the agenda and the Budget for the event was submitted by the Youth Council and approved by the youth director.

But Ryan Small says he was instructed to call off the function, because the Government would not endorse the Opposition Leader as the guest speaker.

Small said it’s unfair for Senator Newby to claim that he was unaware of the budget or the agenda for the Youth Council function.

According to Small, initially there were concerns about the $1.5 million.

But Small says the figure was later cut to $1.08 million and no discomfort was expressed by the state minister.

He also said the National Youth Council decided to invite the Opposition Leader as guest speaker after Prime Minister Andrew Holness turned down the invitation.

Small says neither senator Newby nor his senior minister Babsy Grange responded to the invitation to speak at the Youth Council function which was slated for yesterday.
                    http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=33519

National Youth Council of Jamaica upset at cancelled event

An attempt is being made to end the row between the National Youth Council of Jamaica (NYCJ) and the Minister of State in the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture, Senator Warren Newby.

The disagreement stems from a reported decision to cancel a state-sponsored event of the Council, scheduled for Sunday.

The NYCJ claims the conference was cancelled because Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller was asked to speak at the event.

Senator Warren Newby has denied this assertion.

He argues that there was not enough money to host the event, so it was agreed that it would be scaled down.

In addition, he argues that all the plans for the event were not communicated to the NYCJ's parent group, the National Centre for Youth Development (NCYD).

The tension increased on the weekend, when Mrs. Simpson Miller threatened to boycott all official Government functions.

Speaking on RJR 94fm’s Beyond the Headlines on Monday, Senator Newby explained that a meeting has been called to straighten out the issue.

“They're going to meet on Thursday, the executive and the NYCJ to look at an appropriate time and what it is that can be done with the resources they have there,” Senator Newby said.

However, NYCJ President Ryan Small says he is unaware of the meeting.

He has planned a separate meeting with his organization, to decide whether the event will still go ahead.

“That meeting has been called to discuss how is it that we go forward and what will be the stance of the organization as it relates to the Youth Congress, whether it is we will indeed cancel the event or have it at a later date, some time next year or perhaps in 2013 we will have it, but that is something that is to be decided by the executive of the Youth Council,” Mr. Small said.

You are to hasty here now...notice the conjunction that followed the statement on jumping to conclusions. The semantics I am talking about is Willi splitting hairs that it was postponed not cancelled. The fact is that it was stopped...and yes, I read Mosiah's post and the subsequent negative comments....
                        As for evidence...I wasn't looking for any....not worth my time.

Thanks. Notice the deafening silence?

so we were both hasty?

Not me...you...I'm just quick. lol.

no my yute .... at your age and stage ..... hasty is the proper adjective!