Buy out the bar? No way, says Crawford

• Buy out the bar? No way, says Crawford

AMONG Damion Crawford's main challenges as he sets out on a journey which he hopes will allow him to sit in Gordon House are spending huge amounts of money buying out bars, and paying cash directly for votes.

Crawford, who will represent the People's National Party (PNP) in the next general election, is insisting that he will stick to his core values and run a campaign along those lines as he battles former head of the National Solid Waste Management Authority, Joan Gordon Webley, in East Rural St Andrew.
    Damion Crawford, the People’s National Party (PNP) candidate in East Rural St Andrew, and PNP president Portia Simpson Miller greet supporters at a recent election campaign rally in the constituency.

As such, the accepted practice by aspiring and established politicians of satisfying the thirst for alcohol of those in bars, and also stuffing people's pockets with money in return for a vote, is not on for the University of the West Indies lecturer.

"The culture in the current situation is that money should be a part of the campaign, and so therefore, financial constraints remain a challenge. Also, it is against my own personal decision against the concept of issuing a $5,000 or buying votes or buying out bars; it's just not something that I am prepared to do," Crawford told the Sunday Observer in an interview.

Describing his experience campaigning for a seat in the Jamaican Parliament for the first time as excellent, Crawford remains adamant that votes must be earned and not bought.

"So far it has been excellent. I have been walking, meeting with and talking to the people, trying to understand their issues and trying to find solutions to their problems that we can solve immediately," he said. "The reception has been great. The number one sentiment is that they had seen me on TV and seemed to have liked what I stand for and how I represent myself.

"I represent all kinds of persons who have been marginalised in various ways. Those persons whose names were not sent down from HEART because companies suggested that they wanted brown people, or those people who believe that they have to bleach to reach, or those people who have to change their address to find a job, I think that they all see me as a representation of them," Crawford said.

A Rastafarian by faith, Crawford stated in an earlier interview that he had encountered people who had openly wanted to victimise him because of what he stood for, but said that those were in the minority.

"Prejudice is not something that sits with the majority of the people of East Rural St Andrew," he said. "Right now, I don't focus on my religion, I focus on all the people who need quality representation."

So far, Crawford has seen most support in the Harbour View division, traditionally a PNP stronghold. However, he continues to do preparatory work in other areas as he tries to get his message across.

East Rural St Andrew includes other areas such as Mavis Bank, Newcastle, Gordon Town, Irish Town, Dallas, Kintyre, and sections of Bull Bay.
    "The most supportive division is automatically Harbour View. The most challenging so far have been some of the areas around Gordon Town, like Red Light, Irish Town, going up into some of those other areas. The political culture is so tribal that sometimes persons don't even consider the candidate, they only consider which party they support," he said.

"We continue to offer the people a sample of what we can do for them. We are having, for example, our health fair in Taylor Land (Bull Bay) on Sunday (today) to actually give people something permanent. They can come and get their tests for diabetes, HIV, they can come and get depression screening, they can come and get counselling, that remains with them after the campaign. A drink of rum is not that permanent or continuous," Crawford said.
    The former PNP Youth Organisation president has equipped himself with some powerful members of the Jamaican society as part of his campaign team. Among them are Valerie Neita Robertson as campaign manager and her cousin, K Churchill Neita as treasurer.

Tomorrow, the team will launch an education-based project that Crawford said will lead to good things for the nation's young. Details of the programme will be outlined then, he said.

"People know that I have always acted and fought for them. They know that I am always into finding solutions. There are some things that may not be able to be implemented until I have governmental support and there are some solutions that I will be able to implement just upon seeing the problem and seeing what can be done about it," he said.

"For example, a woman's house just burnt down and we are offering her some manpower support. That is a solution that I can find immediately. So it's just to act as I have always acted. I have seen some initiatives that I can do and my team and I are going around to make those happen, but I am staying far from buying out the bars and buying the people," he stressed.

Crawford is also hoping that the relative peace that has so far marked the campaign in the constituency will continue.

"My opponent and I, and her supporters and mine, actually crossed paths in Harbour View last week Saturday. Her people were very cordial. They were very friendly and so were ours. I was very happy that that interaction started and ended as it did," Crawford said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1evBJAdp9

I wish him luck!

weda him like it or not........votes affi buy fi win close seats like his

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
        AMONG Damion Crawford's main challenges as he sets out on a journey which he hopes will allow him to sit in Gordon House are spending huge amounts of money buying out bars, and paying cash directly for votes.

Crawford, who will represent the People's National Party (PNP) in the next general election, is insisting that he will stick to his core values and run a campaign along those lines as he battles former head of the National Solid Waste Management Authority, Joan Gordon Webley, in East Rural St Andrew.
        Damion Crawford, the People’s National Party (PNP) candidate in East Rural St Andrew, and PNP president Portia Simpson Miller greet supporters at a recent election campaign rally in the constituency.

As such, the accepted practice by aspiring and established politicians of satisfying the thirst for alcohol of those in bars, and also stuffing people's pockets with money in return for a vote, is not on for the University of the West Indies lecturer.

"The culture in the current situation is that money should be a part of the campaign, and so therefore, financial constraints remain a challenge. Also, it is against my own personal decision against the concept of issuing a $5,000 or buying votes or buying out bars; it's just not something that I am prepared to do," Crawford told the Sunday Observer in an interview.

Describing his experience campaigning for a seat in the Jamaican Parliament for the first time as excellent, Crawford remains adamant that votes must be earned and not bought.

"So far it has been excellent. I have been walking, meeting with and talking to the people, trying to understand their issues and trying to find solutions to their problems that we can solve immediately," he said. "The reception has been great. The number one sentiment is that they had seen me on TV and seemed to have liked what I stand for and how I represent myself.

"I represent all kinds of persons who have been marginalised in various ways. Those persons whose names were not sent down from HEART because companies suggested that they wanted brown people, or those people who believe that they have to bleach to reach, or those people who have to change their address to find a job, I think that they all see me as a representation of them," Crawford said.

A Rastafarian by faith, Crawford stated in an earlier interview that he had encountered people who had openly wanted to victimise him because of what he stood for, but said that those were in the minority.

"Prejudice is not something that sits with the majority of the people of East Rural St Andrew," he said. "Right now, I don't focus on my religion, I focus on all the people who need quality representation."

So far, Crawford has seen most support in the Harbour View division, traditionally a PNP stronghold. However, he continues to do preparatory work in other areas as he tries to get his message across.

East Rural St Andrew includes other areas such as Mavis Bank, Newcastle, Gordon Town, Irish Town, Dallas, Kintyre, and sections of Bull Bay.
        "The most supportive division is automatically Harbour View. The most challenging so far have been some of the areas around Gordon Town, like Red Light, Irish Town, going up into some of those other areas. The political culture is so tribal that sometimes persons don't even consider the candidate, they only consider which party they support," he said.

"We continue to offer the people a sample of what we can do for them. We are having, for example, our health fair in Taylor Land (Bull Bay) on Sunday (today) to actually give people something permanent. They can come and get their tests for diabetes, HIV, they can come and get depression screening, they can come and get counselling, that remains with them after the campaign. A drink of rum is not that permanent or continuous," Crawford said.
        The former PNP Youth Organisation president has equipped himself with some powerful members of the Jamaican society as part of his campaign team. Among them are Valerie Neita Robertson as campaign manager and her cousin, K Churchill Neita as treasurer.

Tomorrow, the team will launch an education-based project that Crawford said will lead to good things for the nation's young. Details of the programme will be outlined then, he said.

"People know that I have always acted and fought for them. They know that I am always into finding solutions. There are some things that may not be able to be implemented until I have governmental support and there are some solutions that I will be able to implement just upon seeing the problem and seeing what can be done about it," he said.

"For example, a woman's house just burnt down and we are offering her some manpower support. That is a solution that I can find immediately. So it's just to act as I have always acted. I have seen some initiatives that I can do and my team and I are going around to make those happen, but I am staying far from buying out the bars and buying the people," he stressed.

Crawford is also hoping that the relative peace that has so far marked the campaign in the constituency will continue.

"My opponent and I, and her supporters and mine, actually crossed paths in Harbour View last week Saturday. Her people were very cordial. They were very friendly and so were ours. I was very happy that that interaction started and ended as it did," Crawford said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1evBJAdp9

I know this constituency well... the guy is NOT the choice of the people (the ousted caretaker was) and has no money... so he's making a virtue out of a circumstance of poverty.... mi ear seh instead ah liquor im ah gi out banana chips pon im campaign dem

Dat plus loud whispers of a certain limp wrist orientation is a recipe for failure

Interesting!
          We shall see, what we shall see.

Even rumours of limp wrist...can prove devasting in our Jamaica.

Mebbe the times are a-changing...

Mi also ear seh di PNP leadership cadre full up ah mama man

Daddy Manley ah roll inna im grave

lol

them replace BASIL WID HIM

GO FIGURE

LOL... mi nuh haffi aks ah wha dat

whey im name?

Not Even Remember ...................

Pryce?

I even hear strong rumour about some ole timers in the party too.

Memba mi toll yuh.

rumours dem spreading. LOL

Anyway mi nuh care as long as him is a man with the plan and them nah mess with the youths can't disqualify them.

Pryce?

I even hear strong rumour about some ole timers in the party too.

Memba mi toll yuh.
                        mi know...nuff mama man... wid some notable exceptions.

Fram wha mi ear dem run off di Labourite dem inna dat category... is time BenDaffy tek anedda look at im natural constituency

but dem fraid fi run out..................... JAMES

More new candidates reject vote-buying

MORE first-time general election candidates are supporting Damion Crawford's position that 'buying out the bar' should not form part of their political campaigns.

Crawford, the People's National Party's candidate for East Rural St Andrew told the Observer that he would not be engaging in the practice, tantamount to vote-buying, which has traditionally been a common occurence on the campaign trail. It usually involves a willing sponsor, often a candidate or his support team, spending large sums to satisfy the usually alcoholic thirst of patrons in bars where they are trying to drum up political support.

The JLP’s Keith Blake gestures as he makes a point while his colleague Camile Buchanan listens during yesterday’s Observer Monday Exchange.

The PNP's Dr Winston Green and Leonard Green, along with the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP) Camile Buchanan told Observer editors and reporters at yesterday's Monday Exchange at the newspaper's Beechwood Avenue offices that they were strictly against the practice, which itself could amount to a form of vote buying.

"Categorically, no," was how dental surgeon Dr Green, the PNP's candidate for St Mary South East responded.

"I am not into buying out the bar and vote-buying. It was just last Saturday that a young man in my constituency waved me down and when I stopped he told me that he had 14 votes in his house and he is willing to give them to me, but they come at a price. I categorically told him no and even when he asked for us to negotiate I said no, you can forget it.

"Nobody can come to me and tell me about votes for money. If I should lose, which is almost impossible at this stage, it would be off principle. I will not deal with intimidation or vote-buying. I am glad that Damion as a young political candidate has taken a stand and has taken the lead in publicly denouncing that," Dr Green said.

Businessman Leonard Green, who will take on the incumbent James Robertson in St Thomas West, said that buying out the bar was beyond his budgetary commitments.

"I cannot afford to be into it. I have been on the ground for about a year and nobody in West St Thomas can say that they have seen me engage in any bar campaign.

"It is something that I abhor and I have always said I am not going to be the person who would do anything to win. I am concerned about governance and I cannot sustain that kind of practice and so I am not going to engage in it.

"I also think that it hurts every single politician who engages in that, because we are feeding the mistrust that people have in us. I have seen where constituents complain that they only heard that the politician was in the area and was at a bar, but they never took the time to come to their home to meet with them and understand their situation.

"I see it as almost self-destructive, and I am not going to participate in it," Lennie Green said.

In agreeing with her fellow candidates on the other side of the poltical fence, Buchanan, the JLP candidate for the newly created St Catherine East Central seat, also denounced the practice, but said that other forms of showing appreciation to people could be adopted.

"If I am on a walk within my constituency and I have to refresh who I am walking with, then I don't see a problem there. However, you will come across a resident who will come to you and say 'I have 10 votes in my yard, but you will have to pay me for them', I am not into that.

"If what I am offering you in terms of my representation is not enough, then I don't want to be a part of it. I am the quickest to point out in my division that there are over 9,000 people on the voters' list. What if I were to buy everybody (a drink), I would not be able to afford it.

"I do not intend to buy out any bar... not at all. If you cannot vote for me based on what I have to offer you, then it's dim and doom. I can't afford it.
                            "I have represented the Gregory Park Division for 13 years, and despite the challenges, I've not had that amount of money to buy out any bar," she said.

However, the fourth guest at the function, the JLP's Keith Blake, flatly disagreed, saying that it was a realistic activity that could hardly be avoided.
                            Blake, the candidate for St Catherine South East insists that buying out the bar is something that is real and in many cases unavoidable.

"There is a difference between buying the votes and buying out the bar. There are different people in the society. You have a man, for example, who will put on a dance to earn a money to send his children to school and to ensure the light and water is taken care of and so on.

"Right now, in South East St Catherine, the young men are not working. So you will have on a particular corner four or five young men (who) will come forward and decide that they are going to put on a little session and the profit is going to share between them.

"Now, you tell me that when you go there, you not going to spend a money? No? Of course! I will because it will help to foster the assistance of some of these young men who will from time to time go out if they are not being taken care of in that aspect, to hold up the man down there and take away what he has when he comes from work. We want to stop that.

"Most of us as politicians talk about not buying out the bar. Lie! Nothing don't go so. Dem go down there and dem will spend.

"What you must not do is buy the votes," Blake said.
                            Buchanan rebutted her party colleague's statement, saying that there are other ways to reach people than spending money.

"It is how you communicate with people from the division or constituency that will assist you. It is letting them in your world and being there with them.
                            "You have to let the people of your constituency know that they are not for sale and they cannot be bought. We have to move away from that and Jamaica is relying on this new generation, this new breed of politicians to make these changes. We cannot continue to buy these people," Buchanan insisted.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1f50PEi3d

somebody has to start somewhere and he deserves nuff credit fi dat!!!