Whither Jamaica's Education: Bankrupt Tradition or Reform??

• Whither Jamaica's Education: Bankrupt Tradition or Reform??

Jamaica faces a cross road in its education....which way will we turn?

In the face of an increasingly competitive and technological world...which conversely, also offers massive new opportunities if we leverage the appropriate technology....Will we keep the legacy neo-colonial system which features:

Highly stratified and badly skewed primary and secondary tiers with so called "traditional high schools" and private preparatory schools which are generally adequately resourced..... but cover maybe only 15% of the cohort in each tier.... leaving the so called "non-traditional" 85% in overcrowded, substandard excuses for institutions of learning? With an outdated, fossilized syllabus not suited for today's fast changing world.

All this ludicrous system does is reinforce the class divisions in society and ensure limitations on social mobility by those disadvantaged by the system.... the naive will point to the many exceptions who manage to overcome these structural dysfunctions and succeed... missing the point.
    This myopic self satisfaction and fear of rocking the boat is to be expected from the ostriches.

Or will the society demand and embrace reform using widely available technological tools to jump a generation of educational development from the 1980s where we still are...to the 21st Century?

Tools like..

* Low cost internet connectivity through public and private networks...facilitating distance education

* Low cost computer infrastructure...fixed and mobile... meaning easily attainable universal network access

* Low cost (or even free to educational institutions) software packages enabling real world skill assimilation, team building & collaboration

* Building partnerships between high schools, universities, private sector firms, trade organizations and international organizations...around defined goals targeting national development

* Establishing and organizing primary, secondary and tertiary education around specialized issues important to national development goals as many countries and regions are doing.... Hawaii focuses on Shipbuilding, Taiwan and South Korea on mould making and product lifecycle technologies which support their manufacturing industries, Israel concentrates on industrial software, aeronautics and robotics

... What is Jamaica's focus...call centers? Sun, Sea & Sand? That stuff is necessary but will not get us to where we need to be... clearly we need to set the bar higher and move up the value chain

What is it that the nation is to aspire to in order to achieve the development everyone wants...but are clueless as to how to get?

Without vision...the people will continue to perish....and 20 years from now, on the current course... we will still be aspiring & perspiring to sell trinkets to tourists, work on cruise ships counting cows or taking customer service calls from frustrated Americans.... a recipe for persistent poverty

Time to wake up and live...or at least wake up and plan a sustainable future.... beginning with education reform.

Selah

Why not adopt the apprentiship system like Germany/Switz/Austria?

After 16 years old, most DO not try to go to University, rather they apprentice for a life skill and become very very good at it.

How do we train machinists, electricians, plumbers, auto mechanics, micro-mechanics, bakers, HVAC technicians, customs brokers, gantry crane drivers, sanitation workers, masons, carpenters, road builders, etc?

These skills dont require more than high school matriculation as a base for entry into apprentiship into these career paths.

We are too focussed on outputting lawyers, business study graduates, "economists", political science grads and "international relations" grads. Most will never get these papers and even still at the moment we have too many of these graduates with too few jobs. Last I heard Canada was bleeding us dry of even our semi-qualified skilled workers

In case people want to turn up their noses, even back in the 1980s, plumbers were making an obscene hourly rates in Canada! They were rolling in dosh.

Why not adopt the apprentiship system like Germany/Switz/Austria?

After 16 years old, most DO not try to go to University, rather they apprentice for a life skill and become very very good at it.

How do we train machinists, electricians, plumbers, auto mechanics, micro-mechanics, bakers, HVAC technicians, customs brokers, gantry crane drivers, sanitation workers, masons, carpenters, road builders, etc?

These skills dont require more than high school matriculation as a base for entry into apprentiship into these career paths.

We are too focussed on outputting lawyers, business study graduates, "economists", political science grads and "international relations" grads. Most will never get these papers and even still at the moment we have too many of these graduates with too few jobs. Last I heard Canada was bleeding us dry of even our semi-qualified skilled workers
        Absolutely..

That's where the secondary school's partnership with private industry will enable programs like that

Most Jamaicans are so dim (especially the so called educated ones) that they cannot see beyond the current bankrupt system or they prattle about this or that school being superior... the idolatry of folly. There's a time for self promotion but the national interest trumps all

The education system failed yesterday's needs...is failing today's... and will absolutely fail tomorrow's without comprehensive reform.

The tinkering that this regime is doing and those before it did .... amounts to little
        Last edited by Don1; November 28, 2011, 05:39 AM.

Plumbers still make quite a good living, at least where I am.

We would benefit greatly from an apprentiship system but even in those areas today a solid secondary education is essential , if only to produce "trainable" apprentists who can learn todays technology and operational skills. I do believe that this is what the HEART academys are attempting to do, though maybe they are focused on a narrow area of industry.

Without a solid, quality, education accessible to ALL at the primary and secondary level, everything else becomes that much more difficult. We haffe get that right first.
          Last edited by Islandman; November 28, 2011, 08:08 AM.

then who will fill the corridors of Harvard and Yale?! why unnu a fight di Campion people dem?!?

I could quibble here ane there but this is the best post I've seen by you so far.

Well said.

ok, now that you have eloquently stated the obvious...

"It Takes Cash to Care"

When mi talk bout di PNP devastation of the economy in the 70's and the 90's.. unnuh chat bout living in the past... well we will continue to feel the aftershocks.. dem set Jamaica back about 30 years...

Whenevah yuh chat yuh 'no difference' rubbish mi will fling dis innah yuh face and put yuh back in check.

Mek sure yuh vote next election fi labour and stap di yapping...

Meanwhile.. wi working on it.. Silicon Valley stylee !

Look out for Digital Multi-Media Industry Eco-System development next year..

Well.. assuming people use dem brain this election... mi cyaan promise nutting if di Mad Hatters tek ovah..

Hmmm...mi wonda why if it suh obvious..wi cyaan even si one policy yet...much less actual development ..sleepy time

lol

I could quibble here ane there but this is the best post I've seen by you so far.

Well said.
                      I don't know whether I should laugh or cry

The advent of PVC pipe and fittings has made every carpenter, mason and labourer into a plumber...semi-literate people have difficulty being Tradesmen, since they can't even read basic instructions....

Whey day one likkle man aks mi whey mi wudda duh wid US$120M rada dan build one trinket facility

Dat deh plan whey mi line up wudda tek less dan dat ah public money...an once yuh leverage di concept an sell dat to di private sector, NGOs and intl partners... wen dem put dem put inna cash an kind..... dat money wudda by itself bigga dan dat deh likkle US$120m

All wi need is leadership wid vision...but dat MIA big time

lol yuh tink is you one have di vision ?

vision deh bout from the 90's.. den yuh party drop one nuclear bomb pon di country..

mi seh wi working on it.. yuh nuh hear mi seh Campion product ah run tings now..

Now do your part and vote fi labour... and get your household fi duh di same..

Yuteman... mi ongly guh by whey mi si ah reality...not political puppet talk from tribalists

Unnu inna unnu 5th year now...an yuh ah talk wordsound bout nex year unnu aggo duh dis ar dat... all now wi nuh si nutten ah gwaan... not even one likkle plan pon papah

Not impressed atall.... get back to werk ah fi yuh trough.. an tap waste govament funds ah spen time ah chat fawt pon intanet