• JC's Finest ready to take Babylon by Plane

Third World & Inner Circle to go on tour

Jamaican Reggae Giants Inner Circle and Third World will be joining together to celebrate each of their 35 years of classic number 1 reggae hits with a tour in 2012.

Both Inner Circle and Third World are some of Jamaica's last original, authentic reggae bands touring.

Third World is more than just one of the top reggae bands of all time, it is an institution. The iconic band stands for producing and performing music that, while holding firm to the cultural and ancestral roots of its members, still pushes forward the cutting edge of music worldwide.

It is an institution whose themes are positive, progressive and internationally relevant. Formed in 1973, Third World is committed to the excellence of Reggae music by combining Jamaican Reggae and Folk music with all strains of African rhythms, American pop, rhythm & blues, rap and classical music.

After over three decades, Third World is one of the longest running and most diverse bands Jamaica has ever produced, with classic hits like 96 Degrees in the Shade and Reggae Ambassador earning Third World 10 Grammy nominations.

Inner Circle delivers a special brand of pop-oriented Jamaican beat and energy-filled live performances that have allowed the band to transcend the traditional reggae niche and enjoy widespread crossover appeal.

A testament to this is the fact that Inner Circle headlines many of the world’s largest music festivals.

This Jamaican-bred, Grammy winning quintet is one of the world’s most respected reggae groups with a long string of successes stretching back to the mid-70′s, including crossover super hits Bad Boys and Sweat.

great bands, at least by my standards.

Historian?

Top Drawer bands dat...not made like dat in Jamaica any longa

I Agree 100 Percent!

great bands, at least by my standards.

Historian?
        Yes, you are certainly correct, Mo!

Both Third World and Inner Circle are among the reasons for the immense pride I’ve always felt for much of my country’s music. The individual members (both past and present) of both bands are craftsmen who take their musical development very seriously, and this shows in the outstanding quality of their product. Third World and Inner Circle, simply stated, can share the stage with any popular music band on this planet and make us Jamaicans feel really proud!

And yes, as you can no doubt guess by now, I am a major fan of both bands. (Incidentally, the Inner Circle band has been living in Florida for more than two decades now.)

Don1, you rarely ever make comments on music (I can recall only one comment from you some years ago), but your post shows that you are in tune with what is genuinely spiritually enriching about our country’s music. Thanks for posting this, boss !

respek...

Originally posted by Historian View Post
            Don1, you rarely ever make comments on music (I can recall only one comment from you some years ago), but your post shows that you are in tune with what is genuinely spiritually enriching about our country’s music. Thanks for posting this, boss !
            Let me add this...there is little to talk about Jamaican popular music now other than to weep and wail about the generally atrocious state of the art and the reprobate so called musicians and producers that populate it

I prefer to remain positive...suh mi mostly avoid dat subjek

Don't know if you were around when Third World put on their first big show called "Explanitations"....circa 76/77....since then I've been hooked...also had "Transmigation" (I think)....they were a combination of music and drama...art & science....

I have heard so much about that show from my elders. Never saw it and there does not seem to be any video of it available. Still hoping they will do another version of it before they retire.

Yep...I went to dat show wid mi bigga bredda dem @ some New Kingston Hotel I believe...I don't recall the details...but recall being blown away by the vibes

Recall the sequel called "Transmigation" but didn't see it

Ibo Cooper is at Edna Manley School...connected with him at a show early dis year....mebbe im ave some recording? Could check it out...would be inneresting fi sight up dat

Oh?

I have heard so much about that show from my elders. Never saw it and there does not seem to be any video of it available. Still hoping they will do another version of it before they retire.
                      Maybe you need to see it, because then you will probably begin to understand my bitterness regarding what currently passes for Jamaican popular culture (with specific reference to music) before you make another decision to jump on the bandwagon here and deride my posts!

Hopefully too, you may have noticed that the wanton support for today’s garbage (my description for the majority of what emanates nowadays from the so-called recording studios in Kingston and St Andrew) has been coming from a tiny handful of people.

There is so much you can learn about why Jamaica was ONCE the bastion of internationally-recognized cultural output from this region!

The first "Explanitations" was at Little Theatre at Tom Redcam and the other was downtown at a Hotel on the Waterfront (can't recall the name)....was still in school for the first one....

Don't be so harsh...we all love gourmet but at times we have to eat fast food....horses for courses.

Every man know that group like Third World a classic. How many people did recognise that inner circle was a classic band wen they just started??

What nuh people nuh realise is that inner circle is one of the biggest production team in South Florida producing Reggae, R&B and Hip hop, yes some a di fast food.

http://www.examiner.com/reggae-music...cording-studio

Long time from inna Jacob days..before him have locks...