• Diehard Forever

Politics is like a religion
    Devoted party supporters defend their choice
    Clad in their green and orange, diehard party supporters provide the numbers that flock the political conferences and meetings of the two major parties.

"You is a man who say your heart dey deh so fi years, me can't come convert you," declared Brian Edwards, a resident of Jacques Road.

"Don't you have some Christians where some a Pentecostal or that one is that religion and you can't tell another Christian say you a convert him. You just have to deal with reality," Edwards added.

"I will always be a Labourite. You have two different parties, two different religions. I can't tell you to be Muslim and I can't tell you to be Jew. I just chose to be Labourite," agreed Ian Campbell.

"If my son is on a JLP platform, me nah vote fi him. Me can't fight him on his choice but me nah support him. Me and him a friend till election day and after the election and the result, me and him a friend again but during the election, me and him a no friend," Walker said.

Comrades For Life

Published: Monday | November 28, 20111 Comment

Marlon Richards
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
    Why we are PNP supporters and won't change
    Courtney Hill

I am very proud to be a member of the PNP. My grandfather died at the age of 103 and he voted when he was about 99 in the last general election for P.J. Patterson, I had to take him on my back (to vote), and he said to me, 'Son if you ever change your ways, me and you going have something' and I always admire the principles and the policies of the PNP ... . I am a diehard PNP.

Marlon Richards

If I had a choice it would not be the Jamaica Labour Party because in 2007. When the Labourites win, mi lose my job. Under PNP, everybody a nyam food, Labourite a nyam food and PNP a nyam food and as dem (JLP) come into power everybody start lose dem jobs.

Marcia Barker

You know why I am committed (to the PNP) because mi mother have somewhere she has a title and she and her kids own it (house). Nobody can't take her out of it; that's the greatest, Michael Manley provide for us.

Headley Brown

The PNP is the best for the Jamaican people and I won't change and I cannot change because I born as a PNP. The PNP government built the most houses, they built the best roads, they created JAMAL where old people and young people can get educated.

Claudia Forbes

One of the reasons why I am a PNP and will not vote anything else is because of the opportunity to own a house that my children did not live in a rented place ... .The worst of the PNP is the best of the JLP.

Junior Walker

One of the reasons why I love the PNP and will always stay with the PNP, I have a mother and I love my mother one hundred per cent, Michael Manley was the man who came in with the maternity leave thing, the PNP build the most houses, I think the same for schools.

Omar Stanley

I am born and bred a PNP and the policies and the vision of the PNP were embedded in me by my grandparents. The reason why I support the PNP is because I can't trust the JLP. I don't think they are trustworthy and in terms of the policies and the vision of the PNP, they are heading in a better direction than that of the JLP. The JLP is the same bus but a different driver.

Dianne Smith

The PNP set a foundation for my parents and me grow up now and can build on what they had.

Rock-Stone Labourites

Published: Monday | November 28, 20111 Comment

Carline Clarke resident of Jaques Road off Mountain View Avenue at the Gleaners constituency forum on Saturday 26.11.2011 - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer
      1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
      Andrea Mitchell

The reason why mi nah vote fi nobody else but JLP is because from me born and know myself, from me eligible fi vote, a Labourite mi a vote fah and dem can do no wrong fi me. All when dem wrong, cause a 18 years (of PNP) a nothing mi go true, and this a just four years. Mi know say JLP dem can do no wrong inna four years to match the wrong the PNP dem do in a 18 years. 'Sista P' (Portia Simpson Miller) will get a chance but not from me.

Kristoff Tomlinson

Me born as a labourite, Andrea Mitchell a mi mother and from mi small and a grow a Labourite she tell me bout. She never tell me bout PNP. Me know nothing bout PNP and dem party, but if you ask mi bout Labourite mi can tell you.

Ian Campbell

I was born and grew up in Eastern Kingston for the last 36 years. Mi born come see mi mother a Labourite, mi born come see mi father a Labourite. For me being a Labourite is because me love what the party do for the country . Worst now we have a prime minister who everybody a look to see what him can do. Him do the work and now him get a bigger task, so we are willing to give him a chance. It's not about Dwight (Nelson) or Mrs what she might name, it is all about the upliftment of our community.

Reshey Evans

I was born in a Labourite community and grow up come see that, so eventually is that I know bout. Nuff people say politics no do anything for them but at the end of day that is what we have. Is not really me but it is the community and from we do it together, we nah change.

Brian Edwards

Right now the JLP work on the academics, accounts and finance and that is what is running the world. Mr (Andrew) Holness come as minister of education and we support that because we not supporting any illiteracy. Although I don't get anything from the two parties and I deal with self-reliance like Marcus Garvey say, me go with the majority of the community which say Labourite and me like how dem a hold down the crime. Is not no bad man cause me to vote, this is a Labourite stronghold, and me just go with de flow.

Carline Clark (Princess)

I am a Labourite because I come see my mother and father as Labourites. So I have no change. Mek me tell you something, Mrs (Joan Gordon) Webley was here and me never get no money, so now that Dwight Nelson come me no want no money. I never take no money from anybody because nobody can buy my vote. If the JLP want somebody to work, I will work but I don't want want no money.

Hyacinth Wright

Me born come se my mother a knock pot cover for daddy (Percival) Broderick. Me born as a Labourite, an me ago dead a s a Labourite. From me born me never work for people and a Labourite make mi now on mi foot (have a small shop). Me is a businesswoman, and me no have no problem with Labourite. Me not frighten for money and me would not make money cause me to vote for the PNP. Money or no money, straight Labourite. I would not sell my vote.

interesting ..... on the labourite side is mostly "born labourite" and on the pnp side some people cite things like JAMAL and owning property